We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trully Enjoyed - Great Experience & Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claremont Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Trully Enjoyed - Great Experience & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Great Entrance, nice decor and amazing service all round.
No porter so when asked for our lugagge to be taken to the room, the General Manager Mr Campos ,of the Hotel took it to our room and kindly described the Hotel and the island, great approach.
Dinner & Breakfast in Coast was superb and the staff extremelly keen to help with a Smile!! not what I usually receive in London.
Rooms were spacious, and the location great and near the business center.
Nice little touches like bottled water in room plus fridge & nespresso machine,very nice girls at reception.
When next time on the island will ask the company to be placed in The Claremont.
Massive changes in this hotel, since my last stay 4 years ago.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Terry,
Thank you for your kind review of The Claremont Hotel, and in particular your kind comments regarding the exceptional standard of service you received. We are proud of our team and the modern, clean facilities that we offer, though as you suggest we are always looking to improve or enhance our product. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    112
    53
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
141
9
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was a vacation for my wife and I. Our first time out of the United States. We booked this hotel without really knowing what to expect. It more than met our expectation. The hotel appears to have been rather recently modernized and updated. The room was great. The bed was wonderful, the bathroom was very modern and stylish. The restaurant was beautiful and the food was great. All of the hotel staff were very helpful and polite; wonderful people!
We would certainly highly recommend this hotel as a very first class place to stay.

Room Tip: Get the front side, ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 196Larry_O5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was definately designed for the business sector as there were few home comforts or access to information on attractions. Bedrooms were clean but with a lack of storage for the long stay visitor -no draw units only a hanging fabric contraption that was torn and looked in need of a wash, and a wardrobe with 10 coat hangers. The bedside tables were blocks of wood with over-large light balls fixed to the top leaving little room for a cup or book. On a positive note the beds were excellent. We paid extra for a sea view which was great but very noisy with a lot of traffic and noise from the hotels function rooms in the basement -try to avoid a room on floor one if you are a light sleeper. No fan or air con meant the rooms were very hot and you had to choose between temperature and noise, take your ear plugs. Breakfast was another plus with a good range of well cooked food and excellent and helpful staff.
The bathroom was the big negative of our stay, there was no frosting on the glass which meant that unless the blind was fully down you could be easily seen from the street (we witnessed this our first night when a gentleman in the room next door chose to use the toilet as we were looking up from the prom to identify which room was ours - not a pretty sight, the toilet is poorly positioned next to the window. The shower was good but the cubical was not very clean with mildew growing round the waste pipe and shower screen, there was staining to the tile grout in the shower and around the toilet and the whole place was in need of a deep clean - poor housekeeping! The room steamed up very quickly but you couldn't open the window as the blind waved about in the breeze giving anyone passing an unexpected view!
The free wi-fi only really worked well in the lounge or dining area and in the bedrooms kept cutting out mid email meaning several failed to reach their destinations. The iPod docking station was not evident (not bothered by that as I left the ipod at home) but there was a great coffee machine which made fab coffee once you worked out how to use it (no instructions)
On the whole the hotel could have been great but it let itself down. I was very disappointed but have to say the island itself is well worth the visit and I look forward to returning in the future but not to room 117.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Alison,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay with us and apologise that your room layout was entirely not to your personal satisfaction. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the quality of food and particulary the service at breakfast, as well as the Super King beds in your room. We have inspected the bathroom you refer to and we have attended to the minor sealant detail in the shower that was required. We have taken all of your comments on board so that we may further improve our customer experience and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

It isn't cheap to stay here but, as always, you tend to get what you pay for. The location is perfect and we had a sea view room (more expensive). Room facilities are excellent but the place cries out for a gym/pool (though space must be at a premium). Restaurant is good if a little overpriced but breakfast was fab. Would recommend. Staff helpful and rooms, etc clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyfarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

It was a considerable number of years since our last visit to Douglas and the Isle of Man and we sought out a hotel with all that might be expected from a four star property by way of comfort, stylish, good food and an overall pleasant experience.

The Claremont seemed to fit the bill having read about the "opulent rooms delicately balanced with modern aesthetics, luxurious comfort and state of the art technology.... which have recently undergone extensive refurbishments worth over £2 million" and how the luxury Sea-View rooms, designed with the modern day traveler in mind, have recently received an international ‘highly commended hotel interior’ award. At the time of booking there was only a limited option available to us, that of staying in a room known as BCP - Business Club Promenade. We were assured that we would have a fine spacious room with a magnificent view of the promenade and sea from the bay windows.

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed with the modern touches to reception and the ground floor generally and of course the welcome air conditioning on what was a very hot day. The illusion was however soon shattered when we proceeded to our room. The first that strikes you on arriving at the bedroom corridor is just how narrow the corridors become - it was like being on a cruise ship where narrow corridors are a feature but the Claremont have even narrower corridors. You just hope you will not meet other guests using the corridor and certainly not if you or they are carrying luggage.

On arrival at room 317 we got the first impression of the aforementioned "opulent room delicately balanced with modern aesthetics" and it did look nice but that was before we noticed that the room had no bay windows nor could you view the promenade or sea with getting up close to what was effectively an attic window. This was certainly not the room we believed we had booked and were prepared to pay a premium rate for and so I returned to reception and explained my dissatisfaction.

We were brought to 207 and this did have a bay window and was a larger room overall. However we soon discovered that there was no shower in the bathroom and given the prevailing warm weather we felt that having a shower facility was important. Returning to reception and on the point of checking out of the hotel we were offered the chance to view 217 which also had a bay window and a shower facility. We decided to stay at this juncture without realizing that this four star property does not provide its guests with that basic facility enjoyed by most other serious hospitality establishments - air conditioning in the bedrooms. There followed three nights of having to leave windows open and a mixture of promenade traffic noise and rowdy/ drunken pedestrians well into the early morning making for an overall unpleasant night time experience. Reception did offer a small fan but this is not the answer to air conditioning needs during the summer we have been fortunate to experience.

We had two relatively disappointing experiences at breakfast time when we found that the simple request to have fried eggs [ just fried eggs in one case] served "lightly turned" could not be met by the breakfast chef. We did however have an enjoyable meal in the restaurant one evening and it seemed to be very well full on that evening.

Having endured the problem with no air conditioning over two nights and the allocation of a non BCP room in the first instance a complaint was made to the Duty Manager on the 2nd morning and in fairness to him and to the hotel and the General Manager himself came into the hotel on the Saturday morning and resolved the matter to our complete satisfaction before leaving the following day.

The Claremont has much to offer its customers, whether they be business or otherwise, but they should address the problem of no air conditioning as a matter of urgency.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peregrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your review of The Claremont.

We apologise that the first room we allocated was not to your personal satisfaction, this room does offer a sea view but we acknowledge that the window configuration varies to other rooms due the original architecture of the property. We are a little confused as to your reference to room 207 as we can assure you this room does have a shower within the en-suite, as do all the rooms in the hotel, but we are pleased that we were ultimately able to offer you a room to meet all your personal and business requirements and that you noted the modern design and facilities. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the refurbished reception and lounge areas, the enjoyable dinner and the helpful staff you experienced. We will share your kind feedback with our team.

We also take on board your comments regarding adding air conditioning to your bedoom and whilst the general Isle of Man climate does not make this facility a hotel design necessity, this is something that we are looking into, as we are always looking to to further enhance the hotel's facilities and our guests' satisfaction. Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man

Kind regards, Mark Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed over 1 night on business and it was great. A friendly welcome, a fresh, modern room with a living room area as well as bedroom and bathroom, 2 TVs, separate stereo etc. Impeccably clean and had 2 bottles of complimentary bottled water (it's a pet hate when hotels don't bother to provide any). It was a hot day, but the windows had been opened and the room temperature was comfortable.
The bar had nice wine and good value cocktails and the location was lovely, right across the road from the promenade. I didn't eat in the hotel - there were plenty of nice restaurants nearby. Loved it when I got back to find stawberries dipped in chocolate on my bedsite table, the blinds drawn and the bed turned down. Being spoilt never gets old.
Next morning I didn't intend to have much for breakfast - cereal and a cuppa would have done me - but as soon as I saw the pancakes with bacon & maple syrup on the menu I was done for. Delicious! Hope my work takes me back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

It is 20 years since I have been to the Isle of Man. A business trip to the island necessitated accommodation and spurned on by reviews (on trip advisor and the hotel's own web site) a booking was made.

The Claremont is a creation of the owners knocking through what would have previously been two or three hotels gracing the promenade in Douglas. Not a problem in itself but it soon becomes obvious as you go further up and along from the second floor, corridors become extremely narrow making passing...laptop bag on one shoulder, suit holder on the other slightly difficult (get the idea?) Slightly more worrying however is the prospect of an emergency as quite honestly the corridor width would not accommodate a huge volume of traffic say in event of fire alarm.

It is first and foremost a business hotel and yes on first glance the room is lovely. Contemporary, minimalistic, clean lines. Rooms are dark mahogany wood and there is a spacious bathroom complete with wet room, clean towels (that to be fair have been scrupulously laundered achieving the perfect balance ...fresh smelling and fit for purpose - when you dry you know your dry!) But with all good hotels, it is the attention to detail and when you scratch the surface the Claremont is seriously wanting.

Firstly this hotel does not provide its guests with that basic facility enjoyed by most other serious hospitality establishments - air conditioning in the bedrooms (it has made an appearance in the foyer before the breakfast room so we can but hope.) The stay on the island was from 7th to 10th July where temperatures soared. A modern hotel no air conditioning in the bedrooms, but with the latest modern halogen light fittings (which could give you a tan all on their own) it was a most delightful experience (I say this in jest). Another unique feature...no clean bed linen. Imagine the frustration and disappointment on finding that the bed linen was not changed for the duration of our stay. Just imagine now- 3 nights in intense heat, no air conditioning and sticky sweaty sheets...class! The blue water glasses when held up to the light were absolutely filthy. Goodness knows what they had been cleaned with. It was left at reception along with an evaluation card the day of departure. I did indicate I would like the hotel to contact me but 13 days later ...nothing.

On the plus side the hotel is blessed with a beautiful dining room painted a duck egg blue and whose design would not look out of place in a Jane Austen novel and on the first day when we breakfasted the food and service were faultless. However on day two of the stay the wheels really came off the cart big time.

Early business meetings at another part of the island necessitated an early start. The breakfast order was taken and Godot waited and waited and waited. Enquiries were made and it became clear by the facial expressions, body language and remarks of the front of house team that they and those in the kitchen were having - how shall I put this - not a good day? Doors to and from the kitchen were kicked open; cooked items fell off plates and were kicked along the floor (I kid you not). On the point of leaving, breakfast came which really had to be abandoned as the priority had to be the business appointments (ironically with officials to discuss tourism!!) As we got up to leave the elderly couple who had been sitting to our right and who had ordered another pot of coffee were rewarded with the bringer of the coffee screaming to a colleague beside her "start clearing the table now!!"

Presiding over this circus on Tuesday 9 July, were two senior staff, (both in position and years it appeared). One man in a dark suit who went in and out of the kitchen to help himself to cups of tea or coffee and a lady in a grey and back suit, in high heels, who walked about holding a mobile phone (we have all seen the type) but who did little else.

A complaint was made to a female member of staff on reception ...nothing. Our room number was given and no one from the hotel approached us (one of the party had already departed so as to be on time for the meetings).

A word to the wise. All the chocolate strawberries in the world will not make up for an establishment, which markets itself as a business orientated choice for travellers, failing to deliver the basics. Those who travel on business have certain expectations which I would argue are not unreasonable - clean linen and a hotel able to keep its end of the deal - being able to deliver breakfast within an hour and a half to allow folk to honour engagements which is the reason they have come to the island and are in your hotel in the first place! Also the first rule of the hospitality trade has always been the customer's needs come first. Whatever crisis or drama is going on between your staff your guests should not be aware of it or witnesses to it! For the price they or their company have paid they are at least deserving of the courtesy of a reply. In today's dire economic conditions, patrons and corporate clients are no longer willing to pay out and yet receive shoddy third rate service.

It says much that the feedback card left at reception with the unclean glass has not been acted upon. The Isle of Man is a truly beautiful and exceptional location and we will return... TO THE ISLAND.

The Claremont may wish to market itself as the business and corporate choice. However if your schedule has been pre arranged and the Claremont are having a bad day, take my advice and do yourself and your company a huge favour. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Room Tip: There are none due to heat both from weather and the year round problems of the light fittings in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Claremont. We take all feedback very seriously and are pleased to have the opportunity to respond to you. May we firstly apologise for your not having received a prompt contact following your initial feedback card as was left with our night porter. We have since emailed you directly and would welcome the opportunity to discuss specific aspects of your review when you advise. Naturally we are very disappointed that we were unable to meet our mutual expectations in failing to deliver the exceptional service we aspire to, on the morning you mention. Providing a consistent and international standard of customer service is of the utmost importance to us and we also agree that it is this, with additional small touches, that combine to make a hotel stay perfect. We take on board your extensive feedback and have discussed this at length with our team. May we also thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding our restaurant decor and guest room facilities. We do hope to see you again at The Claremont on your next business trip to the Isle of Man and would be delighted to discuss your individual requirements so that we may ensure you have the most relaxing and enjoyable stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing