We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel for the TT”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel for the TT”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We have just returned after visiting the IOM TT Practice week and spent 3 nights at the Hydro Hotel. The Hotel is a great value for money 3* Victorian Hotel, which creaks a bit. The rooms are clean and well appointed. My room had twin beds, a flat Screen TV (limited Channel Choice), Tea / Coffee making facilities and a decent en-suite bathroom. The Breakfasts were also very good. There is also a bar with an extremely friendly night porter who kept the bar open as late as anyone wanted. Overall, all of the staff were extremely pleasant & helpful.

Parking is a bit limited and restricted to the Promenade and it's a good 15 mins walk to the livelier part of Douglas....but after being on the motorcycle all day the walk was welcome.

It's certasinly not a 4 or 5 star Hotel....so don't expect this. But for a Victorian era, Isle of Man 3* Hotel it's pretty good. All in all, I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    70
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
33
80
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My husband and I stayed here in order to attend a work Christmas party which was also held in the hotel.We were able to park easily on the promenade outside.

The hotel is located at the quiet end of Douglas' promenade but with a nightclub(Paramount City) and the casino (at the Hilton) both within easy walking distance. A popular pub nearby is the Queens Hotel but the Hydro has a small bar of its own.

The party was great. We shared the venue with several other small groups and a D.J. was laid on. The christmas meal was great value, tasty, punctual and most importantly hot.

Our room was a bit on the chilly side to begin with and the shower took a while to warm up but it was December! The decor was fresh but a little dated. The room was perfectly clean and the bed was warm and comfortable. The view from our room over the promenade and bay was spectacular. There was a small table and chairs in the window so we could enjoy the panorama with a coffee.

The staff were friendly and approachable. I was particularly impressed by the tactful way a group of visiting young gymnasts were reminded to respect other hotel guests by not playing in the lift! Another group of visiting rugby players were quiet and pleasant although one of them did cause a minor flood in the fuction room by leaving a bath running. Staff dealt with this quickly and efficiently.

The hotel was peaceful and quiet overnight and had a night porter on duty. We enjoyed a fry up breakfast cooked to order in the morning. Checkout was friendly and efficient as checking in had been

Although this is not the most trendy hotel in Douglas it has a certain elegance about it and is amazingly good value considering the quality of the service.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manninagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Free Wi-fi in the foyer. Super staff. Tomatoes on the menu for breakfast every other day- the chef is oviously a control freak!! The Hydro does indeed need modernisation but with the virtual collapse of tourism because of the overpriced monopoly called the Steam Packet and outrageous air fares the place is just about ticking over. Anyway, a multi-storied end of terrace Victorian(just) pile would be a nightmare to renovate. No private parking and it is just at the wrong end of the Prom for nightlife. The seafront bedrooms have been poorly created out of the original vast spaces and there is no excuse for the poor quality of decor - ill-fitting carpets , crumbling ceiling where water has come in,remains of light pulls in the ceiling etc,etc. By the way, if anyone feels the cold it is not just because the radiators are minute, each room is individually controlled from Reception so you have to ask them to switch on the heating. There is hope yet for the old lady- a planned change of management within the family, so in 5 years as Susan Boyle would say, "You'll see". There are better hotels on The Rock for the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

I stayed here with my mom,brother and sister in feburary 2007.It was our first time to the isle of man.The hotel is very old and it is shabby looking every thing looks dull, the carpets are really old fashioned they even had carpet in the bathroom which got wet when we had a shower. So that makes it smelly,which it was!

We had two big rooms, and plenty storage and a lovely view of the sea but the rooms which were connected could badly do with new furniture, we even found some one elses itim of clothing under the bed which means obviouly the cleaners did'nt do there jobs properly!!!

Breakfast was nice, but the room where we ate was again dreary and old fashioned! The staff were really nice,i would give them 10 out of 10! But the hotel itself i would only give it 5/10.

we loved Douglas it had great shops,and the rest of the island was lovely too!

  • Liked — situated in douglas which was lovely views!
  • Disliked — it was dirty and old fashioned
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilwayne4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I have just returned from Douglas, Isle of Man. We stayed at The Hydro Hotel, a truly excellent hotel and resort. The room was very clean, the only let down being the view. Still, you cant have everything! The food was delicious with an extensive menu.The worst thing about the hotel was the entertainment provided for us. The location of the hotel is very central, conveniant for the shops. If you cant walk even that far, there is always the horse and trams which travel up and down the sea front, which is where the hotel is located.
Douglas itself is very clean and you are safe to walk out late at night, which we did a few times.There are the usual shops such as M&S and Next as well as a few gift shops. There is a castle you can visit if you prefer.
On the whole it was a very pleasureable experience, only spoilt by the three and a half hour journey on the ferry!

Helpful?
1 Thank BootUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

The hotel is situated on the promenade, conveniently located for the trams and the buses. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful, and the food good.

The only fly in the ointment was the aggressive attitude of the manager of the Terminus Tavern, just up the road. My partner wanted a splash of lemonade in her drink, and he insisted we buy a full tin of it, despite the fact that there were bottles of lemonade on the bar. When this was pointed out to him,he became offensive and aggressive. he is obviously trying to rip tourists off.

Use the hotel, but give the pub and it's obnoxious manager a wide berth.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and good food
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain-Flack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

An ideal hotel for TT travellers, gr8 location on the Douglas seafront, clean rooms with power shower. Older style hotel, friendly staff and provided a good breakfast! Work was being carried out on the outside, painting and new tiles on steps.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank JaxSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Property: The Hydro Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel, situated on the historic Queen's Promenade overlooking Douglas Bay. The Hydro is a 55 bedroom hotel, built in 1910, offering modern facilities, whilst retaining its original character. The Hotel is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Douglas
The Hydro Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing