We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely hotel .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Upminster, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very homely hotel .”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel from the 12th till 15th october and found the staff and the quality of our room exceptional . A very comfortable hotel with a warm welcome , absolutely very good value .
No hesitation on returning .

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the bay offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    99
    36
    25
    25
See reviews for
29
136
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Spent five days at the Chesterhouse hotel October 2012 went with shearings holidays. From start to finnish a very good holiday. Our room made the holiday first floor sea view room plenty of room good facilities and clean. The room and all of the hotel was very warm. The buffet breakfast and evening meal was excellent good hot food on hot plates other hotels could take notice of the way food was presented. entertainment on three nights was very good and just long enough so people could have a drink and chat before retiring. All together well worth a visit very reasonable price for for our trip to the Isle of Man will be visiting again and will use the Chesterhouse Hotel again. We recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for room 118 lovely sea view room made our holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fittonmanchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Just returned from a stay here with Shearings. The hotel was in a perfect location and has the most friendly and helpful staff. The room, although on the small side was very clean and in very good condition.

The restaurant was really nice and the buffet breakfast and dinner food was beautifully cooked with a good variety.

The only black mark was the requested early call for the departure did not happen. We can can only assume it was a one off hiccup.

Thank you to all the staff for a very nice experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steamhead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Chesterhouse, been refurbished to a good standard, restaurant meals big portions and lovely. room phones did not work which was a problem. Room was a large seaview, no complaints, staff very friendly and attentive, wine at £17 a bottle much too much for this standard of hotel. Would return if we had same rooms.

Room Tip: Get an exececutive room which is bigger and usually sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights when on business......pity it was Grand Prix week, as a complete rip-off for an old tired hotel. I will never return and would advise any potential residents to take the time to look for somewhere else to stay while on this lovely island!

Check-in was ok, no wait and friendly staff. Room was on first floor at top of very narrow stairs and next to noisy fire door. Room was tiny considering I paid £120 a night, but had high ceilings to lessen the cramped feeling. Two single beds pushed together, two bedside cabinets, a study desk and chair - hardly any remaining space to walk or use ironing board. Tiny cupboard for clothes. Toilet was the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel, WC, sink and shower, just enough space to dry-off. View from large window was roofs/backs of adjacent buildings and kitchen ventilation equipment and pipes. Curtains just about closed and kept light out. Reasonable bedding, with well-used white towels left on top of bed (why do hotels do that so naff).

Having to leave the hotel at 7am due to fire alarm......possibly burnt toast.....was a shock to system!!!

Buffet Breakfast was very good and very attentive staff.

Free wi-fi was a good added extra, but had to sit in a drab reception area. Hotel is close to Ferry Port and main shops/restaurants in Douglas.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank WhenAreWeThere!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We would like to apologise once again for the fire alarm. As you suggest, our staff are very attentive and strive to create the best possible stay for all of our guests. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, but pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, attentive service and the central location. Your feedback has been taken on board so that we may improve your experience in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I was redirected to this hotel from the sister hotel, the Rutland, due to a mix up in booking. I asked if there was WiFi in the room and I was told that there was. On arrival I was given a single room which had peeling wallpaper, a large damp patch in one corner of the ceiling, and NO WIFI! I was told that there was only WiFi in the common areas. Result? I had to make Skype calls late in the evening in the lobby area surrounded by a fascinated coach party of pensioners from Wales. Ideal! The breakfast buffet is not good. Crusty fried eggs swimming in fat, canned mushrooms overcooked bacon and cheap, cheap sausages. Add a "take it or leave it" attitude from management and this is one to avoid.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of the Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay with us and are particularly concerned that you were unhappy with the service, which we take the utmost care in delivering. This hotel does have free Wi-Fi and whilst it is strongest in the public areas, this facility is also available in guest bedrooms. We can only assume that on the date of your stay your room did not have a signal and we will look into this. May we thank you for your other constructive feedback and offer our apologies that we did not meet your satisfaction. We note the points you have raised and will address these as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I booked this hotel last minute,and I booked it without checking the reviews(something I wouldnt normally do).So after reading the reviews,I thought oh dear what are we going too.I neednt have worried.It was ideal for us,we were given an upgrade to a seaview room free of charge so far so good.The room was fine clean excellent view the only downside was the size of the bed.It certainly wasnt a double and was very uncomfortable,didnt have one good nights sleep unfortunatly.That was the only downside for us though because everything else was fine breakfasts were great,staff were always polite and friendly and the price for our 3night stay was a bonus and yes we would use this hotel again if the price was as good again.

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
356 reviews
8.8 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 17 in Douglas
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Property: The Chesterhouse Hotel
Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing