We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Terminus Tavern

The Terminus Tavern
Ranked #18 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We eat here last week, the menu is huge and home cooked.
The curry of the day was very good, reasonable priced.
Would recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wheeleraIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    100
    30
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent menu (and children's menu), and well stocked bar. Very popular place, so, as others have noted, it can be a bit of a wait once you've ordered, but it's well worth the wait. Whenever you propose to go, it would be a good idea to make a reservation; it does get busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great classic pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice warm atmosphere, friendly staff , cosy decorum and nice surroundings.
A nice place to start or end an evening !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank annesoseaview_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Crowded..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff were very good and efficient - but they were innundated by the number of people waiting for the ferry to Heysham. We were lucky to find a seat - however - there were several 'students ?' sat at tables without a drink or food.. using it to rest their 'tablet'...!! So much for (anti) 'social' media...
The drinks were good, and the place had a pleasant atmosphere - but could do with a bit of a facelift. That said - I would still use it again..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gravity-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food if they let you in! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I do always enjoy the food here however on a number of occasions I have been puzzled as to why they can not accommodate us.

My partner and I often go out for a quick lunch. We have arrived at 11.45 on numerous occasions to be told they are full. The restaurant is empty and there is reserved signs on every table. We have always thought it is fair and left. Last Sunday we went for lunch (and booked!) we were sat down from 12 pm- 2pm with friends. There were a number of tables that were still empty with a reserved sign at 2pm.

Food is well priced, good portions and good quality. Attitude of staff could be more accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Youngtraveller_iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Terminus Tavern also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Terminus Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing