We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ascot Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ascot Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just had 3 days staying at The Ascot and would like to recommend it; it was lovely. Small and friendly, food excellent, especially the breakfast; try the kippers!! Lovely room with spa bath, trouser press, iron and ironing board, so, don't need to pack travel iron or hairdyer. Had to be at the ferry at 7am, so, expected just a cold breakfast at 6.30, but was offered cooked one if we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    90
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
56
128
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I've stayed at the Ascot several times, and shall book it every time when I'm on the Island. Other reviewers have pointed out the slightly dated decor, but frankly, why would that be a worry on a business trip? The rooms are clean, warm and well appointed. Food is really good too. However, the main asset that this hotel has is its staff. Absolutely first class people all of them. Helpful beyond the call of duty, and friendly and cheerful. John the barman deserves a special mention - he's a great guy, and nothing is a problem. Recommended !!!!!!

Room Tip: All the ones I've stayed in are great. You might want a front facing room if on holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandCarol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

I've stayed several times at the Ascot on business. OK it looks a little dated, but it ticks all the boxes for me!

The staff are all super friendly, and make you feel welcome. All the rooms I've stayed in, are always clean & have everything you need - TV, Iron, decent wireless internet speeds & a big bath.

The room service food is great too! The steaks are spot on.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
313 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

We had a very good 3 night stay at the Ascot. The decor is a bit dated and the rooms a little to hot but otherwise was a great place to stay. The service is friendly , helpful and well organised and the breakfast was outstanding with a choice of porridge and local Kippers. We would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Very dated and in much need of a facelift. Housekeeping poor with dirty bathroom and carpets.
Although it listed free wi-fi this was non existent. I tend to feel business users get put into the worst rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I found this hotel impressively clean, with good food, and friendly staff. If you want to stay somewhere comfortable and warm, with great breakfasts, then the Ascot ticks those important boxes.

However if you have a business trip, and need internet access, then forget it. This place boasts free wifi in the rooms, but it is awful. At best it is slow, at worst you lose hours waiting for connectivity & continually re-booting. This frustrating experience really compromised my stay.

There are other pesky annoyances. My room was called "Kempton", and whereas it was clean, there was a stink in the en suite bathroom. A musty smell, seemingly coming from behind the sheet of plastic tiles that had come away 2 inches from the wall. There was a fan motoring outside the window, but the staff said it would shut down at 9pm, which it did. The corridors here are very narrow and there are lots of steps, so lugging the suitcase around from the lift is a pain. The bar closes very early. We returned on our first night around 11pm to find the entire ground floor closed up and locked. The entire accommodation experience should be so much better

To make up for this, however, the food was really great. And there was a young chap behind reception who was exceedingly helpful and very pleasant. You could not leave this hotel annoyed after dealing with him. He printed my boarding pass, he booked my taxi, and was so genuinely friendly (to me and to others) that I went away feeling as good as such excellent customer service workers can make you feel.

This man, together with his colleagues, try hard to make this a good place. I commend them for that, and thank them for the comfort they provided. But I wish they would fix their wifi, sort out the musty smell, install a decent lift, and just lift their game a bit so the Ascot would deliver better on its potential, rather than languishing in the "average" ranks.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the lift and well-away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am sorry that you were not happy with a few issues.
Firstly, the WIFI system in the building has been revamped in the past 3 months at considerable cost and now works very well in the hotel. There are a couple of weak spots at the rear of the building which are actually serviced and supplemented by a separate system giving you five bars. I wonder, in this case, if you were made aware of this by staff ?
We shall look into your complaints regarding the bathroom.
Thank you very much for your complimentary comments regarding the food and service at the hotel. Service and hospitality are something which we pride ourselves on.
I do hope you will consider us again for your next stay on the island where we hope and believe your initial problems won't be an issue again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel looks a bit shabby from the outside but once inside is clean and friendly - the photos give a fair impression. The staff all work hard to be accommodating.
It is off a side street about half way down Douglas promenade - an ideal position as it was very quiet at night (so quiet I assumed most of the rooms must have been empty, and was thus surprised to see many of the tables filled at breakfast). It is only about 2 minutes' walk to the sea front and being in the middle of the promenade meant that it was easy to walk in either direction.
My room (Newmarket) was comfortable, clean and spacious, with a partial sea view. The bathroom was really large and looked as if it was newly installed. It was great to be able to try Manx kippers for breakfast. My one night stay was also excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
8.4 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Douglas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing