We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Very Impressed!'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Bar & Kitchen

Salt Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #97 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saxilby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Very Impressed!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Visited midweek early evening. Very nice bar and restaurant with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. We were greeted by our waitress who showed us quickly to our pre-booked table. Drinks were ordered and brought quickly. We opted for a shared mixed bread, dips and olives for starter shared between the three of us. Followed by choices from the Japanese menu. The food was very well presented and delicious. We finished with their own version of 'Eton Mess', Manx ice cream, and coffees. The bill for the three of us was just over £61.00 which we thought was very reasonable. The menu is varied with something to suit all tastes. Excellent service, a very enjoyable meal. I would recommend it to friends and family and would definately go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

My mother and I visited Salt on a Thursday in October. We didn't have to have to wait long for our pre booked table, we had the bento box starter for two which was good but potentially needed more soy and a chilli sauce to come with it. We then had chilli beef ramen which was actually very good - it was just a bowl and came with prawn crackers but the dish was super tasty. The other main course we had was chicken kebabs with fried rice - this was very dull and needed a lot of chilli sauce and soy to make it edible, definitely wouldn't recommend it. If you are hungry maybe not a good idea to eat the Asian style food as it does come in a small bowl and there are only the crackers as an accompaniment. The waiting staff seem to be un observant and often chatting by the end of the bar not paying attention - a man on the table next to us had to get up and actively go call them over to get some service. With one glass of wine, a shared starter, a diet coke, two main courses and an Irish coffee the bill was ��35.85. Overall and OK experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Went to SALT for a business meeting at lunchtime. The place was very busy (usually a good sign) We were approached immediately by a friendly waitress who showed us to our table and asked what we would like to drink whilst handing us the Menu. There was a good selection available, I opted for the burger and homemade chips whilst my colleague opted for the noodle dish. Both were excellent. I will be going again very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manxie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Erin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We bookd a table of 9 at SALT for a good friend's 85th birthday celebrations.We had one vegetarian but had not phoned ahead to warn them.Great reception on arrival.Service and attention to detail noted.We had our table upgraded and our orders taken swiftly without fuss.The vegetarian was catered for adequately and nothing seemed any trouble.Particualry surprised how reasonable the food was. A varied menu and very affordable considering we were in very plush surroundings.The wine was exceptional and you get what you pay for.The owner runs a wine shop so it has to be decent I guess! Everyone in the party felt well treated and it was a huge success.We were made comfortable and as mentioned before,the service was very attentive.Will be going again very soon.I believe a specific vegetarian menu is already in the offing.Recommend the Argentinian Merlot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Triskel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have been better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Booked a table for 8 people for my birthday night out. Arrived to find the place fairly busy with a good atmosphere. Ordered a sushi starter which was tasty but definitely only enough for 1 so don't share it. All other starters ordered were good which included the seafood chowder, tempura prawns and the bread basket. However when it came to the mains we were left disappointed as 4 out of the 8 of us ordered the rib eye steak and none of them came cooked as requested. My teriyaki tuna with noodles was also disappointing as there was hardly any tuna in it! The cheese board to end the meal was tasty and much needed to fill me up after my disappointing main. We also asked for water for the table shortly after sitting down and by the end of the meal the water had still not arrived despite asking for it more than once. Overall I was a little disappointed as the food could have been much better and the service appeared to be a bit chaotic. It could be a really good spot for food & drink but they need to get the food right despite it being busy or people just won't go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Salt Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing