We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, would stay again.”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked this hotel on late rooms we was very happy with our choice. Staff very friendly and helpful, good location very reasonably priced. We added breakfast to our booking which was charged at £8.00 per person per day. We travelled with our ten year old and they didn't change us for her breakfast.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Sezzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed in this Hotel July 2013 with my wife and granddaughter using 2 rooms. Both of these were very clean and spacious.
The food was very good with a large selection on the menu. I would recommend the evening meals.
The staff could not have been better and went out of their way to be helpful. When I go back to the Isle of Man I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlin377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in the Ascot Hotel, Douglas Isle of Man from 4/7/13 to 11/7/13 and could not fault anything about this hotel. Everyone of the staff were really efficient, very friendly and obliging throughout our stay, our room was a good size and the bed comfortable, the hotel was spotlessly clean, room service every day with clean towels, dining room was spacious and the food excellent, lots of choices for every meal.

The Ascot does not have its own swimming pool, but issues a free pass to use a fitness club nearby, which was lovely.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back with garden views with lovely big windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalbidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A set of Edwardian houses made into a typical seaside hotel, thus a labyrinth of narrow corridors and different levels. Not a problem, just how it is. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was way above its weight. Room we had was a larger than standard and as we were there a week was worth the extra, standard rooms looked cosy. The room was well looked after and clean. Location is a plus, centre of the seafront one road back and easy parking in the street. Easy walk to any of the main attractions in Douglas.

Room Tip: Try the Kippers for breakfast, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have just returned from a stay at The Ascot with my 2 young daughters in a family room (also called The Ascot). The room was lovely, well thought out, bedlinen crisp but also smooth & luxurious, very spacious & had amazing views. The bathroom was a little dated, but still very clean, spacious & well maintained. All the staff made us feel very much at home & very amazingly efficient. We also loved the breakfast - great variety & fresh. For a 3 star hotel, it was lovely & great value for money compared to other hotels in the Isle of Man - we would rather stay here than any of the 4 star nearby hotels we have stayed in. Thanks so much to the team at The Ascot & look forward to seeing you soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillesamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Ascot is a Victorian hotel, modified over the years and family run and is a good option for a stay here. The room was large and the bathroom adequate, although of an unusual shape, a result from the conversion, but functioned well enough. We were on a tour which limited the menu a bit but the a la carte looked to be good. The most outstanding feature is the staff who work very hard with good humour and ever so well together.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

stayed at the ascot while visiting relatives on the Isle of Man very handy staff all helpful arrived on the early ferry and could go into room first thing very understanding about visitors coming of early ferry lovely welcome from reception staff even offered breakfast but all we needed was SLEEP room ok many a little tired decor wise but very clean only had breakfast as we were there to visit relatives so ate out with them out with them most of the time but on return at night nothing was any bother, key fob wouldn't work one night but was quickly resolved all staff very pleasant and efficient would stay there again

Room Tip: Many a room on the front would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £44 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing