We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic TT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Island & Fairfield Guest Houses
Ranked #15 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2014

we had a great time staying here , central location in douglass, a great bar with good friendly service, great food (breakfast and evening) and fantastic hosts , i cant praise this hotel enough , i will be booking for next year

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stan024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for The Island & Fairfield Guest Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have booked 2 nights in this place for our visit of Isle of man historical railways and trams. We got room no. 1, which was twin as we have booked. The room was smaller, but very clean and well taken care of. We were staying in the Fairfield House and the breakfast is served across the street in The Island house. The hosts are very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Always asking if everything is fine, if we need something or what they can do for us. The rate for the stay is more than fair, 60 GBP/night for 2 people incl. full English breakfast. We visited Isle of man railways, bought a day pass for 16 GBP and travelled from the east to the west and to the Snaefell mountain. We had a good time there and I hope I can come back one day again. The Guest house is 40m from the main Douglas Promenade, approx. 15-20 mins walk from the center. Free Wi-Fi with good signal provided in the rooms is a great bonus as well. I have really enjoyed our stay and would like to thank the hosts for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alespesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just come back from staying in the fairfield guesthouse. I could not fault this b&b. The room where spotless, everything you need towels, tv, coffee facilities etc , if you needed anything i.e iron, you only had to ask for it. For breakfast you went across the road to their other guesthouse, The Island. Breakfast was excellent you could order anything from cereal to full English or kippers. The hosts Celine and Anthony where lovely and very helpful.
The guesthouse is in the centre so easy access to all buses and train services. Would definitely recommend this guesthouse.
Thank you Celine and Anthony for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kcskh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First impressions count, our room no 3 was imaculate. Brightly decorated and everything neatly presented. We visited for the TT and were keenly welcomed. Breakfasts were apertising and filling.The Faifield is central to all Douglas attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducati749r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This must be the best guest houses I have ever stay in.rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfy.celine and ant were first class hosts. I love my breakfast.the young daughter was very hands on.looking forward to the next time I visit.there bar was nice to sit in at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I visited the Isle of Man through work in May and wanted somewhere cosy to stay rather than a faceless hotel, and this place exceeded my expectations. Celine and Anthony were great hosts and made me feel really welcome, which was nice as a lone traveller. They really couldn't do enough to make sure I had a good stay.

Room = spotless and comfy, I slept like a log!

Breakfasts = delicious!

Location = close to the beach and public transport links

Value for money = excellent!

If I visit again I'd look here for sure. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Hi Celine & Anthony - re our stay from Saturday 3rd - Tuesday 6th May 2014. For the 2nd year, we just wanted to thank you both for an excellent stay. The room was spotless, the bed was super comfy, en-suite facilities good & a sea view included too. Anthony you are a super chef - the cooked breakfasts couldn't have been any better (we had clean plates each morning!). There was a good choice to chose from. You are both excellent hosts & always accommodating with any requests. We can't wait to see you both again at the same time next year. Consider this a confirmed booking! Until next year, lots of love & a huge thank you for an excellent stay - Julie & Tony, Shipley, West Yorkshire xx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#3 of 36 in Douglas
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silvercraigs
Silvercraigs
#16 of 36 in Douglas
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mereside
Mereside
#14 of 36 in Douglas
99 reviews
8.5 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#11 of 36 in Douglas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island & Fairfield Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island & Fairfield Guest Houses

Address: 4 & 7 Empress Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LQ
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON LINE AVAILABILITY AND BOOKING NOW AVAILABLE Anthony and Celine would like to welcome you to the Isle Of Man. We run two Guest Houses on Empress Drive, namely The Island at number 4 and opposite it The Fairfield at number 7. Both are 3 star rated by Isle Of Man Tourism. Situated just 50 yards off the Central Promenade, we are an ideal base for the town centre with restaurants, shopping, nightlife, casino, cinema, theatre, children's play areas and the Villa Marina and Gardens complex all within easy walking distance along the beautiful promenade. Bus and Horse Tram stops are at the bottom of the road and if you are self drive there are no parking restrictions on Empress Drive. We are open all year round and all our rooms are en-suite with free wi-fi. We have a Residents Bar in the Island that is available to all of our guests, serving food from 6pm to 9pm. We welcome group parties and families and strive to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Our B&B rates are £37.50* nightly for single occupancy rooms and £65 for a Double/Twin room. Children 12 and under are half price and infants stay free. * Excluding TT & MGP fortnights ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island & Fairfield Guest Houses Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing