We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four excellent night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
london
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“four excellent night”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

first of all the staff are excent peter the manager ashley aron and chief and of course casha
yes it service and friendly apprecitate is excellent
yes the hotel is old but work as been done on the refurishment a centre postion for douglas tours shopping well done keep up the good work i would like to see the history of the sllep less group of it other hotels in douglas well done tony mbe

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review of the Chesterhouse Hotel. We will pass on your kind words to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    97
    35
    25
    25
See reviews for
29
133
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Staffordhshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here with Shearings for 7 nights. Unfortunately, on arrival, we were told there was no room allocation for us, because Shearings had omitted to put us on the guest list.The lady on the reception, think her name is Casha, worked very had to find a room for us, first offering a room like a shoe box, which we refused, then a larger room but the only thing to see from the window was a brick wall, so we refused this. Eventually after a lot of juggling on her part, and it has to be said the problem had been caused by Shearings not the Hotel, she found us a nice room on the front, with a fantastic views of the promenade and the sea. When we went in to dinner, they presented us with a complimentary glass of wine, which was very thoughtful and much appreciated.
The food at the hotel is very plain, but beautifully cooked, plenty of it, and always served with a smile.
The location is very good, buses, trains, horse drawn carriage all within easy reach, as is the theatre and very good shopping at the back of the hotel
The standard rooms I saw, I thought were poor, very small with dreadful views.
Beware if your disabled, there is a lift, but you could have a long walk to your room, through lots of doors after you alight
The entertainment while we were there was not good, but Brendan did a good show, nice voice and very talented guitar playing
Although the dining room is fairly large, the lounge area is not big enough to seat guests who wish to sit a chat. There is a miserable room they call a Library, which could be better utilized as a second lounge, but it would need a facelift.
There is also Jaks nightclub a little way down the road, so the kids coming out at all hours can be noisy
The best thing about this hotel is undoubtedley the staff, pleasant, helpful, courteous and very efficient
Would be stay again, dont think so

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel, in particular your kind words regarding the quality of the service you received. Our team work hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible, so I will pass on your comments. We take on board your feedback regarding several other areas of the hotel; we are always looking to improve in order to provide the best experience for our guests possible. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Chesterhouse Hotel in Douglas recently. I wanted to publicly thank the staff for superb service and a wonderful stay. I particularly wanted to mention the exemplary customer service offered. After a problem we had with hot water in the room on our first night - we were immediately offered a new room (which was absolutely wonderful). All staff were friendly, courteous and made us most welcome throughout our stay.

We want to send our sincere thanks to the hotel manageress and her staff for helping us to have a perfect Isle of Man mini-break. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea view sunrise over Douglas Bay is exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callaghan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review of the hotel, and in particular your kind comments regarding the exceptional standard of service you received. Our team works hard to provide the most relaxing stay possible for our guests, and we have passed on your kind comments to them. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Reviewer Ray got this one right. One to avoid. The heavy metal disco practice disturbed our evening meal and the staff seemed oblivious to the thumping bass at dinner. Then on till about midnight on our last (ever) night at the Chesterhouse. Douglas has definitely gone downhill with major hotel closures. On a positive note, the quality of the food was above our expectations, the housekeeping is OK but overall not much else to recommend it.

Room Tip: first floor bay windows at northern end are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. In order that we can improve and deliver as high a standard of service as possible, we aim to address all feedback and as such, we thank you for your comments. We apologise if you experienced any noise disturbance on this particular day and we take on board your feedback regarding our evening entertainment, which is designed to cater for a wide range of guests. Thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding the high standard of catering, which are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
wombourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel was right on sea front but sadly we had a room with no view at rear of hotel. It was a very clean and tidy but small room with a very tiny en-suite but again very clean. The food was very good and plenty of choice. It was self service but always staff on hand to assist. Entertainment at night was good but as weather so hot we went out at night and enjoyed the resort of Douglas. All staff very pleasant and helpful and cases taken to and from rooms was a nice touch. the hotel does need some upgrading and air conditioning in rooms would have been of benefit with the small room and windows that only opened a little. Would stay there again but now know which rooms to avoid.

Room Tip: Lift not very large so rooms on a lower level would be good and check room size as some very small w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodluckgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Let's start with the 2 stars - the breakfast is great and the rooms were clean. However - the room is cramped so that even the built-in wardrobe door only opened half way before banging against the bed side cabinet. Had to leave the bathroom door open when washing to lessen the feeling of claustrophobia. Delightful view of four exterior walls and a fire escape. Had to pass through 7 doors between reception and our room - strong on fire precautions. Douglas has the loudest gulls ever which communicate all night. We stayed 4 nights on a tour. For two of those nights we were disturbed by the recently opened hotel disco blaring out noise (music it was not) until 1 a.m. and beyond. Even if it was not the hotel's disco there is another club next door whose clientele spread out along the promenade merry-making all night. One night there was a fight outside, very audible from our room. The evening meal is buffet style. The first evening the restaurant was full, and we waited 30 minutes before going to search for a free table ourselves - there was no one designated to look after those of us who were waiting.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We take all feedback very seriously, and aim to follow up on any issues raised to ensure that we continue to improve the experience of our guests. The hotel has a variety of different-sized rooms available; whilst some are smaller than others we offer the same level of comfort in all of our rooms. We are happy to accommodate specific requests and would encourage you to contact us prior to your visit so that we may discuss your individual requirements. We apologise if you experienced any noise disturbance, but thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding hotel cleanliness and breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break in the Chesterhouse Hotel and would like to thank them everything was excellant room on the front, breakfast, staff were very helpfull and we purchaced the evening meal aswell and found it very good value for money all round very enjoyable well done.

Room Tip: room 124 overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrywillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and wanted to thank you for your kind comments regarding our food, location and friendly staff. We take pride in offering an informal and friendly service to ensure your stay is as relaxed as possible. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Property: The Chesterhouse Hotel
Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing