We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as good as it gets on the island- for a business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets on the island- for a business hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel has been recently refurbished and is a good place to stay but tries a little too hard to be modern and cover up its seaside hotel roots. Rooms can vary greatly - some seafront rooms are lovely but also expensive. Other of the rooms to the rear and quite old fashioned but comfortable. Room pricing varies greatly week by week and I have been quoted rates which are £100 different (for the same room) - and this was outside of TT week. The restaurant serves good food but is not cheap. Definitely more of a business expenses kind of place than for a cosy private visit.

Room Tip: Please see main review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you for your kind review of the Claremont. Whilst we offer a variety of accommodation options for our guests, rates can indeed fluctuate from time to time depending on seasonality and rooms available. In all instances we strive to ensure that total customer satisfaction is achieved and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again for your next visit to the Isle of Man and add that if you are a regular visitor, we would be pleased to discuss your individual business requirements if a corporate facility would be beneficial. Many thanks once again and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    122
    53
    11
    3
See reviews for
28
149
10
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I do not think Douglas is the tourist destination that it was, the jet age makes it so much easier to travel the world. Whilst the Isle of Man is beautiful, travellers choices are greatly expanded. Very happy with the service; then much of the hotel itself is a bit 1959, for instance getting an effective hot shower in my room, erratic heating and a fairly bare appearance. On the other hand, the food was excellent – especially if you love seafood as I do, so overall a good job without the resources and attractions of the hotel in, say, New York, Marrakesh or Hong Kong

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words about the high quality of both customer service and cuisine. May we apologise for the heating and hot water issue you also mentioned and assure you that we will look into this to ensure that any system faults are corrected. We hope you re-visit the Isle of Man again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

What a gem in the IOM!

Great location ( walking distance to Douglas centre) friendly and efficient staff with clean, well equipped rooms. Breakfast is good and bar area gorgeous- with lovely views :)

Will return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having never been to the IoM, I wasn't sure what to expect but I was met by a beautiful island. The hotel didn't disappoint either. An amazing bar and restaurant and rooms with the most comfortable beds ever experienced. The food menu was a little complicated so we ended up ordering lots of starters but the quality was fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Likestotravelallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Having read the reviews my wife and I were slightly disappointed by our own experience. We arrived very early and did not exppect our room to be ready, as was the case, and appreciated the assistance of the Receptionist (Kazia) in storing it for us to allow us to explore Douglas.
On return it was Robert who dealt with us and we found his attitude slightly condescending - don't know if that was because our stay was part of a competition prize! On discovering that our room had only one set of towels rather than one each and failing miserably to get any heat in the room I went to Reception. Robert advised me that the heating in the rooms was set to go on at 6pm, even although the corridors and common areas went on earlier! I found that a bit strange, however he did arrange for the timer to be over-ridden (it was very cold in our room). Robert also advised that he would have the towels delivered by the evening maid when she came on duty - no offer of towels until then. I asked about newspapers as I understood that our package included a newspaper - the response being to ask when we were leaving on our check-out day 'as newspapers arrive very late on the island'. I can only assume that weekday newspapers were provided but not Sunday papers as we were only charged for our Sunday paper! We subsequently discovered that the curtains in our room would not close, but I decided to fix that myself!
The room, which was well equipped, was of a good size, the bathroom huge - it even had two wash hand basins! Our room (316) had both bath and shower, slightly surprising in view of the size of the bathroom was that the shower cubicle (triangular in shape) was extremely cramped - larger people would have trouble even getting in never mind showering! The building is a bit of a maze, but is fairly typical of hotels in former terraced properties.
The breakfast (cooked to order) was very good, although I ordered porridge on our first morning and was surprised when my wife's cooked breakfast arrived before mine (she had chosen cereal from the buffet area first). We overcame that on the second day by ordering the porridge at the same time as the tea & toast!
Generally the staff were fine, although only the Receptionist when we were checking out (didn't get her name) came across as particularly friendly and keen to help.
All in all I would expect a bit more from a four star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your extensive review and observations during your stay at the Claremont. Your detailed feedback is of great assistance to us and we will ensure it is also passed on to our team. We hope that you re-visit the Isle of Man soon and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I regularly stay at the Claremont on business and have always enjoyed my visits. It's location is excellent and since it's recent up grade all the rooms are bespoke. The sea view rooms are well worth the extra. All the staff are very courteous and professional and nothing us too much trouble. The cooked breakfast is excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flysaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at the Claremont on a business trip (with family in tow) in August 2013. Room was well laid out for family usage with a lounge area converted to a children's bedroom and a master bedroom with bathroom in between. The room was affected however by the smell of hotel staff smoking below the bedroom windows (which had to be open due to the August heat). The mark of a good hotel however is how they address a problem. The manger listened and was concerned and considerate. As a similar room was not available the manager took steps to ensure the smoking staff were relocated and by way of an apology provided a free bottle of wine with dinner. Dinner was very good, food was excellent, of a high quality, well prepared and attractively served. The layout of the hotel also meant that is was possible to sit in the restaurant and have dinner with a baby monitor to listen to the children asleep upstairs, allowing a child free dinner! Overall Recommended and the IOM is a lovely place to visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your review of the Claremont. We appreciate your feedback and are also pleased that we were able to quickly address the matter you reported, particularly as customer service is of the utmost importance to us. May we also thank you for your kind words about the high standard of accommodation and cuisine and add that we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing