We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" O.S. of S.W.P." = Old Style of Service With Perpection”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“" O.S. of S.W.P." = Old Style of Service With Perpection”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

ASCOT Hotel TRIP
Ascot Hotel is 3 stars according to status, just behind main road on a hill. Was able to park on street outside OK, even in June and July with no problem. Note although you may have to walk a short distance. Made very welcome and asked if any help needed will bags as soon as we walked in to register. Lift to all 3 floors able to take 2 adults and 2 large bags ok, also stairs to all floors as this is an old buildings the stairs are as you would find in most normal homes/ houses.
Our superior room was over 22 feet wide, ( 6+ metres ) and about 9 feet (3+ metres) in width included (shower /bath/ hand basin toilet etc.) Extras included like shower gel etc. , with a large en suite bathroom on the side of the building with 3 windows a sofa come bed /convert plus a table and TV, plenty of storage. Tea / Coffee etc., was available in our room.
Furniture ( our’s with double bed) in rooms was acceptable not modern but practicable, all in good condition. ble
Rooms were kept very clean and made up every day had no cause for concern, we did have a couple of other very small issues but these were resolved very quickly with apologies given when due. All staff on duty asked each morning on welcome into breakfast if every thing was OK, breakfast was very- very good cold and hot self service with tea/ coffee / or other options to menu as requested served to table by staff on hand. My wife had Manx Kippers very good. All food was well prepared, prompt & hot. Did not use the restaurant at evening meal, however did use the bar meal service for three nights and found menu and quality of food very good as you might expect, also bar area had large TV. If you have access to a computer it may be helpful while on the island, but if you do your homework before
your stay the Manx information found on various sites is good. Transport both by Bus, Train/s are very good but limited if you require to go to all corners of the island at your own pace therefore the use a hire car as we did was very welcome.
We went to the Isle of Man for a 10 day stay, transport was by air ( Flybe). Air transport is very good but found when talking to some visitors or those going home to Isle of Man found that due to weather (*1) or customers to travelling by air (*2).
Have not used sea route so cannot make any comment, but know that time travelling can be approximately 2 ½ - 4 hours, both from uk and Ireland.
(*1) After talking to a number of people this found to normally very good with no problem. But the weather determinates landing or take off at Ronaldsway Airport you might find the very small risk of yourself being stranded or going back to departure airport.
(*2) Quite a few airlines use airport from all over the UK and Europe. Check on dates/ times flights time in air some are very short only 20 minutes, depending departure airport, our’s was from south of UK to Manchester then onto Isle of Man.

Room Tip: We had a side room was quieter, 3 windows good light, open windows as no A/C. but beware seagulls li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    94
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
60
130
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
isle of man
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

i have recently done some work in this hotel and can say that they are nice clean rooms ,freindly staff
i also took my wife to the sunday carvery and it was lovely

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

my wife and I have just had a long week-end in this hotel, the hotel was spotless, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble, would recommend this hotel very highly,meals were superb, full English breakfast excellent. our room was excellent very clean, and the large bed was very comfy to sleep in.can't rate this hotel highly enough. first class all round. anyone who give this hotel negative feed back ignore them. take it from me this hotel is A1+. Mr&Mrs S&E, Griffiths, Skelmersdale, Lancashire.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

after driving around in circles for about an hour - due to my stupid sat nav, i called the hotel for directions (was literally on the doorstep) and found parking near enough right outside (and free). The man on recption saw me struggling up the stairs and came and helped me in with my case and both himself and the other gentlman there were lovely, polite and helpful (stressful journey, couldnt use lift, key fob in wrong way etc etc). i stayed in room 311, lovely seaview, modern furniture and a cool bathroom with a flatscreen tv and corner bath jacuzzi. Breakfast was fab and the staff lovely, especially the blonde lady (sorry didnt get her name). Really enjoyable stay (and belive me i am picky). Back in the isle f man about every 2 months now for 1 night for work and will defo be asking my company to book me in there again. Thanks for a lovely stay. Nicky Fletcher

Room Tip: i had room 311 which was lovely, also got told the ascot room was another nice one, both sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a week ago. I was traveling for business. It is ok but it was overpriced. It says it is 3 stars, but the room I got was on the very bottom of 3 stars. Furniture and the hotel itself is quite old and i can tell that not many money was spent on the maintenance....staff is very kind and helpfull and breakfast was very good. Location is good, at the end of promenade.

Maybe the reason for the price was the fact that at this time of the year there are moto races on the Isle, so hotels are quite booked.

I would stay again there for better price and short stay. For longer no, as there is many more better hotels available on Isle.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Novica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

How wonderful to go to a hotel where all staff take a genuine pride in the service they offer. I can honestly say that the service I have enjoyed over the past few days beats that of some 5 star hotels I have been to.
Mary heads the breakfast team and they do a wonderful range of breakfasts. The English breakfast is served on large, hot plates and the food is fresh and not greasy,
David heads up a very friendly front office team who are really good about explaining the locality, booking taxi trips, arranging wake up calls etc.
John provides an excellent service at the bar where I had some really pleasant chats with other residents. There is a wide range of restaurant meals in the evening. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard. All in all a lovely atmosphere and many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleborough
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife recently died and I needed to get away somewhere to clear my mind after all the tribulations. Wanting plenty of space I chose the Ascot Hotel on the Isle of Man as they were offering a double room for a single person at a special rate. The room they gave me was far bigger than I expected with a good sea view. The full English breakfast was excellent and the dinner menu was exceptionally good. I stayed on a bed and breakfast basis for one week and ate in the hotel on four evenings. I had certainly made a good choice and can definitely recommend this very clean and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a superior double room for plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakerLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#9 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing