We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, just”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok, just”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Definitely not 4 star. Be warned, I booked a "platinum double with a wide variety of facilities". The room I had was actually a very small double with very few facilities overlooking the back of another building. When I went back to reception to query if I had been given the correct room I was informed by the very polite receptionist that a platinum double is a actually the new name they give a standard double! The food was average but the staff were very nice. I would not recommend it, and as I will be returning to the IOM several time for business I will be looking for an alternative hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review of The Claremont. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

As with other hotels we have a variety of room types available and these vary in terms of some facilities. The majority have a sea view and all attain the minimum of a 4 Star standard. We would suggest that our Business Club rooms would be more suitable to your personal requirements and we would be delighted to arrange this for you on your next visit to the Isle of Man. May we thank you for your very kind comments regarding our staff and service for whom providing the best service possible to all our guests is of the utmost importance. We hope that you will return to the hotel soon and allow us the opportunity to arrange a Business Club room with our compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    125
    53
    13
    4
See reviews for
29
154
9
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadiaro, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I chose the hotel as it had been suggested by Flybe airline when booking flights. First visit to Man and therefore hotels unknown although reviews on "Tripadvisor" were positive. Unfortunately my experience was not as good as some other travellers appeared to have had. The hotel is undergoing a massive redevelopment programme and builders and building material was all around. Reception was a makeshift counter and the surrounding area had no ambience and was cold and draughty. The bedroom was very small with two windows overlooking a passageway and the roof. The radiator provided minimal heating and getting wrapped up in the bed quilt was the only way to keep warm. There was a small writing table and chair but nowhere to sit except on the bed. Bathroom was adequate but no hot water and no chance of filling the bath with anything approaching luke warm. Dining room lacked any form of friendliness or warmth although the food was slightly better than average. Advertising suggested that it was the best in Douglas and based on my experience, this is probably correct but overall, only mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pavakeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review of The Claremont Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your recent stay with us. As you have referred to, we have undertaken a winter refurbishment of the reception and ground floor areas of the hotel in order to further significantly enhance the hotel facilities. Whilst we have made every effort to ensure that all guests are unaffected during this process and ensured that work has been limited to specific hours so as not cause excessive noise or other disruption, we have certainly taken on board your comments. We also apologise for the temporary reception desk on the day you arrived, though can we can confirm that this was in place for only 24hours to allow for the installation of the new desk arrangement. Like all hotels, we have rooms of differing sizes and specifications and on investigation we can confirm that the room you refer to is set as a single room and arranged as such. May we recommend you consider selecting a Business Club room on your next visit, as these larger rooms offer additional space, sea views and facilities that would perhaps be more suitable to your personal requirements. We hope to welcome you back to The Claremont Hotel soon, when you will see further significant enhancements completed. May we thank you for your kind comments regarding the food in Coast Restaurant, for which are most appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Recently stayed at The Claremont during a business trip. Friendly check-in with a much appreciated upgrade on our rooms. Lovely, modern decoration and a huge, well fitted bathroom. Works were underway to refurbish the entrance and lift but these were not problematic and will enhance the hotel further when completed. Really enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the sea view. Agree with another reviewer that the sea view rooms can be affected by the wind noise but it didn't spoil my stay at all. I will be returning to Douglas two or three times this year and will definitely stay at The Claremont again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champagneabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your very kind review of The Claremont Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the facilities and Business Club room, and will be glad to welcome you back on your next visit to the Isle of Man, when you will see the now enhanced reception and lounge areas that will further add to the hotel facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and modern environment. No hassles. Good business feel. Comfortable and welcoming. Excellent wifi. Could do with a separate bar/ lounge area. Would definitely recommend.

It was a cold, dark, dank, grey day but still a pleasant stay. Met my needs for an overnight business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlithburySloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Claremont whilst visiting friends in the Douglas. The hotel is undergoing extensive refurbishment at the moment so some areas we did not see as they were unfinished. Our room had a sea view and was beautifully decorated. It had a lovely big bathroom and lots of amenities. The staff at the hotel were friendly and breakfast was very good. We also ate in the hotels restaurant 'Coast' on one night which we really enjoyed.
Our only criticism would be the noise from outside as we could hear cars and people out on the street all night which meant that we did not sleep well for the whole weekend. I would advise asking for a room without a sea view to avoid the noise!
We have stayed in other hotels on the Island and this was in a different league! We will definitely return to the Claremont.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor overlooking the sea are very noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your review of The Claremont Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you suggested, we are currently making additional renovations to our hotel to further enhance The Claremont’s position as the hotel of discerning choice for the Isle of Man. In addition to our range of new Business Club rooms, by mid April 2013 the hotel will also benefit from a refurbished entrance, reception, lounge area and also a new passenger lift, in consultation with a leading european design team.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding Coast Bar & Brasserie; we take pride in providing a quality restaurant to compliment the exceptional hotel facilities. We understand that you may have experienced an element of early evening traffic noise from our central / sea front location and on your next visit we would be happy to accommodate you in a quieter area of the hotel, should this your preferred option. Once again many thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I just had a weekend away in the Isle of Man and stayed at the Claremont. We had a clean modern room overlooking the sea with everything from WIFI to ubamodern bathroom.
The breakfast was 'to die for' with all the usual things and some extras I have never seen before on a breakfast buffet ([peach and yoghurt granola) We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night - the food was lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderful but a bit noisy on a windy rainy February night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Our aim is to provide a high quality, international standard hotel experience to all of our guests and both the bedroom design and breakfast menu are central to this. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Claremont on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Claremont for 1 night on a business trip. The hotel is a grand building on the promenade and is recently undergoing an extensive refurbishment. The sea view room I was given had just been refurbished and to the highest order. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on and the finish of the room was of the highest order with some nice touches, such as ceiling speakers in the (huge) bathroom and charles eames chairs.
Breakfast was well presented and the menu extensive - although I would avoid ordering a mushroom omelet again (not to my taste).
The hotel is centrally located, extremely clean and good value for money

Room Tip: Request sea view room for the best in-room facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Claremont Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our Business Club bedroom design with Tempur Mattress. We have passed on your kind comments to our team and hope to welcome you back on your next business visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing