We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Londoner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Londoner”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We tried to look for 5 star hotel on this island but there was no one, the best we could found was this hotel, but it turned out to be exceptionally good and the service is particularly commendable. I traveled with my family and upon arrival we were immediately upgraded to a big room with a walk-in closet and a fantastic sea view. The breakfast was very good and the diner was even better. The staff are very friendly. We forgot our sons pajama in the hotel and the hotel helped us to sent it back by post in JUST one day. I have been to many hotels around the world, and some of them are even 7 star but THIS ONE is second to none!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagle11london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words regarding the exceptional service and standard of cuisine. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    125
    53
    13
    4
See reviews for
29
154
9
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

the hotel is ideally located on the seafront close to the ferry terminal. The downstairs area of the dining room,bar & lounge are very smart &clean. The superb breakfasts &dinners are served by a very polite,cheerful &professional group of waiters &waitresses. The only downside to this stay was room 210 . The room is small,hot [ even with window open &rad off] &overlookstwo brick walls &a set of extractor flues.Give this hotel a visit but avoid room 210

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I travel to the Isle of Man regularly for business. This was the first time I'd stayed at the Claremont. It was an improvement on my previous hotel. The entrance and restaurant are pretty smart. The rooms are tucked away down wonky corridors, but my room was pretty good. Comfy, not too hot (which is always the case with hotel rooms) clean.

Very good breakfast!

Next time I visit the IoM I'm going to stay at the Claremont.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was my second stay on business and I was looking forward to staying at the Claremont again. My room was clean enough but it was very small, oddly shaped, very very stuffy, horrible view of a dirty part of the roof and a bathroom with a sloping floor!
However the breakfast was as good as last time, same great location and friendly service ......just don't accept a key for room. Umber 114!

Room Tip: Avoid room 114 and ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukrealdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Claremont Hotel as a member of a party of 22 guests celebrating a friends' wedding anniversary.
The hotel is well located adjacent to the ferry port and high street. It has been refurbished to a very high standard.
The spacious bedroom with a sea view was very comfortable. Only complaint was a lack of shelves and cupboards for our possessions.
Breakfasts, freshly prepared for guests were excellent as was the celebratory dinner on the Saturday evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Claremont. We thank you for your feedback, in particular your kind comments about the newly refurbished rooms and the high quality of our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The room (217) that we had has two significant failings. 1) There is not a single draw in the room. The bed side tables, whilst necessary, are a waste of space without draws. 2) Room 217 has a bay window with, currently, too much furniture in it. It is almost impossible to get to the window to open or close them and draw the curtains.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinnerBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review of the Claremont. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your helpful feedback. We will certainly look to review the bay view seating arrangement as you refer to. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Wonderful 5 night stay which was a present for my husbands birthday so that he could visit IOM for the TT.
He was slightly worried that the hotel would be noisy and wanting to ensure that the holiday was perfect I made a request for this in advance, Our room was not only quiet but newly renovated and so comfortable.
Everything about Claremont was very special and as previously mentioned in other reviews the staff were exceptional, well done you are an amazing team!!
Thank you for making our trip one of the best holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing