We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby dive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Don't stay here full stop I think this is a terrible hotel, especially if you want to actually sleep.

The hotel is a Victorian building on the prom in Douglas. The first impression in the loby is a fairly well decored hotel, but once the lift doors open this is where it ends. The lift barely big enough for one person and a suitcase arrives in to a corridor again barely big enough for a person and a suitcase! There are internal fire doors nearly every 30 foot making navigating any part of the floors difficult. There is certainly no wheelchair access here and could be difficult for anybody with any sort of mobility needs.

The hotel has a nightclub in the basement, at weekends it pounds out loud heavy bass until nearly 1
2am – a relaxing sleep is not guaranteed and makes a mockery of the name Sleepwell, despite a reasonably comfortable bed and clean linen. The bass pounds through the floors, walking along the first floor corridor some of the vibrations make things rattle, and in my room on floor two the thumping could still be heard. I have no idea what the hotel is trying to achieve by this hidious error, which also just seems to attract drunks in the street. When at 11.45pm I complained to the reception about the noise I was told it was a private function and they rarely opened the nightclub, but the next night it was just the same so I think this was a fib. The walls between the rooms are thin and you could hear snooring, talking and from above people thumping around.

The room I had, 201 was at the rear of the hotel on floor two. Cleaning of the room was questionable with cobwebs around the corners of the bedroom ceiling, which were not cleaned at all during my 3 night stay despite asking the reception to inform housekeeping. The bathroom had seen better days with bits of the shower controls missing, and the general cleaning around the window and paintwork poor. The shower curtain pole was rusty and one day they changed the curtain for no apparent reason but didn't actually clip it on. There were basic toiletries supplied which was unexpected. The curtains were grubby and water stained.

Plenty of wall sockets in the room to charge up phones etc, and a reasonable TV set and plenty of instant coffee / tea supplied.

Breakfast was reasonable but finished at 9am making a weekend sleep in a little impossible, especially after being kept up half the night from the terrible din from the nightclub.

It appears the general clientle are pensioners coach holidays, so there are various lists stuck up on a cork board in the lobby and one night a dodgy keyboard player performed in the bar area. He couldn't sing and most people had vacated the bar to reception area sofas.

The hotel only has a wifi connection in the reception area which works when it feels like it.

Security doesn't seem to be taken very seriously as on my first return to the hotel after dropping my bags I saw a different receptionist who I was a stranger too and he just gave over the key no questions.

The theatre is a 5 minute walk away, and the shopping centre is behind the hotel. The sea is directly across the road, and the horse drawn trams pass by outside.

I do not think this hotel deserves the 3* rating probably more 1*.

Room Tip: look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 504gld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. Guest feedback is really important to us, and we try to take all comments on board so that we may improve the experience of our guests. We apologise that you experienced some noise disturbance; we do rarely open the bar you refer to except for occasional private functions. We are happy to clarify for guests prior to their stay as to whether a private function will be occurring during their time with us and can always allocate rooms away from this area if there is any concern. In our view, our rooms are anything less than extremely clean but upon your feedabck we have made extra checks to the room you mention to be sure of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just got back from a three day motorcycling break on this fabulous island. This hotel was the only thing that put a dampener on our otherwise fantastic trip. On arrival, found that parking is restricted to two hours, despite being assured on booking that there was 'ample parking opposite the hotel'. my pal had to keep moving the van to avoid a £60 fine. When I mentioned this to the sales manager (who must have attended Mimi Maguire's charm school) she remarked that 'we do have parking, you didn't ask for how long you could park' - lovely! Not. Great start.
The hotel had no hot water, the rooms were very small and too hot, the hotel corridors are tiny, claustraphobic with countless fire doors, (think Fawltey Towers) and the view, well the view was something else - i'll upload a couple of pics, (possibly the most depressing view i ever saw from a hotel window) if you can see through all the faecal matter that the pigeons left on my window (two of them are in my pics, they make a lovely couple)
My understanding is that the hotel caters for coach trips and have a contract with Shearings which may explain their complacency when it comes to individual bookings? I will never return to this hotel. It didn't ruin our break but put a bit of a downer on what was an otherwise awesome biking trip.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gixxer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We take all feedback on board as it is of the utmost importance to us that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay. We sincerely apologise regarding the temporary lack of hot water on one day which was due to a mechanical problem which was attended to with great urgency and fully resolved within a few hours of coming to our attention. We also offer our apologies for any misunderstanding regarding the parking arrangements, the council ‘disc’ parking operates during the day when most guests are out, but is completely unrestricted after 5pm. We would hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man, and would encourage you to call us to discuss your specific room requirements (such as a sea view room), prior to your arrival to the hotel, to ensure your stay with us is as enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is our first time to the TT and we were so lucky to have scored a room with this hotel despite not checking till late February. I must commend Kaye, the manager at the booking office who helped us secure our booking, answered numerous questions about IOM, even arranged for transportation tickets for us to pick up when we arrived, saving us so much time and trouble. True, the rooms had no AC, but nobody expected it to be so warm the week of the TT races-this is the Isle of Man after all! The kind young lady Mary Jane at the reception searched for a fan for us and even took it to our rooms. We found the staff to be knowledgeable in terms of logistics of arriving at the race fan zones as well as very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and included, a very convenient way to start our day. Breakfast wait staff very kind. We appreciate the location of this hotel on the promenade, close to everything. We enjoyed the fresh sea breeze and the view the moment we stepped out on front steps of hotel. Would be delighted to stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank McChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the TT. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our knowledgeable, friendly staff; we have passed on your feedback to Kaye and Mary Jane, and we hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just returned from a 4 day stay at the Chesterhouse Hotel and after reading all the negative review about it on Tripadvisor we were a bit apprehensive about what our stay was going to be like.
We were pleasantly surprised because from the moment we booked in till we departed it was a most pleasant experience. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room although being a bit on the small side was spotlessly clean and had all amenities, kettle, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, shower, we got fresh linen every day and ample supplies of tea coffee, milk and biscuits - more than we ever got in the Hilton or Marriot.
It must be taken into consideration that this is an old Victorian building that has been adapted so it is not perfect or up to 5 star standards so one must be prepared to expect minor shortcomings but the advantages outweighed its shortcomings.
The food was excellent and cooked to perfection. Waitresses were very pleasant and efficient, everyone was friendly and cheerful and made our stay very enjoyable.
As for pigeon cooing, seagulls squalking and crows cawing in the early hours - well this is the seaside and these are to be expected but the Isle of Man is a beautiful island and Douglas has so much unspoilt beauty and charm that outweighs any of these annoyances.
Also perfect for fitness fanatics - we went for early morning runs along the prom first thing in the morning without any disturbance from traffic.
We would definitely stay at Chesterhouse again.

Room Tip: All hotels have advantages and disadvantages but the Chesterhouse's advantages outweigh its disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly that you enjoyed our friendly, efficient service; we are proud of our staff and facilities and work hard to ensure our guests have a perfect stay on the island. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The worst hotel i have ever stopped in it was dirty, no hot water so having cold showers, the light was broken, the tap spun round when you went to turn it on. The management and staff not very friendly. No air conditioning so very warm and stuffy...

Room Tip: none of the rooms, dont bother............................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank piglet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We take all feedback on board as it is of the utmost importance to us that our high standard of facilities are available to all guests, and that our service is friendly and our staff efficent and approachable. We especially apologise regarding the hot water; this was an unfortunate mechanical problem which was attended to with great urgency and was fully resolved within a few hours of coming to our attention. We would politely ask that you contact the hotel directly to discuss the additional points that you raise, as we dispute that any of our accommodation has anything less than the highest standards of cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We ended up at this hotel simply because it was all that had availability when we booked our trip to the fabulous TT this year.

The hotel is made up of several old buildings knocked into one which results in what feels like hundreds of fire doors interlinking everywhere. Our visited started with a miserable greeting from a snotty receptionist, then began the hunt for our room was at the back of the hotel. Long and narrow with 2 very small beds, a dressing table you couldn't sit at because the wardrobe was in front of it and a long thin bathroom with the window facing a brick wall. The bathroom was so narrow that we couldn't both be in it at the same time!

We arrived around 7pm-ish and wanted to freshen up before heading out but the shower was freezing. When I called reception I was told it was because the hotel had run out of hot water and I would have to wait until the morning. Fast forward to the morning and the water was still freezing so I let it run for 10 mins before it became warm enough to get under - and then unbelievably it became so hot we couldn't stand under it!

Breakfast is a self service buffet style with all the usual that you would expect, most of which was cold and what staff were around to serve tea and coffee were surly.

Location wise, it's perfect for exploring Douglas and is pretty centrally placed along the promenade.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We have a range of rooms available some of which are smaller than others. Naturally during TT week bedrooms at all hotels are at a premium. All guest feedback is of the utmost importance to us, as it allows us to continually improve and as such we pride ourselves on offering excellent service. We have particularly noted your comments regarding our staff and apologise once again regarding the hot water. This was an unfortunate mechanical problem which was attended to with great urgency and was fully resolved within a few hours of coming to our attention. We are glad you enjoyed the central promenade location of the hotel and hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to The Chesterhouse on your next trip to the Isle of Man TT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Once again I experienced the showerhead in the sky. a fixed object 7ft above the floor, my privates are about 3ft above the floor, so no way can I spray my nether region unless I walked up the shower wall using my feet and bracing my back against the shower wall until I reached the appropriate height, a task not advised for a seventy-one year old? Why fixed showerheads and not flexible hose types? And why should I have to apply to the reception if I want a non-slip mat for the shower, something that should be in the shower area as standard as a matter of safety? And no Wi-Fi in the rooms only the main public area. all this after a hotel make over?

Room Tip: 314 is at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 442Ronniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. All of our bathrooms are fitted to the same high standards, which does include overhead showers, and our shower cubicles/baths contain anti-slip surfaces. We do not provide anti-slip mats as standard but are happy to provide these if required. Unfortunately on the weekend of your stay there were some problems with the WiFi; these issues have been resolved. We hope to see you again at The Chesterhouse Hotel. If you would like to contact us prior to your arrival with any specific requirements we will be happy to accommodate these as much as possible to ensure that you have a comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £66 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing