We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The staff were excellent, hard working friendly and helpful. The hotel needs a thorough refurbishment. Our room on the fourth floor was very poor, the carpet was dirty and worn, the showerhead loose and couldn't be positioned, the kettle stand fell of the dressing table when the kettle was removed, every time it was used. To get to the room via the lift there was a choice, go up to fith floor and go down a short flight of stairs or go to the third floor and walk up a short flight of stairs. The view was onto a dirty blank wall little else. The claim to have wifi throughout the hotel is false, I was told at reception that being on the fourth floor I wouldn't get a signal (I could get a strong signal from he hotel next door). Meals were average. I wont be staying at the Hydro again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    66
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
31
73
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I came here with Alfa Travel. The hotel was not completely given over to Alfa customers though - there were other guests here also. Our room was spotless, comfy beds, the usual kettle and hairdryer and a whopping big flat screen TV on the wall facing the bed.
The only niggle was the lack of net curtains on the windows, particularly the bathroom.
The food was pretty good, it all appeared to be made with a conscious effort to keep it low fat. Choice for the evening meal. We enjoyed every meal we had, but, alas the roast potatoes were unbelievably awful! fortunately there was an adequate selection of veg and boiled potatoes as well - so no real problem.
The staff were all hard working, helpful and courteous.
We only stayed in one night for the "turn" it was a guy with a guitar and backing tracks, but he really put his all into the show - he was on the floor for three hours without a break. That really requires some stamina!
Over all we would both highly recommend this hotel.
This was our second trip with Alfa. Their prices are typically £100 cheaper than Shearings for a similar trip. the only minor downside is the Interchange at Burtonwood it's a bit shambolic when compared to Shearings operation at Warrington interchange.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davestevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Visited the Hydro recently on a week's coach tour with Alfa. We could not fault the service in the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely room with a sea view; it was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, towels were changed every day and the shower was good with plenty of hot water. The food was good with a varied choice and the portion sizes were extremely generous.

In reply to the last comment, I would say that all of our party were over 60, including my husband and myself but everyone enjoyed themselves - I heard no-one "moaning or wittering" - neither do we feel ready for a nursing home! I wonder if the (younger?) person who wrote that could, as we did, climb Snaefell (2,036 feet) and then dance the night away. On another day we completed a 13 mile walk - not bad for two geriatrics?!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - there is no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Rooms very old fashioned, view over the back of hotel where bins are and staff resting and smoking area v noisey most of day and night. Hotel is there to cater for the elderly and if you have to pay to use the bus this place is not for you. Rooms refurbished to v low standard, small and cramped. Staff do what they can to help but are usually running around after the elderly. Moan moan witter witter was the order of the stay from most of the other guests. Sort it out its like staying in a nursing home or make it 60+ only not an enjoyable stay will never stay again. Shame as its in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stvn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed here with 2 kids,2 adults.Not sure if ours was the only unrefurbished room as it was old fashioned with a very stale smell,stained dralon headboards and no double glazing so I spent the whole night shivering[despite sleeping in winter PJs and a dressing gown] We didn't have a flat screen TV either.The second exit door on the family room [2 rooms linked] didn't lock which was very worrying with having young kids.The whole hotel was quite dark and depressing really which is sad as the location is fab so it could be great.The breakfast was just edible,served in yet another dark,dismal room.I got the feeling that the hotel is aiming at the 60+ customers as other reviews have stated...wish I'd checked on here 1st! The waiters were lovely but the lady on reception wasn't over-friendly[think she may be the owner] Also returned with verrucas which I'm 99% certain came form the shower there.Overall,I wouldn't recommend this hotel as I've stayed in cheap Travel lodge rooms which have been much more appealing.Will NEVER return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Downurway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Ive now stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past few years and it never fails to please. It location is quiet and although a 10 min walk from the centre of town, is easily accessed by bus, horse tram, car or on foot. The seafront location is great by day and night. The staff are exceptional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are well furnished and very clean and the food is of a good standard. The hotel often is busy with coach parties but as these tend to be of the older generation this is never a problem and means that often during the day the place is very quiet. I really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LandauForte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwick upon tweed
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed , menu had a good and varied selection, even for vegetarian selections. Staff are the most friendly and helpful of any hotels that we have stayed at in the UK!!! The hotel is also in a prime location on the Queens Promenade, certainly worth considering if travellling to the Isle of Man and staying in Douglas..
Bill& Margaret B

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Property: The Hydro Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel, situated on the historic Queen's Promenade overlooking Douglas Bay. The Hydro is a 55 bedroom hotel, built in 1910, offering modern facilities, whilst retaining its original character. The Hotel is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Douglas
The Hydro Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing