We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food quick”
Review of DownTown Cafe

DownTown Cafe
Ranked #42 of 162 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: All our food is home made to order as we believe in a unique american dining experience where service is always with a smile. Please try our island-wide famous menu, cheese steaks, bagels, waffles, pancakes, omelettes, burgers with a lovely cup of coffee.
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

As an American visiting the Isle of Man, I was thrilled to find an easy place with good familiar food in a relaxed atmosphere. The cheese steaks are delicious. I like the burgers with cheddar cheese. Good coffee. Combo of dining tables and couches. Free WiFi. I'll be back to try the pancakes and the bagels. Clean bathroom

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

The waffles here are divine! The food here is really delicious and great value for money. A lovely family friendly cafe with great food and friendly staff!

1  Thank Cher-Delyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We went here on a Saturday morning for brunch. The service from the staff was very good, they came and took our order quickly. The food was delicious and the portion size generous. Cost is average / good for he Isle of Man. Would highly recommend this cafe.

2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Downtown gives the Isle of Man what it is missing in terms of good eateries.
Excellent architecture, vibrant, warm and cosy feel.
I always feel so welcome when I pop in. Friendly owners and staff.
Central , clean and affordable quality food :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzanOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The bagels are good, so is the hot chocolate and smoothies. Not always consistent though, sometimes it's very nice and other times it's just average. The waffles are very doughy and the cream is instant -from a spray tin. Very appealing to the eye but not especially tasty. Would go again if I was passing but I wouldn't make a special effort. The atmosphere is nice and the staff are friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AutomaticLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownTownCafe, Manager at DownTown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear AutomaticLady,
First of all i would like to mention that how important is your valued review for us and thank you for your time and effort.
The problem with waffles is, people have different choices, some like crispy and well done (like you and my self) but some find it too dry and hard to eat. Good thing about it is we can make it the way you want if you mention on your order cause it is home made. We bake it as soon as you make your order.
About the taste of waffle i am afraid we cant do much cause waffle is waffle basically. You can add any syrup or topping to give it a flavor though.
Cream we use is single cream supplied by isle of man creamery daily and fresh. We use cream chargers to make it ready to serve. we never used spray cream tin since very beginning
at all, you might mixed up with else where.
And finally, bagels. There is no bakery do bagels freshly in the isle of man, comes from mainland to our local supplier. We loved to serve daily fresh bagel to our customers but again not much we can do about unfortunately.
Once again thanks very much and we're looking forward to see you on your next visit again.
Down Town Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DownTown Cafe also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to DownTown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing