We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good curry!”

The Terminus Tavern
Ranked #20 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good curry!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A group of us came here last week; a busy pub with good range of beers and a decent food menu. Everybody enjoyed their food and by IOM prices it'sm reasonable. My curry was a good portion, lots of meat and served friendly and efficiently. Would go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunners556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    102
    33
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

very good food (to be fair good food all over the island) but as the rest of the island food is very expensive, can get busy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food big portions”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife & I plus two friends have just returned from a very enjoyable week in Douglas I.O.M. there is a lack of good eating places so we had difficulty in finding suitable venues. However one of the best places we found was “The Terminus Tavern” it is located at the end of the promenade right opposite the tram terminal. It is good pub grub, nothing fancy but the food was excellent and at a reasonable price there was plenty of choice and it was well cooked our only complaint is that the portions were huge. The staff were friendly from the bar staff to the waiters there is an eating area outside if you wish and a decent amount of room between the tables and to add to that the beer was the best also plenty of choice. I imagine that it would be packed during the TT but it was still busy in mid June unfortunate for us we only found it for the last two nights of our stay or we would have been back every night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicbarLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, the worst service I have ever had”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Such a shame, went for a birthday tea for my 40th with friends. Was a 40 minute wait for food, which you dont mind when its good. All meals arrived 40 mins later and all was excellent. Provided a list to the very helpful barmaid and all was in order. For a person to have to wait for their food until all other parties had eaten was a little unprofessional, but it does happen.. However, my huge complaint was the bar manager or head of the restaurant, was his attitude. Rude does not even go there, if I was you, I would be looking for a new job. Beyond rude was an understatement. Your attitude and the fact that you didnt care, was outrageous.. The place was so busy, yet you felt that the lack of standards and attitude was not relevant and you so busy that it didnt care. One of our party had eaten at your pub 3 times or more during the TT festival and could not recommend the food anymore.. As stated above, its such a shame that a dreadful, unprofessional and unwilling member of staff spoiled it all. I have written to the brewery and advised them that the person in question needs to have training in dealing with the public and complaints. To whoever you are, thank you for ruining my 4oth!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“TT 2014..Good food and Good Beer.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We walked down from our hotel to get our evening meal, on the way most of the places we tried were rammed (no surprise it's TT week) however the last place on the promenade is the Terminus Tavern and it too was rammed, but we struck luck, as we walked past a table the occupants were just leaving, so we dived into the vacant places.
And what good fortune it was too. The beer, OKells bitter was very nice, as usual and the food we were served was all freshly cooked, plenty of it and very tasty. It was served quicker than the batman estimated, we were OK with a wait, especially as the place was so busy.
They were running a smaller menu for the TT period but it was still plentiful in the choices available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnthewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Terminus Tavern also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Terminus Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing