We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest hotel room on the Island?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is a fairly average hotel on the promenade. We were only there one night visiting friends, so the standard of accommodation was not essential and in the depths of December one generally isn't too concerned about views. Do be warned, however. A glance at the fire escape drawings show that there are essentially three types of room: (1) Decent sized, sea view rooms; (2) Decent sized rear facing rooms; and (3) Tiny box rooms filling in the gaps with no view at all.

We were in the third type of room, and were a little bit disappointed. That said, there was nothing wrong the facilities in the room (save that all of the UHT milk packs were out of date). The fittings were relatively modern, the staff friendly and the location very central.

Very good breakfast and not unreasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View. We weren't offered a choice even though the Hotel was not full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brd_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the size of your room; as you suggest we do have different-sized rooms which can be chosen at booking and our Sea View rooms have been recently refurbished to offer the very best facilities. We are glad that you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us; we are very proud of our friendly staff and have passed on your kind comments regarding the breakfast to our chef. We hope you had a good festive break and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have stayed in the Claremont 4/5 times over the past 3 years and have always enjoyed the comforts of the rooms. The only problem is the seaview rooms are rather hot even when the radiator is off, I have found this uncomfortable during the night when you are trying to sleep. If you are a light sleeper then you probably won't enjoy hearing the taxi's go past through the night at the weekends (you don't want to open the windows to let cool air in), although you can get to sleep as it's not overly bad. The beds are amazing, very comfortable and huge! Staff very pleasant too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Location is great, right on the promenade near the ferry terminal. Check-in was friendly and easy. The room was rather small, but comfortable and fully equipped. Had we been planning a longer stay we would have asked for a sea view rather than the concrete wall we were given, but on this occasion it didn't bother me. Breakfast was great - lots of choice and nicely done. Not a bad choice at the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel during a business trip...at first we were dissapointed....our room was in the 3rd floor and the elevator was on maintenance...so you can imagine after 8 hours trip,we were not so happy plus we had a small room that barelly fit our luggage-we asked a bigger room and they gave us one,(pictures included in my review....)clean,spacious...with the best bed i ever slept!!!!!!---Breakfast was ok,nothing fancy,service not the best.....

Room Tip: Spend little bit more and take one bigger room e.x 310-306-201...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tekilaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Claremont Hotel. Please accept our apologies once more that our elevator was unavailable on your arrival, we were upgrading the guest lift at the time of your visit; this is due for completion January 2013. We are delighted you enjoyed your upgraded luxury room and the comfort these facilities provide. Your feedback has been passed on to the team and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This was our 8th annual visit to the Claremont and yet again we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly - the room was fantastic - and the food was excellent. We cant wait for next November to come round!

Room Tip: We had room 212 and the view was perfect. We had comfortable furniture to sit in and we could just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miley474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I only arrived at the hotel at midnight and had to leave at 6am but was really impressed. The Irish bloke at reception couldn't have been more helpful (not expected at that time) and the room was gorgeous. Recently refurbished and very tasteful with a luxurious feel to it in terms of decor, furnishings and lighting. The best bit was the bed. Lovely crisp white hotel bedding, thick duvet and a really comfy memory foam mattress. The best 4 hours sleep I've had for a while! Can't comment on the food which I didn't get chance to sample. My only regret is that I didn't get longer in that bed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timnutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at The Claremont, and both times I have been very impressed. I have stayed at many other hotels in Douglas, and they are as dreary as Douglas itself, but the Claremont makes the trip much more enjoyable. Do not stay in room number 103 if you want any sleep as the lorries are loading/unloading right outside your window. However, I was upgraded for the following 2 nights so no complaints about noise again. Generally I thought the staff were friendly and very helpful when I asked to be moved, and the room I was upgraded to was excellent.

Room Tip: If you are booked into Room 103, ask to be moved immediately if you intend on sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagginsEC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
1 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £90 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing