We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel friendly staff”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

spent the night 6/9/13 as it was our anniversary we wanted a night away from the kids so went to the island. The staff were all very friendly the room was comfortable the only thing that let the trip down was the weather we turned up at the hotel looking like a couple of drowned rats!!.
We will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I echo other reviewers praise of the staff at the Ascot, friendly and helpful all the time, sadly the hotel is dated and noisy, the door to my room didn't shut properly and rattled whenever anyone passed and the sound insulation between rooms is very poor, I had to listen to music all night to blank out snoring from an adjacent room
Breakfast was good as was the carvery, the dinner menu however is very limited in choice and doesn't reflect the menu that is in the welcome folder in the room
There is no parking at the hotel, but a little way up the street there is plenty of on street space,
I felt it was expensive at £84 for B&B

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkHAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is not a "chain" characterless hotel; it is a one of a kind family run hotel. That alone puts it miles ahead of the pack.
The rooms are spacious and have all the essentials, plus a spa bath!
The staff are wonderful; friendly, courteous and knowledgeable about the island. Nothing is too much trouble.
The restaurant is very nice with a comprehensive breakfast buffet. If you want to dine in the menu is good. Again, the staff were friendly and helpful.
The location is close to the promenade and centrally located; an easy walk to shops, entertainment and public transit.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the street side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Didn't stay at this hotel but we ate a meal there one evening, we chose their carvery which was excellent, the choice of meat was very good plenty of it and tender. All the trimmings were tasty and well cooked. The two staff that served us were very happy, friendly and the service was quick.
All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over night
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sueflopeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The very friendly staff at this hotel make it so difficult to knock the place at all they really make it a pleasure to stay, the rooms are very dated, but well serviced, OK the towel rail fell off first day but they fixed it that afternoon !.
The breakfast buffet was very fresh, all of the usual hot & cold choices .
Nice little bar with sensible prices, cheaper than the local pubs.
The price of the room was well over the odds and I have stayed in 4* hotels all over world for less but the IOM has to make its money in the few weeks of the year when the Bikers come to town, I would stop again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank FrankJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent a great week at Ascot Hotel I.O.M.
if you are looking for a cookie cutter, run of the mill hotel, this is not the place. if on the other hand you are looking for a family run, interesting hotel with great ambiance, character, and staff who willingly go out of their way to assist you on every level, this is the place. Breakfast were over the top. The location is great, walking distance to the prom, the docks, shopping and wonderful places to visit using public transit. Taking a horse drawn tram is an experience in itself.
We arrived late and a light dinner was prepared for us in the bar. We had fun teaching the bar tender to make a martini. The rooms were made up in a timely fashion. Again the staff were very accommodating. We were accommodated at the front of the hotel which faces south east so there was a great deal of sunshine during the day. The drapes gave great coverage, keeping the room cooler and dark in the early morning. The hotel was clean with a Parisian style elevator, neat. There are interesting nooks and crannies in the hotel to explore. We had a great time staying here, and would highly recommend it to one and all. I think we picked the best of the best

Room Tip: Request a room facing the prom
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed as a family on the 5th Aug for 3 nights in the 'York Room'. Upon arrival the manager was very welcoming and friendly. The room we stayed in has a musty smell which can only be described as un-inviting, the bathroom was spacious but again had that tired feeling(great spa bath mind you). The staff where all friendly and this kind of compensated for the tired hotel room we stayed in(the York room was nothing like the photos on the hotels website). We paid £258 for 3 nights bed and breakfast. I can stay in premier inn/holiday inn express for £50 a night and have spotless rooms, and still get good service. The hotel needs to modernise or reduce there prices as I would never stay there again knowing I can get so much better for less. When your 10 year old daughter tells you that you the hotel room is old fashioned, then something is not quite right.

Positives- Friendly staff/management, breakfast good(more choice in a premier inn though!),
negatives-all rooms should reflect room on website, 'York room' was tired had a musty smell and furniture was like being in a room from faulty towers. Certainly not worth £258 for 3 nights. Need better reception on bar plasma tv..

I don't wish to sound negative as the hotel appears well run, even the managers kid works breakfast shift(not sure of working directives in IOM, but that would be illegal in mainland UK). But if your charging £80+ a night make the rooms have that wow/comfort factor for ALL guests.

Room Tip: Enquire before you book
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Whilst the room you stayed in is not one of our more contemporary offerings, it is up to three star standard as this room was inspected by Visit England on their last visit for grading purposes earlier in the year. Where time and budget allow, refurbishments are constantly ongoing of all rooms.
Maybe next time, you could upgrade to a Superior room which are larger and more contemporary in style.
I don't believe the comparison between purpose built UK hotel chains and the Isle of Man's largely Victorian hotel stock holds water. All upgrades are done sympathetically with the age of the building in mind.
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the warmth and hospitality of the staff who all work very hard to ensure all guest stays are relaxing and enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future where you can be assured our quality of product will not have stood still.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £55 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing