We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Broadway Masala

Broadway Masala
Ranked #70 of 153 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was my first visit since the change of ownership from Millenium Sagar, and I have to say that it was quite a dissapointment.
The restaurant was completely empty so we were seated and orders were taken very promptly, unfortunately that was pretty much the last positive thing of the evening.
We were entertaining a group of visiting collegues so we went for the specials menu for multiple people, it was described as a mixture of curries in a mild massala sauce - there were a number of meats so we figured it would suit all tasts. Wasn't expecting all of the curries to be dumped together in pyrex bowl, it really smacked of a load of leftovers being served up together - never mind that they're all suppposed to be different. The food wasn't awful, but it certainly wasn't anything to write home about either. The service was polite but a bit clueless, there seemed to be a real lack of any professional training in the waiting staff. All in all a very mediocre and dissapointing evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    4
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henley
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A no nonsense curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a great curry house in Douglas, five of use ate here for £108 and drank plenty of Cobra beers to go with the meal. The shared starters were terrific as was the choice of main courses. I like hot food and the lamb Madras was superb. My with had a chicken corma and my sister had a chicken pasanda. My brother-in-law had a lamb jalfreze and it too was wonderful. My young nephew had buttered chicken and it too was sublime. The nan breads and popodoms are all fresh as are the dipping sauces. It is well worth a visit. It is a family run business and it is clean and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed over in the Isle of Man for 1 week to see family who live there. We visited the Broadway Masala on 23 September and we will visit again. Food was cooked to order and was superb. Hot and fresh. Staff very friendly and clean. Everything about the Broadway Masala was superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tazziesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fantastic food well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We tried this place while on holiday in Douglas and would recommend eating here to anyone that enjoys good Indian food.

We tried the starter for two and the was a veritable mountain of food on the plate it could have been a main meal in itself, after that we just had a selection of meals of our choice.

The server was attentive maybe a little to attentive but I would still have no hesitation in recommending you to eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway Masala also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Broadway Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing