We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here with a young child, the hotel itself is lovely, contemporary and very modern. Breakfast was varied and catered for all, but for us it was the staff who made it, from the housekeeping night attendant to the reception staff and in particular one of the guys on reception 'Alan', so so helpful, pleasant and informative, nothing was too much trouble for him! For me the staff are the strength of this hotel! We have stayed in many hotels round the world, always with pleasant decor but it really is the staff who make or break the experience. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear valued guest, may we firstly thank you for your kind comments about the modern design and facilities at the Claremont, but also your generous words about our team. We recognise that friendly and efficient service greatly enhances any hotel experience and we are delighted to have provided such a high level of customer care during your recent visit. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Ideally situated on the prom facing the ocean and in the middle of perhaps the worst bout of weather we've experienced for sometime.All along the prom hotels and shops had made ready by piling sandbags to protect their livelihood as storms hit.
I'm basically trying to set the scene for my review because the Claremont seemed to have missed all the clues.
The room was excellent clean well designed and all you would expect from a hotel with a four star status -apart from one thing that is, HEAT!
We arrived mid afternoon and the room was freezing so we phoned down to the reception who told us " yes the heating comes on at 6pm, it's on a timer!" We're in the middle of winter I reminded her, we can't be expected to wait three hours surely?
Fortunately a duty manager came up and apologised and left to turn the heating on.
The following day we woke up freezing again no heat.Later on in the day having warmed up by walking along the prom we returned, it was still off.I phoned the reception twice who promised to address the situation but they didn't.So I went down to the desk where luckily the duty manager was around .Gave him the story and he generously turned the heating on and offered us a bottle of wine.
The next morning, no heat again.
Sorry Claremont hotel penny pinching tactics are fine but if you intend to keep your four stars this isn't the way forward.
On the good side the breakfasts were excellent and the staff helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnvaughan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words about our team. Whilst we're pleased to hear that you found the accommodation and restaurant to such a high standard, we apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with the heating. As you mention, at the time of your stay the local weather conditions where exceptionally severe but your room should not have been affected by this. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the breakfast and the excellent service we strive to provide and look forward to welcoming you back to the Claremont on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed in the 'Buisiness club promenade suite'. When we booked we go a deal for this room which included breakfast and a three course meal for £170. We were pleasantly greeted by a smiey receptionist when we arrived who explained everything and showed us to our room. When we walked in, the room was immaculate! Lovely huge bed, beautiful wet room and a stunning sea view. Not to mention all the added extras such as a coffe machine, soap, shoe buffers, free DVD rentals, ironing board and stationary set. The staff were amazing when we called for bath robes they brought them up straight away. We also needed to call to ask for help with the DVD player and they were very helpful and friendly. Even at dinner we felt like the most important people there with their full attention. When we arrived back to our room be found a selection of chocolates that had been left for us! An exellent hotel and experience, couldn't fault anything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollydransfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear valued guest, may we thank you very much indeed for your review of The Claremont. We are absolutely pleased to hear that you had such a lovely experience and all aspects of your stay were met with your utmost approval. Our team work hard to deliver the highest attention to detail and customer service, so we thank you for your kind words and feedback. We will pass this on to the staff. Many thanks and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

stayed for business for 1 night, hotel was warm, clean and the staff were very welcoming.
I started in a single room with large bathroom which would have been perfect but was situated opposite the lift - so noisy, I asked to move, which was done with no problem, the receptionist and manager were very understanding and even checked that lift was going to be used very early in the morning, then moved me to a large family suite apart from the view this would be excellent for a family and we may return as such.
Rooms rather warm,

The dinner was good but rather pricey and heavy handed with capers on the salad. Breakfast was excellent. Again staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: avoid rom by lift,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for the kind review of your stay at the Claremont and in particular your praise regarding the level customer service from our team. We are also delighted that you found your accommodation to such a high standard and enjoyed the facilities on offer. We look forwarded to welcoming you back to the Isle of Man with your family in due course and add that if you wish to contact us in advance we will be pleased to make these arrangements for you. Many thanks and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel has been recently refurbished and is a good place to stay but tries a little too hard to be modern and cover up its seaside hotel roots. Rooms can vary greatly - some seafront rooms are lovely but also expensive. Other of the rooms to the rear and quite old fashioned but comfortable. Room pricing varies greatly week by week and I have been quoted rates which are £100 different (for the same room) - and this was outside of TT week. The restaurant serves good food but is not cheap. Definitely more of a business expenses kind of place than for a cosy private visit.

Room Tip: Please see main review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest, may we thank you for your kind review of the Claremont. Whilst we offer a variety of accommodation options for our guests, rates can indeed fluctuate from time to time depending on seasonality and rooms available. In all instances we strive to ensure that total customer satisfaction is achieved and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again for your next visit to the Isle of Man and add that if you are a regular visitor, we would be pleased to discuss your individual business requirements if a corporate facility would be beneficial. Many thanks once again and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I do not think Douglas is the tourist destination that it was, the jet age makes it so much easier to travel the world. Whilst the Isle of Man is beautiful, travellers choices are greatly expanded. Very happy with the service; then much of the hotel itself is a bit 1959, for instance getting an effective hot shower in my room, erratic heating and a fairly bare appearance. On the other hand, the food was excellent – especially if you love seafood as I do, so overall a good job without the resources and attractions of the hotel in, say, New York, Marrakesh or Hong Kong

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words about the high quality of both customer service and cuisine. May we apologise for the heating and hot water issue you also mentioned and assure you that we will look into this to ensure that any system faults are corrected. We hope you re-visit the Isle of Man again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

What a gem in the IOM!

Great location ( walking distance to Douglas centre) friendly and efficient staff with clean, well equipped rooms. Breakfast is good and bar area gorgeous- with lovely views :)

Will return!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stef_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £100 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing