We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place with Beautiful People!”
Review of Raymond's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raymond's
Ranked #4 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were fortunate to have stayed with Dan and Lou over the first May long weekend in 2014, and were blown away with how warm and welcoming they were. The finer details of the home was amazing and having titles above the rooms of 'Family' and 'Friends" really does truly reflect how you feel once you arrive.

We stayed in Room 2 for 2 nights and could not have asked for more. The room was lovely, the bed very comfy and the breakfast delicious (My wife absolutely loved the Island sausages!)

If we visit the island again, I wouldn't hesitate to return and recommend it to any travelling couple for leisure or business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon9785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymond's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you both Shannon and Alicia...And happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Raymonds,

We look forward to welcoming you both again on your next visit to the beautiful Isle of Man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

23rd-27th April 14 ... Our 2nd stay at the Isle of Mans finest B&B. As this was a return visit, I thought I already knew this place was fabulous and knew what to expect! How wrong was I. Dan and Lou the B&B is an absolute credit to you. Attention to detail is nothing short of amazing! Our bedroom .. Room 1 is beautiful, spotlessly clean and so elegant .. Perfect! Breakfasts .. Gorgeous! Full breakfasts or breakfast of your choosing. Eggs cooked to your liking .. poached/fried. Nothing too much trouble! Cereals, juice, yoghurts, cereals bars and fruit all readily available! I will not comment on who's breakfast was best!! Equally perfect! Located 5 mins walk to Douglas promenade and 10 mins walk to TT Grandstand. I would recommend this B&B over any hotel, as you would never get a more a more personable but professional service with such warm, friendly and comfortable accommodation! I'll see you soon ... Very soon. Kelly&Paul

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyhendry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymond's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Kelly it was a pleasure to welcome you and Paul back to Raymonds, thank you for your lovely comments and I am already preparing myself for TT 2015!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is by far the best B&B I have stayed in, The lovely couple running this family run B&B are Dan and Lou they make you feel so welcome. I stayed in room 2 for four nights and it was a lovely room and spotlessly clean with everything you need to make your stay relaxing, The breakfast was brilliant and nothing is to much trouble for them, they look after all your needs and make you feel at home. What is so nice about Raymond's is you can use the guest lounge any time of the day or night and make a yourself cupper if you feel like one. I will definitely will be back when I'm in the Isle of Man next.......

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymond's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your review Annie, it was lovely to have you stay with us and we all look forward to you coming to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is by far the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Dan and Lou, along with their children are the perfect hosts and make you feel so welcome!! The guests lounge is fantastic, complete with roaring fire and our bedroom and bathroom were absolutely perfect, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. We just can't rate it high enough. We will definitely return and will recommend to friends and family. A truly very special place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymond's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Rhonda and Don it was lovely to meet you both.... We're glad the sun was shining for your visit to The Isle of Man and hope thAt your trip home was pleasant.
Looking forward to welcoming you both to Raymonds again when you're visiting your family.

P.S Leeds was great and Jas has been offered a place in September x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a lovely surprise to find Dan & Lou. I've been visiting the Isle of Man several times a year for the last 6 years as I used to live there. This is by far the best B&B I have come across.
Not only a really brilliant couple whose personalities are so well suited to this, but the house and the rooms are really superb with attention to detail being a top priority for both customer service and accommodation. They could teach other establishments a thing or two about what "excellence" is all about.
I'm looking forward to staying there again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymond's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

It really is a small world....when someone you used to work with books in without knowing.... Lovely to see you again Marie and looking forward to your next visit to the island when hopefully you will have more time to chill. Lou and Dan x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had the best first time in the Isle of Man,as I drove for 7 hours looking for a B&B and found a lovely family that will take you in and make you so welcome,and part of there family,rooms ar so nice and very clean and tidy,sky tv all channels,all the time,the best shower ever,so hot and fast,and the fully breakfast in the morning is out of this world,after a brilliant night sleep,And most of all the family makes you feel so welcome,So good I didn't wont to leave for the ferry to go home.!!! SO I WOULD RECOMEND THIS FAMILY'S B&B FAMILY HOME AS THE BEST ALL ROUND AND I WOULD ALL WAYS BE GOING BACK TO ( RAYMOND'S B&B ) Thankyou very much for letting me in to your home and family life,to come and go as I please,,MR PAUL PRICE ,from Liverpool on the 3rd February 2014 XXXX

Room Tip: There all verrrrrrrrrrrrrrry goooooooooood ha ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymond's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review Paul, it was great to meet you and look forward to welcoming you to Raymonds again . Dan and Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Travelling on your own can be a very solitary experience. That is until you enter the threshold of "Raymond's". Then the rush of warmth and friendship overtakes you. I stayed at Raymond's for the first few days of my trip and loved it so much I came back there to spend the end of my holiday on the Isle of Man. Lou and Dan made me feel safe and welcome. They served up a load of breakfast and unlimited snacks. And everything was to my liking (darn those chocolate biscuits!). They did laundry for me which was much appreciated (two weeks of the same clothes...you get the drift). They invited me on a day out. And, Lou drove me to the airport. And yes, they are supposed to make my stay pleasant but it was much more than that. They are full of warmth and love and share it abundantly. I made some very good friends. Oh! And I forgot to tell you how pretty and clean my room was and the bathroom had this lovely rain shower head. Sigh. Thanks Lou and Dan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymond's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Carrie doesn't live here anymore

Thank you for your review Carrie....it was lovely to meet you and as we have said many times since we will be friends forever....come back and see us soon xxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 15 in Douglas
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raymond's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raymond's

Address: 9 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £63 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raymond's is a family run 4* Silver & Breakfast Award winning Bed and Breakfast set on a beautiful Victorian Square. We offer two exclusive superior double rooms both with private facilities. Our rooms are elegantly decorated and have Digital TV and Wi-Fi available. There is a large Guest Lounge where full English breakfast is served using local Manx produce. The Guest Lounge has a 46' Digital TV, Free Unlimited Wi-Fi, Tea and Coffee making facilities and a fridge, all available for use throughout your stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Raymond's Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing