We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been made to feel more welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been made to feel more welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Even though, like a lot of Hotels today, there are a number of different nationalities working at the Ascot it really has the feel of being a family business. Everybody without exception made us welcome, and it wasn't just us because as people came and went it was noticeable how the greetings and goodbyes were natural, warm and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of storage and wardrobe space. Everything that could be needed was in the room like ironing board, iron, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer were all available in the room although being bald I didn't find much use for the latter. There was even a TV in the bathroom if you wanted to lie in the bath and have a soak. Only downside was that the ceiling looked very dated but Hey Ho who spends their time looking at the ceiling. The breakfast gave a wide choice and the food was excellent, I particularly enjoyed the Manx kippers so much so that I had them on three mornings. We ate in the Hotel one evening and took advantage of their meal deal. 2 main courses, 2 sweets and a bottle of wine, excellent value at on £29.99. We had the 10 oz rump steak as our main, we were told these are sourced locally, Cooked exactly as we wanted. We would certainly be stay there again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    91
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
58
129
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Following Trip Advisor reports - (The majority of them very positive, about the Ascot), my friend and I chose it from a long list of available hotels in Douglas. We are both choosy about hotels, and the Ascot certainly does not disappoint. We booked a twin room, but were pleased to find ourselves given the Ascot suite, which comprised of two rooms, one with a single bed, and one with a double. Both rooms have flat screen TV's, and are well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom has a spa bath, and is up to the highest standards. The staff that we, met, Clive, Johnny and Kinga, were so helpful, that their attention to customer service could not have been bettered in a five star hotel, many of which I have stayed in, both in the UK and over many world wide locations. Normally, when we stay away from home, we eat at a different location each night. The food is so good, that we had dinner every night at he Ascot as they offer meals to suit all tastes. The Ascot is a really comfortable and reasonably priced hotel, and I recommend that you try it out. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel, as they have a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Worst room ever stayed in, grotty, ceiling had looks like burst pipe above, carpet underneath, creased and rising crumpled up, dark and dated fittings, no view, whatsoever.Never again, hilly area if you are not the fitist , in the middle on the prom, nothing to do in this area, buses run every hour after certain times.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chashey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petts Wood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Better than home from home. The best Hotel in Douglas. From the first contact to book the holiday, to the day we left we were treated like family. The owners and staff were always on hand to help with luggage and answer any questions at all times. The rooms were very well appointed and cleaned every day with the tea making facilities topped up daily. The breakfasts were self service, overseen by Norman the owner so any special request was very promptly arranged and served to the table by the ever willing staff. The owners son David who always seemed to be on the front desk or the Resturant was a gold mine of facts about the Island and puts a lot of effort into making everyone feel special. The whole staff from Johny to Kenya, Sandy and the cleaning girls it can't be faulted. Very recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Absolutely excellent hotel, spacious room overlooking the sea with plenty of wardrobe space.
Staff very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Had half board and found the food and choice of menu very good.
The only critiicism - the spa bath was not easy to access for older people.

Room Tip: Ask for chester suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My friend and I travelled from Heysham on the Friday 2am ferry to Douglas, purpose of the trip was to watch my son shooting in the commonwealth Shooting Federation games returning to Heysham on the Sunday morning ferry, this trip was arranged through the company " IOM Events" by Sally Helwitch who made all the travel and accommodation arrangements.
Travelled down to Heysham from Scotland and arrived in plenty time, the ferry company was
" The Isle of Man Steam Packet Company " large ferry with plenty room in the passenger accommodation, got settled in window seats and set off on time, uneventful crossing, timed at 3 and a half hours but actually took four, due to the tide we were informed.
Too early to book into Ascot hotel at 6am so we went along to the Palace hotel to meet the Scottish team and then on to the Shooting ground where we spent the day.
A hair raising drive over and back through the the mountain pass where they hold the annual TT motorbike races.
We booked into the Ascot hotel in the early evening and were given our room key, our room was called "Kempton" and was huge, a King sized bed with a single beside it and another single in a small alcove, a large batroom with a huge corner bath and shower, the bath was also a whirlpool bath, plenty wardrobe space, Telly, tea and coffee machine and a trouser press, we did not eat in the hotel on the Friday night but went along to the Palace hotel and ate with the Scottish Olympic Trap shooters.
We were booked in on a Bed and Breakfast basis, in the morning we were shown to our table and a buffet breakfast was available, all the usual juices and cereals, kippers and eggs to order, full cooked breakfast was in Bain Marie's ready to help yourself, plenty of toast and Coffee or tea on order.
We spent all day Saturday watching the Olympic Trap shooting and returned home to the Ascot thoroughly tired ( must have been the fresh sea air ), Showered and dressed ready for the night, we decided to eat in the Ascot and this was an excellent choice, two menus, table De Hote and A La Carte along with specials, had a Scallop and Black Pudding starter followed by a 16oz T bone cooked to perfection with our choice of veggies and different styles of potatoes, my friend also had Scallop and black Pudding followed by Venison, two Ice creams followed by coffee rounded off the meal.
The meal was not expensive and was excellent value, all courses were well presented and staff were friendly.
We decided not to go out and sat in the bar and had a couple of pints of Guiness.
Early breakfast in the morning as we were catching the 08:45 am Ferry.

Cost of the trip per person was 189 pounds, this was two nights in the Ascot bed and breakfast and a return ferry trip, the meal for two on Saturday evening came to 40 pounds, this included soft drinks.

We are already planning a return trip for next year with our wife's, this time for sightseeing and relaxing.

A special mention to Sally helwitch of " Isle of Man " events who handled all bookings for ourselves and for the Scottish team.

Alex

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1946xela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Truly found this hotel to be a gem. I stayed for four nights and had a wonderful experience.

There are comments about the rooms being dated. I don't understand them. My "Superior Room" was a large, welcoming space, with a comfortable bed and plenty of room for clothes and storage. A huge flat screen television in the room and another (!) in the bathroom, where it can be easily viewed from the whirlpool bath (!!). By the way, the free wi-fi offered the best connection that I have ever had in a hotel. It was easy to make Skype calls from the room and take care of any other business that I had on the Internet.

The staff was marvelous and welcoming. The free breakfast offered a nice selection of food (some of the selections better than others) and extremely prompt service, with toast and good coffee delivered promptly upon arrival at the table.

Marvelous view overlooking the promenade and the sea. In the morning, with the windows open, the sound of the surf and seabirds was a perfect wake-up call.

The clientele was pleasant: mostly British couples of various ages.

I had one evening meal in the restaurant. It was pleasant and worthwhile and not too expensive, although the area offers many different restaurant choices and it would seem a shame not to explore them.

All in all, a wonderful experience and I am keen to return to the Ascot Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnPatPsaltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing