We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Star, but in context warrants 4”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Last night I stayed here but tonight I'm at the Gatwick Sofitel. Both 4 star but the immediate comparison is obvious. Whilst the staff are very well trained at the Claremont the refurb is more cosmetic. One has to also put this into context of the IOM. They don't do new-builds and air-conditioning is unheard of, although would have been good this week. Probably the best I've stayed at in the IOM but practically I smile when I have to get out of bed to reach the bedside light switch! The IOM is a step back in time so one should allow for this but for a regular traveller don't expect this to compare with global city 4 stars. At least tonight I can turn off my lights without getting out of bed!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mike_Lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited the Claremont with the specific objective of visiting the historic railways on the island. We went with some good friends of ours and we decided that we did not need a tour manager and this we planned the trip ourselves.
The hotel provided the Heritage Passes for us so that we had unlimited travel on all forms of transport on the island which worked out very well.
The hotel also accommodated the inclusion of our granddaughter by providing a room with an additional bed.
The rooms were very comfortable and the food at breakfast and dinner was to a high standard. The restaurant also were very flexible in providing meals to suit the gastronomic requirements of our granddaughter.
A very enjoyable stay which will encourage us to return to the island and the hotel.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor is best overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian_pg_white65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear guest, we are delighted to have hosted your friends and family and pleased that you enjoyed the excellent Manx Heritage inclusive package that we offer. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the high standard of service and local cuisine in our adjoining brasserie restaurant 'Coast' and it is also pleasing to note that we were able to cater for your granddaughter's individual tastes also. We are delighted that you found everything to your absolute satisfaction and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming your family back to the Isle of Man for any future visits. Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent a week at this lovely hotel and were delighted to be upgraded to a sea view room No 112. It was a lovely room and a superb business box with cellotape, scissors, paper clips, stapler etc - all those things you always need but never pack. We packed our days and consequently slept well despite the late night party goers and the early morning traffic noise because we kept the windows open. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception or dining room staff. Hotel is easy walk from Ferry terminal. £2.70p on service from Airport to outside hotel or £20 taxi ride from airport

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms are less noisy if you are a light sleeper and there in fine weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Claremont Hotel during this years TT races. Everything about our experience was first class. The hotel is beautiful and in the best location but better still are the staff. Every member of the team was professional, friendly and full of information to make our stay perfect. We were ideally located at the heart of all the TT celebrations with everything in walking distance. An amazing time was had by all and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna20chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest, may we thank you for your review and in particular your very kind words about the high standard of customer service from our team. We were delighted to accommodate your group during this years TT festival and are also pleased that our promenade location at the heart of Douglas provided you with such an ideal base to see the Island. We look forward to seeing you at next years TT event. Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I can't say enough about the Claremont. While it was a bit of a splurge compared to the other stops on our trip, it was perfectly located right on the waterfront promenade of Douglas. The building is an old Victorian yet very nicely restored.

The rooms are huge - and reminded me of an old turn of the century (last one) apartment with Bay windows overlooking the sea. The bathroom was equally large. The bed was also quite comfortable. The heat was steam (again, very old school) which was great except that it wasn't as easy to control. The walls (well, more the ceiling) was a little thin, but if you ever lived in a vintage apartment building, you can easily look past it. The place is really just charming overall. And you definitely need a sea view room. We even got to see a few of the old horse-drawn trolley cars go by.

We got in a little late, so just ate at the restaurant (which was a fine choice) and also had breakfast there in the morning.

I would agree with others that parking is a bit of a challenge - but if you get there after hours, there is ample parking out front and you can set the dial for 10 when you will need to move it 2 blocks down the road by the ferry terminal where parking is reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest, may we thank you for your detailed review of the Claremont and in particular your kind words regarding the design, high standard of cuisine and our central location. We note your feedback regarding parking and add that our front desk staff can always offer advice and assistance with this. There are many parking locations in the local area as well as the free parking that is available immediately adjacent to the property. We will be pleased to assist with this should you visit us again. Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We traveled here from the U.S. for the TT Motorcycle races. We had a lovely stay in a nice room that was clean despite our constant comings and goings. The staff was very friendly, always helpful, and shared many stories and suggestions for around town activities. They also shared many race day tips! The only suggestion we would make is for air conditioning or some sort of cooling units to be installed. We understood that heat doesn't generally cause an issue in this area but a couple of days we were here it got a bit stuffy. The restaurant was always very accommodating and the food is delicious! We enjoyed the continental breakfast and how the staff understood and accommodated what seemed to be everyone's needs to be in and out quickly (race days were very hectic!). We highly recommend staying here if you are coming to the Isle! If you are coming for race weeks you better book a year in advance :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am writing this on behalf of my Dad who stayed at The Claremont on a recent visit to the Island with his wife.

Firstly my Dad commented on how fantastic the hotel looks and what a transformation from the last time he stayed as a result of the recent refurbishment. He said the Sea View room was absolutely fantastic with everything he could possibly need. He mentioned how helpful all the staff where and that the breakfast was the best he has had, cooked to order rather than a “help yourself” buffet type.

My Dad always stays at the Sefton when he comes to visit but he said after this weekend he will not be staying there again and it will be The Claremont every time from here on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wadster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Sir, may we thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on behalf of your father. We are delighted that he found the Claremont and the adjoining Coast Bar and Brasserie to such a high standard. Please pass on our sincere thanks for these kind words and we look forward to the opportunity to host your family again. Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
1 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: 18-22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £90 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing