We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food sent back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Bar & Kitchen

Salt Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #97 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food sent back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Impressed by the modern and stylish interior, very few places of this standard on the Isle of Man. Service was good, although we may have had another drink or two if asked. In the main the food was fine and well priced, although nothing to get excited about. One of our party ordered steak, it looked fine when it arrived although it had a "strange" taste, this was also confirmed by another person in the party. Staff dealt with the complaint really well and offered anything off the menu. How surprised we were when not only were we charged for the steak but also a little surprisingly the second choice meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sellersalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creepy66, Owner at Salt Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi
I am sorry that your initial choice of steak was not satisfactory. I am glad staff offered you a replacement, however you should not have been charged for the steak you sent back.
I invite you to return, when we will either refund you for this error, or offer you a free meal (whichever you prefer)
Thank you for your feed back
Heath Craig
Director
Salt bar & kitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Neil Medley. Caribbean Challenge looms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

First time here with two of my fellow sailors. We went for light snacks and drinks and found the place a delight. Great atmosphere and well turned out food. We all enjoyed our meals my guests had larger and I stuck to my usual well chilled white wine. We are all away most of January but intend to return here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent and efficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

A business lunch went well with good efficient service and tasty well presented food, Comfortable unfussy atmosphere

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garytw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wot no sushi !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

my family came over from the uk. thought i'd treat them to lunch at Salt. our reservation was at 12 noon and the first ones in. we requested 3 items on the menu, none of them were available. was so disappointing ; ( fish cakes were yummy tho : )

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manxcat1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Food & Very Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely meal in great relaxed atmosphere with the girls, food was fantastic, really enjoyed the crayfish, salmon & avacado salad. Will be back again & again, Thanks

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Salt Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing