We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bloody horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“bloody horrible”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The worst hotel i have ever stopped in it was dirty, no hot water so having cold showers, the light was broken, the tap spun round when you went to turn it on. The management and staff not very friendly. No air conditioning so very warm and stuffy...

Room Tip: none of the rooms, dont bother............................
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piglet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We take all feedback on board as it is of the utmost importance to us that our high standard of facilities are available to all guests, and that our service is friendly and our staff efficent and approachable. We especially apologise regarding the hot water; this was an unfortunate mechanical problem which was attended to with great urgency and was fully resolved within a few hours of coming to our attention. We would politely ask that you contact the hotel directly to discuss the additional points that you raise, as we dispute that any of our accommodation has anything less than the highest standards of cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    92
    33
    25
    24
See reviews for
28
127
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We ended up at this hotel simply because it was all that had availability when we booked our trip to the fabulous TT this year.

The hotel is made up of several old buildings knocked into one which results in what feels like hundreds of fire doors interlinking everywhere. Our visited started with a miserable greeting from a snotty receptionist, then began the hunt for our room was at the back of the hotel. Long and narrow with 2 very small beds, a dressing table you couldn't sit at because the wardrobe was in front of it and a long thin bathroom with the window facing a brick wall. The bathroom was so narrow that we couldn't both be in it at the same time!

We arrived around 7pm-ish and wanted to freshen up before heading out but the shower was freezing. When I called reception I was told it was because the hotel had run out of hot water and I would have to wait until the morning. Fast forward to the morning and the water was still freezing so I let it run for 10 mins before it became warm enough to get under - and then unbelievably it became so hot we couldn't stand under it!

Breakfast is a self service buffet style with all the usual that you would expect, most of which was cold and what staff were around to serve tea and coffee were surly.

Location wise, it's perfect for exploring Douglas and is pretty centrally placed along the promenade.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We have a range of rooms available some of which are smaller than others. Naturally during TT week bedrooms at all hotels are at a premium. All guest feedback is of the utmost importance to us, as it allows us to continually improve and as such we pride ourselves on offering excellent service. We have particularly noted your comments regarding our staff and apologise once again regarding the hot water. This was an unfortunate mechanical problem which was attended to with great urgency and was fully resolved within a few hours of coming to our attention. We are glad you enjoyed the central promenade location of the hotel and hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to The Chesterhouse on your next trip to the Isle of Man TT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Once again I experienced the showerhead in the sky. a fixed object 7ft above the floor, my privates are about 3ft above the floor, so no way can I spray my nether region unless I walked up the shower wall using my feet and bracing my back against the shower wall until I reached the appropriate height, a task not advised for a seventy-one year old? Why fixed showerheads and not flexible hose types? And why should I have to apply to the reception if I want a non-slip mat for the shower, something that should be in the shower area as standard as a matter of safety? And no Wi-Fi in the rooms only the main public area. all this after a hotel make over?

Room Tip: 314 is at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 442Ronniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. All of our bathrooms are fitted to the same high standards, which does include overhead showers, and our shower cubicles/baths contain anti-slip surfaces. We do not provide anti-slip mats as standard but are happy to provide these if required. Unfortunately on the weekend of your stay there were some problems with the WiFi; these issues have been resolved. We hope to see you again at The Chesterhouse Hotel. If you would like to contact us prior to your arrival with any specific requirements we will be happy to accommodate these as much as possible to ensure that you have a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Recently stayed in the Chesterhouse Hotel in Douglas Isle of Man. The family room we had was lovely. We had a front facing room which overlooked the bay of Douglas with a king size bed and a bed settee. The hotel staff were lovely and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean and the breakfast was very good a good mix of cereal, fruit and cooked. The hotel is situated near to the ferry terminal and very handy for Douglas town centre. Would recommend :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

we have stayed in this hotel twice now when go to the darts comps in douglas and have enjoyed my stay each time. both times i have stayed has been very busy and there has always been staff on hand to help in any way we needed. the location is great,right on the sea front and within a two min walk of the shops.the only food i have experienced in the hotel is the breakfast and it has been v tasty.the bedroom was spacious and well heated. have seen a few other hotels close by that friends have stayed in,and although the others may be more modern,they did not have the warm friendly feeling that i got in the chesterhouse

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are glad to have reopened for the 2013 season and are delighted that as some of our first guests this year that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really value our professional yet friendly service and are glad that you do too. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

just stayed 5 days at chesterhouse with shearings. from start to finish the holiday was first class. the staff in hotel can not do enough to help you. the food. top class. from breakfast the selection better than you get abroad any day and you get to chose what you want not brought to you. to the evening meal well the choice again fantastic... all well cooked. and no complaints from anyone i spoke to. in fact no one had any thing to complain about.... this was my 5th vist and going back in april... my thanks to every one at chesterhouse for making it a brillant holiday. we dont vist the isle of man for the weather,, but for the experince of the friendly people... and the warm welcome... thanks to Shri and Elaine and George..Sue and Carole in restaurant.... if you want a trip to remember try this wonderful island and this hotel.... and enjoy....the manx experince......

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. It is very kind of you to recognise the hard work which all of our staff put in to make sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Your feedback will be passed on to Shri, Elaine, George, Sue and Carole. We take pride in delivering fantastic food and friendly service and hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel the rooms very warm and comfortable and clean, food was exceptional plenty of choice for either breakfast or evening meal,the staff we found to be very helpful we stayed here for 5 nights with KM coaches, its the 1st time we have visited the Isle of Man and it will not be the last what a treasure we have on our shores, can now see why so many people come here to visit the only downside we had that we came in October next time we come will be in the main holiday season as there tourist attractions finish end of September.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Property: The Chesterhouse Hotel
Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing