We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what is says!”

Isle of Man Welcome Centre
Ranked #8 of 43 things to do in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It does what is says!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The tourist information office is excellent. Loads of information and friendly staff. A Costa coffee cafe, needless to say. Quality as good as ever. The staff in the 'Steam Packet' booking office were very good and managed what I asked with no fuss.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    52
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
swindon wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well stocked with goodies”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good stock but the staff seemed very disinterested in making you remotely welcome, not just in the tourist information centre but Costa coffee and Smiths were not much better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fuglycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not so welcome”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I walked here from my hotel to see if I could pick up some information, leaflets and whatnot. The guy behind the desk wasn't in good form however, and was quite brief and surly when asked questions. I got my Explorer ticket and picked up a hiking guide, and left as soon as I could.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank psychokilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A let down”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

in our 4 night stay on the island we were so impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the locals.The only exception was the Welcome centre, where both staff -one male, one female-were abrupt , stony-faced and unhelpful.talk about square pegs....!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank turtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Whether you live here or you are a visitor, this is a 'must'”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Welcome Centre searches our planet to find the most friendly and helpful people and then they employ them here.
Whatever you need to know about our wonderful island can be found here, together with quality souvenirs at reasonable prices.
Even those who have lived here all their lives, visit occasionally to 'catch up' on events.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Man Welcome Centre also viewed

 
Laxey, Isle of Man
 

Been to Isle of Man Welcome Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing