We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear: a case of a room with no view...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Oh dear: a case of a room with no view...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having read other reviews for this place, perhaps I should have known better than to go here! Am at a loss to read that other reviewers said that the beds were comfortable and that they had a good night's sleep - well, all I can say is that we were VERY unlucky in that case!! (Not a good start, I'm afraid) They should really reconsider adding the 'Sleepwell' name is all I'm saying. There were 2 pillows each but they were so inflexible with no 'give' in them.

We had a 'standard' double (£150 for 2 nights) - hmm... The room was quite small, jaded, and in need of some serious TLC! As to the bathroom - good job I didn't take a cat with us as there was no room in the bathroom to swing it!!. One reviewer said that you could almost wash your hands while sitting on the loo - well, he wasn't joking... the shower leaked, the water was tepid both mornings in the shower and the cold tap on the sink produced hot water unless you ran it for a few minutes! The smallness was a problem: thankfully I don't have any mobility problems (well, not yet) as there was very little space in which to move...

As to the bedroom, well, it was very tired in appearance, and the 2 chairs provided were scuffed and dirty in appearance. And as to the view - well, all I will say is that our view was a wall, fire escape and pigeon sleeping quarters... nice. Yes I am sure that there are rooms with a view at the front of the hotel, but I imagine that you would have to pay extra for a view...

As the hotel is made up of several buildings, the whole layout was odd with seemingly only 1 main staircase down (which was quite steep) and only 1 lift which was very slow to arrive but extremely quick to close its door on you! As to fire doors - and I am sure that the hotel is up to code on this - we had to go through 6 to get to our room and the connecting passageways were so narrow you had to walk in single file down them: if 2 of you tried to move in unison, it ended in a collision... I shan't even go into the issue of a very nasty smell in the last but one section of all these closed-off sections of passageways...it did go in the end though.We were asked by an elderly fellow guest this morning if we had a big room - our reply produced a dissatisfied 'if my wife was here, she wouldn't be happy..' Nuff said.

I am aware that I am being extremely negative here, which is not like me as I always aim to give a very fair and balanced review, so to redress the balance I will say that breakfast was very good and hot (though the plates were red hot and the serving spoons would do better if kept out of the range of heating lamps etc) and the staff friendly and welcoming.

The actual location was good being right on the front - it's just a shame that we only saw it when downstairs and the parking is free - ah, yes, the parking: it is free which is great, but if you are out for a few hours you will be hard-pushed to find a space near the hotel on your return, til about 5pm when spaces start to re-appear. This time: would NOT recommend

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view, then stay here but if not, either stump up for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trotty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear valued guest, firstly allow us to thank you for your visit to the Chesterhouse Hotel and for your review. We are very sorry that there were parts of your stay that you felt we could have improved on. I would only add that the standard room as you had opted to book is our smallest room type at this hotel and advertised / priced as such. We do of course have far larger rooms and also rooms with a sea view and we would have been happy to have accommodated your preference for either, should you have booked this in advance or optionally given us the opportunity to do so upon your arrival. I will investigate the other issues you have raised and whilst these certainly seem out of character for this hotel, they will be addressed as appropriate. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    97
    35
    25
    25
See reviews for
29
133
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just returned from a coach trip by Kettlewells of Retford, had a great time, apart from one rainy day. Very well situated hotel, rooms, food etc very good. Only problem is the noise from a pub across the alleyway from them, only affects the rooms facing it which are on the side of the hotel. The Staff are all very good and nothing too much trouble. Look forward to next time

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from pub next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was at the Chesterhouse Hotel for 5 days as part of a coach party, the Hotel is a bright and homely.
yes the bed was a small double but being a single occupant it was not a problem, and the group of hotels it is part of has an apt name sleepwell that was commented on by everyone on the coach how they all had a good nights sleep
The staff was friendly and the reception, catering and housekeepers did all I asked of them, one man was not well and the service the staff offered to him was above and beyond their job roles.
there was a good choice of food and plenty of it, with flexible dining times, so I would recommend the hotel to everyone I know

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

During our four night stay we were looked after very well.
The staff are attentive, ever helpful and very friendly: Not a sour face to be seen.
The food was plentiful well cooked and very tasty, not cordon blue but then neither were the prices. Good plain cooking, just like Mum's.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The twin beds gave us a good nights rest.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Chesterhouse and will stay there again when in Douglas.
Thanks to all the staff for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Front rooms have an excellent sea view. Side rooms less so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your kind review of the Chesterhouse, in particular your very kind words about our staff. We are also happy to hear that you found both the rooms and the food to your liking and we hope to welcome you back on any future trip to Douglas. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked hotel on Monday night through booking.com for a 1 night stay on Wednesday .. £49.00 for a double room with breakfast.

Yes the bed was a small double , but was fine and very comfortable.

Great friendly staff and breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spikydu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked a double room for me and the missus. Beware. Our room, 107, and I suspect the other rooms at the back of the hotel, the bed is not a double. I would describe it as a large single. We barely slept a wink as it was so small and we kept on elbowing each other etc.

Bathroom was tiny. The sink was placed such that it was right in front of the loo, and you needed a pretty strong flow in order to reach the loo. Sitting down was no better, you've got this sink on your chest.

Tbf, was as cheap as chips, but they still should provide bed as advertised.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooking the prom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Froggitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit and review of the Chesterhouse. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the type of stay that we strive to deliver. We appreciate your feedback and take all your comments on board to investigate the issues you have raised, we can confirm however that the bed referred to is a standard double in size. Should you return to Douglas, we would like the opportunity to host you again and will of course allocate a room to suit any individual requirements or requests. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
U.S.A. / ENGLAND.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

One star for Vicki for meeting my wife's special request. One for Peter the manager greeting us on the coach with our keys and a warm welcome. One for the rest of the staff, cheerful and willing. One for the general cleanliness, and one for the central seafront position. All in all a very good value holiday break. Would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonaxthec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
344 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Property: The Chesterhouse Hotel
Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing