We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Raymond's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raymond's
Ranked #4 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nothing negative at all to say about our stay here. Comfy bed, lovely room, great hosts who do a all they can to make your stay a good one. Bit of a walk in to town, downhill all the way, just get a cab back. One thing to note, if you have limited mobility there are steps between bedroom and the loo.

Room Tip: Go for the larger en suite room, at front and bigger than second room, but that too is very nicely d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fromhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just spent almost a week with Dan and Lou and there lovely family. They make you so welcome from your arrival until your departure and made to feel one of the family. The B and B is great place to stay and most central for all of your requirements.The rooms are most comfortable and pleasant to stay in and the breakfasts are great. Most of all is the close family unit which do everything to make your stay the most pleasant you can have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Dan and Lou provide excellent hospitality in this small B&B within easy walking distance of the
centre of Douglas. Our room was comfortably large, the bathroom huge and both well furnished
and maintained. The guest lounge is well equipped and refreshments are always available there (in addition to the kettle etc. in your room). For breakfast, your hosts will provide you almost anything you wish.
But most of all, proprietors Dan and Lou are very welcoming, very helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble.
Would we stay again ? Most definitely.
Would we recommend to friends ? We already have.
Note: - be aware that if you're in room 1, though the bathroom is integral to your "suite", your
loo is a short walk from your room. However, this should be no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImperialCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A delightful welcome from Lou who instantly made us feel welcome. Arrived early however Lou made tea and biscuits offered. A couple who cannot do enough to make one feel comfortable. Very nice room, spotlessly clean as was the large bathroom. (big power shower). Tea,coffee and biscuits available in the sitting room all through the day. Nice little personal touches. The people made it!! An extremely warm, big hearted couple who really want you to have a good time. Thank you Lou and Dan; Marie will be sharing the experience at home in Tampa Florida, as will I with friends and family. Hope to see you again. Kath and Marie

Room Tip: One flight to both rooms. The biggest room is just beautiful, with en suite roll top bath, large wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenhmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A really friendly couple, great food, and an excellent breakfast. You have the use of a lounge any time of day, where you can make a cuppa and watch tv,any time of day if you want to, which is a nice touch.
The B&B is set back from the sea front it's not a long walk but there is a bit of a hill to climb, we managed but if your not good to walk up the hill you can get a cab back for a few pounds, it's a nice quiet setting so it's worth doing that, you don't want to be on a noisy seafront.
We really enjoyed staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriskirk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights,must be the best b&b on Island.fabulous room (king),absolutely lovely couple,can't do enough for you,in fact whole family are lovely.Great breakfast,and the whole place is spotless,can't say thank you enough.

Room Tip: The king room is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The other reviews are right! Dan and Lou are great people :) Their B&B probably is the nicest place we ever stayed at: We loved the beautiful room with the huge shower and remarkable bath tub. The value Raymonds Bed and Breakfast offers is amazing. After the cooked breakfast we didn't need lunch on most days.

The only minor inconvenience is that the toilet is separate and is reached via three or four steps. However, this didn't really bother us.

Thanks to Dan and Lou for the nice stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
0 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raymond's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raymond's

Address: 9 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £63 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raymond's is a family run 4* Silver & Breakfast Award winning Bed and Breakfast set on a beautiful Victorian Square. We offer two exclusive superior double rooms both with private facilities. Our rooms are elegantly decorated and have Digital TV and Wi-Fi available. There is a large Guest Lounge where full English breakfast is served using local Manx produce. The Guest Lounge has a 46' Digital TV, Free Unlimited Wi-Fi, Tea and Coffee making facilities and a fridge, all available for use throughout your stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Raymond's Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing