We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Rotherham House

Rotherham House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rotherham House
Ranked #34 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and tidy,we were made very welcome the manager was very helpful nothing was to much trouble,we could come and go as we pleased ,it was value for money we couldn't believe what we got for the price we paid.we will be going back next time were in the isle of man.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

we enjoyed our stay, it is clean, tidy and staff are very friendly, easy access to some good attractions... great place to stay in your tour to isle of man with in budget.
very helpful staff, as we are new to isle of man, we went in late night, she is waiting for us and guide me to room, and explains many thing about the place and guide us in tour also

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sudheerkamepalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Rotherham house, we found it very clean and tidy. Our twin bedded room was clean, comfortable and of a decent size, looking out onto the street on the first floor. Furnishings and decor are basic but everything you need is provided, floor length mirror plenty of wardobe space and the furniture was of good quality. A plentiful supply of tea and coffee was left in our room and there was more in the downstairs communal kitchen. The kitchen offered facilities for light cooking, hob, toaster, microwave and mini oven and the cupboards were well equipped with dishes, pans and utensils. There is also a washing machine and dryer which you can use. There is a communal lounge with TV and large dining table if you want to sit down and eat. I think some of the rooms have their own small dining table, but ours didn't. The housekeeper, Maria is very friendly and helpful but non-intrusive. There is no extra charge for electricity or anything and we were able to take our small dog at no extra cost. It is an old victorian property so a bit tired and not very stylish but if you want somewhere central to stay that is quiet and pleasant and clean and inexpensive, it's ideal. The building is located just off the promenade in Douglas,at the side of the Villa Marina, less than five minutes walk to the main shopping area and only a few minutes walk from the sea terminal. Parking can be a bit of a problem, the Manx parking restrictions take some getting used to. The building is in a 'disc zone' which means you need to display a special parking disc showing your time of arrival (they are available from the foyer of Rotherham House) and the restriction outside the building is two hours between 8 and 6. If you have a disabled badge, this is doubled to four hours, but after that you must move and not return for two hours. If you park up after your day out just around 4pm that gives you two hours and by then it is six o clock and you are safe until 8 the next morning. You must then reset your disc before 8am to give yourself two hours in the morning till ten, so you have time for breakfast. If all this sounds too complicated, you can there is unlimited on street parking on the promenade about 200 yards further up the road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer from some street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank skemjazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed at the Rotherham House for our holiday at the isle of man for 7 night and it was lovely . very nice welcome when we arrived very clean nice room we had a double bed clean it had a sofa bed which we did not need but nice to use to watch the TV or just chill out and read just what you need for self catering to come and go when you want .
TV, coffee and tea and a fridge .en suit was very clean .very nice .if your looking for some were affordable for a few day book their .We came over for the isle of man rally .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stellajdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After reading the only review on here for Rotherham House I was a little worried about staying here, but it seems I had little to worry about.

It is very basic but affordable and just what myself
and my family where looking for on our tight budget.

The rooms are again very basic but clean, our room had a double bed for us and a sofa bed for our daughter, a tv, table and chairs, a small fridge and an en suite shower and toilet again both very clean.

To sum it up, if your looking for some affordable digs to crash and shower then this is the place for you but if your looking for anything extra then find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WHRBERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked 3 rooms there based on the photoographs advertised. We arrived to see a dirty place from the staitcase to the bedrooms. I cut my finger on the screw sticking out of the door. The room was not clean and so small that the shower room door in my room hit the bed before it was half open. We couldn't find anyone to complain to. It was so bad that 2 couples didn't stay. (the other 2 had stronger stomachs despite the smell in the lower floor room) We have since complained but what a waste of time that was. This is the first opportunity I have had to air our views other than to an uninterested owner. I love the Isle of man and have been many times for the TT. I am not really fussy but I expect a good standard - not broken furniture, bad floorong and a cut hand

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. It may be slightly more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Bad unbedingt buchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Walter + Ulrike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Trevelyan
Trevelyan
#33 of 36 in Douglas
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#3 of 36 in Douglas
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 16 in Douglas
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Mereside
Mereside
#13 of 36 in Douglas
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#9 of 36 in Douglas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotherham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotherham House

Address: 2 Sherwood Terrace, Douglas IM2 4EN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rotherham House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing