We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Location and superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Location and superb staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent a week at this lovely hotel and were delighted to be upgraded to a sea view room No 112. It was a lovely room and a superb business box with cellotape, scissors, paper clips, stapler etc - all those things you always need but never pack. We packed our days and consequently slept well despite the late night party goers and the early morning traffic noise because we kept the windows open. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception or dining room staff. Hotel is easy walk from Ferry terminal. £2.70p on service from Airport to outside hotel or £20 taxi ride from airport

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms are less noisy if you are a light sleeper and there in fine weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    114
    52
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
143
9
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Claremont Hotel during this years TT races. Everything about our experience was first class. The hotel is beautiful and in the best location but better still are the staff. Every member of the team was professional, friendly and full of information to make our stay perfect. We were ideally located at the heart of all the TT celebrations with everything in walking distance. An amazing time was had by all and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna20chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you for your review and in particular your very kind words about the high standard of customer service from our team. We were delighted to accommodate your group during this years TT festival and are also pleased that our promenade location at the heart of Douglas provided you with such an ideal base to see the Island. We look forward to seeing you at next years TT event. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
243 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I can't say enough about the Claremont. While it was a bit of a splurge compared to the other stops on our trip, it was perfectly located right on the waterfront promenade of Douglas. The building is an old Victorian yet very nicely restored.

The rooms are huge - and reminded me of an old turn of the century (last one) apartment with Bay windows overlooking the sea. The bathroom was equally large. The bed was also quite comfortable. The heat was steam (again, very old school) which was great except that it wasn't as easy to control. The walls (well, more the ceiling) was a little thin, but if you ever lived in a vintage apartment building, you can easily look past it. The place is really just charming overall. And you definitely need a sea view room. We even got to see a few of the old horse-drawn trolley cars go by.

We got in a little late, so just ate at the restaurant (which was a fine choice) and also had breakfast there in the morning.

I would agree with others that parking is a bit of a challenge - but if you get there after hours, there is ample parking out front and you can set the dial for 10 when you will need to move it 2 blocks down the road by the ferry terminal where parking is reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you for your detailed review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words regarding the design, high standard of cuisine and our central location. We note your feedback regarding parking and add that our front desk staff can always offer advice and assistance with this. There are many parking locations in the local area as well as the free parking that is available immediately adjacent to the property. We will be pleased to assist with this should you visit us again. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We traveled here from the U.S. for the TT Motorcycle races. We had a lovely stay in a nice room that was clean despite our constant comings and goings. The staff was very friendly, always helpful, and shared many stories and suggestions for around town activities. They also shared many race day tips! The only suggestion we would make is for air conditioning or some sort of cooling units to be installed. We understood that heat doesn't generally cause an issue in this area but a couple of days we were here it got a bit stuffy. The restaurant was always very accommodating and the food is delicious! We enjoyed the continental breakfast and how the staff understood and accommodated what seemed to be everyone's needs to be in and out quickly (race days were very hectic!). We highly recommend staying here if you are coming to the Isle! If you are coming for race weeks you better book a year in advance :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am writing this on behalf of my Dad who stayed at The Claremont on a recent visit to the Island with his wife.

Firstly my Dad commented on how fantastic the hotel looks and what a transformation from the last time he stayed as a result of the recent refurbishment. He said the Sea View room was absolutely fantastic with everything he could possibly need. He mentioned how helpful all the staff where and that the breakfast was the best he has had, cooked to order rather than a “help yourself” buffet type.

My Dad always stays at the Sefton when he comes to visit but he said after this weekend he will not be staying there again and it will be The Claremont every time from here on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sir, may we thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on behalf of your father. We are delighted that he found the Claremont and the adjoining Coast Bar and Brasserie to such a high standard. Please pass on our sincere thanks for these kind words and we look forward to the opportunity to host your family again. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here in May on a four day bargain break and found it most enjoyable. Rarely do we find that so much meets or exceeds our expectations. It would be almost perfect if it only had a dedicated car park. Unfortunately parking is on the street and only available for two hours without return for another two hours etc. fortunately the traffic warden only works between 8am and 6 pm so it was possible to negotiate an overnight stop outside yo arriving no earlier than 4pm and changing the disc in the morning to give up to 10 am if required.
We were fortunate in securing a room facing the promenade and sea front not only because of the excellent view, but because these rooms have already undergone an expensive refurbishment. It is refreshing to find an hotel that allows generous space in bedrooms and the en suite also between dining tables without trying to squeeze in extra earning capacity. Our bedroom (112 ) was a good size with a very large bed and two sizeable leather armchairs either side of the bay window. This is one room where you will never be searching for an extra electric socket. We have never seen so many in an hotel room. The same goes for lighting - there were decorative,functional and mood lights for all sorts of effects. Most acceptably, the decorative light on the bedside tables, was not all you had to read by in bed, but there was a very practical flexible reading light on a stalk also, on either side of the bed. The bathroom had a full sized bath, toilet,and a large. shower /wet area with a huge efficient ceiling rose as well as a hand held movable spray. There were also twin wash basins- truly home from home.
The restaurant was good and the staff most pleasant and efficient, especially Eva the restaurant supervisor who could not have been more helpful. The menu which changes every six weeks (and changed while we ere there ) was interesting and varied enough for most tastes. Our first evening my husband had such a delicious steak that he choose it again on another of our four nights and my Sea Bass was excellent with crispy skin and melt in the mouth flesh. Unfortunately Sunday evening's meal did not match this standard. We had duck legs that seemed overcooked and reheated but Sunday evening is their least busy time and I suspect that the duty chef then is not their main one.
The breakfast menu and buffet were excellent -but beware the delicious fruit smoothie is made with double cream! I had never before tried avocado and marmite toast but I shall now be making it myself at home !

Room Tip: We were in room 112 which is in the front of the hotel and is pone of the rooms that has been refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you very much for your comprehensive review of your stay with us at the Claremont. Your acknowledgement of our attention to detail and bedroom design is most appreciated and we are delighted that we met with your high personal standards. We hope to welcome you back to the Claremont in the near future. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant male receptionist who gave us our room number, but no guidance as to where it was located we were just pointed to the stairs and lift. In the lift there was no obvious information as to which floor the rooms were on so we had to lug a heavy suitcase up a maze of narrow corridors and stairs until we found the room we were allocated. The room was a good size but both windows faced a grotty white painted brick wall, also there was a big downside a noisy aircon unit or something humming loud and continually 24/7 not able to sleep well for the first two nights. The downstairs areas were very clean and tidy, modern and minimalistic, but soulless. Some plants or flowers around the place especially in the reception and the lounge areas might help. The food left a bit to be desired, for a four star hotel we felt the food would be of a higher standard, some of the food was not cooked to well. There seemed to be an atmosphere amongst the waiting staff in the dinning area, but the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our overall experience was good but not exceptional. The hotel enjoys a nice seafront location on the promenade just right for an evening stroll. This was our first visit to the IOM would we return to the IOM ? YES definitely, but to the Claremont ? we think not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from aircon units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjandva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear valued guest, we thank you for your recent visit and review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words about our staff. We are, however, sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay that you feel we could improve upon and naturally we will investigate the points you have raised and address as necessary. We very much appreciate your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to host you again. Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing