We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel with exceptional service and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Brigg, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing hotel with exceptional service and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of August for the classic tt. Arrived tired and cold at 0645 after travelling on the early morning ferry. Asked if we could leave our helmets and panniers at front desk until check in time ... But they went one better and actually allowed us to check in to our room as it had not been occupied the previous night.

WOW our room was amazing and overlooked douglas castle and seafront. Massive room, bed and walk in shower.. This was a business class room.

The food was exceptional... We consider ourselves well travelled and the food was some of the best we have had in hotels.service was second to none as was the cleanliness.there was also a motorcycle legend staying on the hotel which speaks volumes. Will respect their privacy and not name him but my hubbies jaw nearly hit the floor when he spotted him in the bar ... Gobsmacked lol.

The staff at this hotel are an asset to the company. Courteous, professional and hard working.thankyou to Kaye for her ' David Bailey' moment when we left... Taking the time to take a piccy of us on our motorbike before leaving this wonderful hotel

We have already booked for our return for the classic tt next year.

Thankyou all from Dave and Ju in room 207

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review of the Claremont, especially your kind words regarding the exceptional quality of the accommodation, customer service and restaurant. We work hard to provide the most enjoyble guest experience possible. We will pass on your kind words to the team, who will be delighted with your feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Isle of Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    115
    52
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
143
9
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a weekend at the Claremont at the end of August. We had a lovely room overlooking the Promenade. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent as well as the a'la carte menu in the evening. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and if ever in the Isle of Man again, would definately stay at The Claremont

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Fabulous Hotel! Our room ovelooking the sea front and Douglas Castle, definately had the "WOW" factor, The staff could not have friendlier or more welcoming and the service provided by them, from, Reception Bar and Restaurant, really was second to none.. Nothing was too much trouble I woud highy recommend the Claremont Hotel to anyone looking for a luxury break away, definately worth a vist, you won't b disappointed..

Room Tip: The Hotel offer a "Coast Luxury Package" for weekend stays, any Friday, Saturday or Sunda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Claremont, in particular your kind words regarding the quality of bedroom design and exceptional service. Our team work hard to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer care and hospitality as possible and will be delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Claremont far exceeded our expectations - we stayed in a "Business Class" room with a sea view as a treat to celebrate a special occasion. Although we live on the Isle of Man, it was great to be able to sit in the comfortable seating area in the bay window of our 2nd floor room to look out at the lovely views of Douglas bay and the promenade gardens. The room actually seemed much bigger in real life than the image on the hotel website (perhaps due to the view?), and we appreciated all the little extras such as the coffee machine, complimentary fruit, free slippers etc etc. Huge well-equipped bathroom, large TV screen, free DVDs to borrow, selection of magazines, all made the room feel more like a 5 star. If you live locally and want to take a loved one out for a special night in Douglas without worrying about taxis home then I recommend the Claremont - but make sure you opt for a Business sea view room. By the way - reading some of the reviews which marked the hotel down for having no aircon in the bedrooms - as a local I can assure visitors that being able to open the windows to let the sea breezes into the room is normally all the "aircon" you would need. 2013 was an exceptionally hot summer. Having recently stayed overnight in 2 UK hotels which had aircon rather than opening windows, I far preferred the fresh air coming in through the Claremont's windows.

Room Tip: If you are staying for leisure and enjoy beautiful views and luxurious touches a Business Class sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanninee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This Hotel underwent refurbishment. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is generally of good standard.

I was not sure that having a Dining Room / Bar was really the best idea, especially as this hotel is created from multiple houses along the promenade all knocked into one. This has meant the dining room is quite large and lacks a certain ambience. Having said that, the food was good and service excellent.

Overall, I would rate this as one of the better hotels in Douglas.

Room Tip: My room was very small, and I would advise any couple staying to avoid the run of these rooms as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anothernightaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We tried to look for 5 star hotel on this island but there was no one, the best we could found was this hotel, but it turned out to be exceptionally good and the service is particularly commendable. I traveled with my family and upon arrival we were immediately upgraded to a big room with a walk-in closet and a fantastic sea view. The breakfast was very good and the diner was even better. The staff are very friendly. We forgot our sons pajama in the hotel and the hotel helped us to sent it back by post in JUST one day. I have been to many hotels around the world, and some of them are even 7 star but THIS ONE is second to none!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagle11london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words regarding the exceptional service and standard of cuisine. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

the hotel is ideally located on the seafront close to the ferry terminal. The downstairs area of the dining room,bar & lounge are very smart &clean. The superb breakfasts &dinners are served by a very polite,cheerful &professional group of waiters &waitresses. The only downside to this stay was room 210 . The room is small,hot [ even with window open &rad off] &overlookstwo brick walls &a set of extractor flues.Give this hotel a visit but avoid room 210

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing