We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A (positive) step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A (positive) step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I visited Douglas in December, and I chose the Hydro upon recommendation from other internet reviewers. The hotel offers good value for money, has a great architecture, while being in genuine need of refurbishment. It would be great should this happen, as it would return it to its former glory.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgiliupop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    66
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
31
73
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

an absolute ,superb vale for money stay
9 / 10
Jul 2011, chris31
hi,
we have just returned from a coach holiday with Alfa travel at this hotel. no we are not the 60= zimmer frame brigade but a young fit 59 year old couple who are very well travelled.
we were picked up from our home town and taken to Burtonwood here a swift smooth interchange set us on our way.On route we visited Heysham village which is really pretty and was a pleasant surprise.
we then boarded our ferry for a smooth peaceful crossing. The weather was lovely and spent most of our time on the top deck.
a very short journey took us to our hotel and straight to dinner.
our first meal was excellent, well presented and a good choice. all foods were fresh and well cooked. my husband was a vegetarian and his meal was really good.
the standard of food remained excellent all week and we had no complaints at all.
we then went to our room which had a sea view (1/2) on a corner. although the room was a bit disappointing small, it was very clean. the maid service and standard of cleanliness was excellent.
The entertainment in the hotel was for 2 nights with the coach driver doing an additional night. It was enjoyable, not the best but we were satisfied.
the trips and driving by our driver Jef were absolutely superb. jef,s knowledge of the island was incredible and he went out of his way to ensure we had a wonderful time. A nice free extra was the Tyndwell visit for the yearly opening of parliament. An experience that we will never see again. This driver,Jef, is an absolute credit to Alfa Travel
The hotel staff were helpful, friendly and really cared about their guests.
I really think that the negative comments are in the minority and we would urge you all to see for yourselves what a good hotel this is. The itinery of the holiday Alfa provided and the standard of the hotel , we are two very satisfied customers.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12172013ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

did what it said on tin, good location nice staff good price would visit again had a great couple of days cycling island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Quiet simply put, this Hotel is one of the Isle of Man's jewels. Could not fault it whatsoever, staff very friendly, food is great, very well maintained and clean throughout.

Would recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to have a comfortable, clean, friendly hotel base whilst visiting the Isle of Man.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, although first floor rooms at back are above entertainment hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

First time in the Isle of Man and the Hydro was a great place to stay. Clean room and nice bathroom. Good Breakfast.
The weather was not great but the room was warm and the view spectacular. Great Value for money would reccommend to all.
We used the buses to travel around the island and found this really easy, bus stops outside the hotel. It seems this end of Douglas is quite with most of the pubs at the other end of town but its only 15 minute walk if its not raining.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Good location on the promenade. Friendly staff. I think the rooms were good value for money , clean and comfortable. Ok I take on board the refurbishment comments but was pleasantly suprised after reading some of the reviews.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Hydro in September for 3 nights. This was our second time staying here and had thought we would not stay here again mainly due to the tiny room we were allocated. However, we left it too late to book our trip via steam packet and as this was the only place that could accommodate us it was a case of 'any port in a storm'. Our room was on the 2nd floor and a lift was available but to get to our room we had to choose either to go to the 3rd floor and walk down 5/6 steps or go to 2nd floor and walk up steps. This didn't bother us but a lot of older people were staying, and quite a few elderly people were visiting the Island at that time, we felt for them. Access into a lot of the hotels on the Promenade for the elderly, disabled, wheel chair users etc is not catered for.
Reception is dull and cheerless with a non-inviting smell. Receptionist was not a all friendly or helpful but staff were and breakfast was hot and tasty. The dining room is in great need of a complete makeover. We didn't have our evening meals here so I can't comment.
Our V-shaped, small room had a sea-view/shop roof/other buildings view, was clean, warm, double glazed windows and nice curtains and matching bed cover. There was a wall mounted flat screen TV but which was fine but had no Teletext. In order to have privacy in the bathroom and while dressing you had to pull the curtains. The size of the room was a problem - if either of us was using the dressing table and the other wished to enter or exit the room it was a case of rising from there, push the chair in under the dressing table or else climb over the bed to get past each other, so in the end we resigned to the latter. Two people could not pass at the bottom of the bed, use the wardrobe or be in the bathroom at the same time. In fact it worked out better if I hit the shops while my husband got ready and I sent him for a pint while I got ready. There was a good sized wardrobe in the room and a stand to hold your suitcases but there was no room to set it. To summarise our two stays in the Hydro - it reminded us of an episode of Keeping up Appearances which from memory was Country Retreat 1993 when Mrs Bucket bought a cottage in the country. I can't say we won't stay in the Hydro again because in the future it could be another case of 'any port in a storm' and we do like visiting the Island as it's home to many fine restaurants and thats our holiday - dining out but if we do I will be making sure that we get a proper sized room.

Room Tip: If wanting a sea-view room ask if its on the corner. Having had two experiences here on corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryW799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Property: The Hydro Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel, situated on the historic Queen's Promenade overlooking Douglas Bay. The Hydro is a 55 bedroom hotel, built in 1910, offering modern facilities, whilst retaining its original character. The Hotel is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Douglas
The Hydro Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing