We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to select your room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try to select your room.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Family wedding. So many good points. Staff. Food. Decor. Location. When you book stress you don't want a room with the air con unit outside the window which runs nearly 24/7. Very annoying.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVIES999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for your review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words regarding standard of service and cuisine. We will investigate the external noise you refer to and ensure this is rectified. May we thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    125
    53
    13
    4
See reviews for
29
154
9
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shotts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The great bits were the staff , the breakfasts & the bathrooms, particularly the shower it was amazing.
The not so great bits were the business class room was very small & claustrophobic & it was not as clean as it could have been.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are nice in good weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank for your helpful feedback and comments, particularly regarding the standard of service, breakfast and also our new luxury en-suite facilities. We are sorry to note that you found your room to be on the small side for your personal preference and add that we will be happy to ensure a larger room is allocated on your next stay. We do have rooms and suites of various dimensions and will be delighted to allocate accordingly. We hope to see you on your next business trip to the Isle of Man. Many thanks and regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed with a colleague at The Claremont Hotel for 2 nights and found the experience to be relatively faultless. Nice big rooms, with good facilities - I had one with a living room attached - so there were 2 tvs. I enjoyed the food, had some nice drinks - and great views of the sea.

No complaints and would recommend for sure :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a short break to the IOM in a Business Club Studio room, rather expensive at £170 per night. The hotel appears to be two or more old seafront houses knocked into one, and our 3rd floor room, after the lift, involved walking along, I think, three corridors (on slightly different levels!) then down a short flight of stairs into a pokey little hallway before the room door -- would be impossible for anyone not too mobile and would be difficult in a fire (although it no doubt conforms to regulations). Nice modern room with a separate lounge area and 2 TVs but the window just looked onto the scruffy blank wall of the next door building, which was offputting. Tried to change the room but was told it was fully booked (although it didn't look busy to me and when we ate in the restaurant (Coast Bar & Brasserie -- see separate review) on the 2nd night it was pretty empty). The bathroom had a large walk-in shower, rather nice, but the water leaked under the glass wall into the sink area, not so nice! Also, there was no bath, although there would have been plenty of room for one -- usually "shower-only" rooms are the cheapies, not the most expensive. And something I find REALLY annoying when it occurs (trivial but it niggles!): there was just one small piece of soap for two people to use in both the sink and shower. We always have a spare so no problem, and no doubt if we'd rung down they would have sent another one, but how mean in a 4* hotel at £170 a pop!! The bar/lounge area next to the lobby was modern and comfortable, but nothing special for a 4* hotel. Breakfast was good, but dinner was pretty average (see separate restaurant review). Overall, for the high room rate, rather an average, forgettable stay -- we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you for your review of the Claremont. We value your feedback and take note of the points you have raised. On the date you stayed with us, I can confirm that all Sea View rooms had been taken and we were unable to offer this upgrade from your chosen room type. Naturally as with any hotel, we have rooms with various view aspects, but regardless of this, we endeavour to provide excellent business class accommodation, with rooms of varying sizes, locations and tariffs to suit all our guests preferences. Should you stay with us again, we will be happy to discuss and address any personal requirements prior to your arrival to ensure we meet your full expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 6 till the10 of March Robert at check in made us feel very welcomed we asked could we upgrade as we were celebrating our 30 wedding anniversary, there was no prob he couldn't have been any nicer.Room was lovely the bathroom was huge the staff overall were the best (excellent ) I will go back and will let my family and friends know about this gem of a hotel.also I would like to thank Faye the bar girl and Allen the night porter for making us feel so welcomed. Thanks again to Robert we had a fantastic stay with you all

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you for your kind review of the Claremont. We are delighted to hear about your excellent stay with us, particularly your kind words about our staff and Robert in particular. We will certainly share your comments with our team and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man. May we congratulate you both on such a special anniversary and thank you for choosing the Claremont for your celebrations. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

A colleague and I stayed at the Claremont for a night whilst on a business trip. We had the regular rooms without the sea view! We only had a brick wall to look at! The room size was good and it was clean. The staff were polite and accommodating. The breakfast was good with a lot of options. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babam85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Claremont is a pretty friendly place which has spent a fair amount over the last couple of years upgrading most (all ?) of the rooms. It has some lovely bay window upgraded rooms overlooking the Irish Sea which are better than some of the supposedly better quality rooms without a view. The bar is mostly empty but OK and to me the restaurant is underrated by many on the Island. It's the best business option for all these reasons and it's slightly cloaser than others to the Government and business district.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lovely bay window upgraded rooms overlooking the Irish Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your review of The Claremont and in particular your kind comments about our bespoke 'Business Club' accommodation. We are also delighted that you found the service and general facilities to such a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next business trip to the Isle of Man. Many thanks and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing