We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rutland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
US$182
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
US$148
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
US$149
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
132
154
57
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
154
57
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself servicecoach tripgb toursnational holidayscoach partysteep stepsisle of mansea viewmeal timesevening mealtiny liftbuffet stylerecommend this hotelsea frontrabbit warrenwalking difficultieshalf board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I am sorry to say that we were not pleased with our stay, we were very disapionted with the breakfast, for a number of reasons, the toasted were a nightmare, the cooked breakfast over all was poor, There was no roomsevice and no link to reception, as our phone in the room was not working, (we were told you were haveing tecincal difficaltys for 5 day i think not) we book for a room for three people althought the bed setee was made up, the tea and coffee facilities were only for 2, 4 tea bags 2 coffee and 1 pack of biscuits, and the bathroom was the same for 2 people, although the bedlinen and the room was clean, I did notice that behind the bedside cabenit there was a good amount of fluff and someones nails, not good, Satufday night was very noisey with children runing wild and a couple haveing a fight out side our room, i can see that these things were out of your control as you can not see everywhere but if we could have had contact with reception, something could have been done, I could go on as the overall expereince was disapionting,the Hotel looked tiered, We did report to reception about the lack of phone service, But to say the receptionist cared, I dont think so, The only posative feedback was the rest of the staff were very pleasant and help full, My personal view of the hotel it is run on a very tight budget and it shows.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. The cleanliness and excellence of our facilities are very important to us and we endeavour to ensure that the highest standards are met at all times. We have taken your comments on board for investigation, but do assure you that with regards to the technical difficulties experienced with the internal telephone network we were unfortunately experiencing issues with the main switchboard that have taken time to rectify, but this was in hand during your stay. We apologise again for this inconvenience and hope it did adversely affect your stay too much. May we thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff which we will pass on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I recently stayed here for the second time. We had a sea facing room which was recently refurbished, very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a quiet bar area with entertainment available during the week when coach parties arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel was very clean and tidy,friendly staff in all areas, our room was on the 4 floor and overlooked the bay, the breakfast was very good with lots to choose from,the parking outside the hotel is free, its only 5 mins away from the port we would use this hotel again next time we go A1 TO AL

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petertolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have marked this review as an overall of 3 for several reasons:
1) The very noisy lichen fans. We were on the 4th floor above the kitchens and the fans come on approximately 2 hours before meal times. This means thay if guests (coach parties) are going out on the 8:15 am Ferry, the fans kick in between 4 & 5 a. All well and good if you are one of the guests going home, but not a good experience for guests staying on and hoping for some quiet time. The noise is not only confined to the bedrooms in the 2 wings over the kitchen area as fellow guests in other non-sea view rooms also advised they could hear the fans!
2)There is a wall at the back of the hotel at least as high and very close, this stops the air from really cooling the rooms and even though we had 3 windows, we still needed the room fan
3) The hotel has a lift but it is incredibly small, it holds 3 average sized guests or 2 if they are not! At peak times guests need to be prepared for long waits or to use the stairs. The stairs are narrow and steep. I used them more times that I would have preferred.
4) The front entrance of the hotel is 9 steps and no ramp so is not suitable for anybody with mobility problems.
I would strongly advise people to try and upgrade to a front sea view room as these did not appear to be affected by the noise of the fans. Also all if the other rooms gave no view whatsoever. It is akin to living in a back to back tenement block.
On the plus side, the rooms are large and spacious, plenty of drawers and a wardrobe. A good hair dryer. Nice bathroom (only sea view rooms have a bath, all others have only a shower) the shower is very good. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Products are provided and the towels are brilliant white and clean, as is bedding. Plenty of complimentary tea/coffee/milk.
Breakfast was very good, toasters are challenging (but this was in part due to guests 'messing up the settings')
Evening meals were okay, sometimes a bit bland, we only ever had cold sweets. Tea/coffee was unreliable in strength. The rables and chairs were very close and this caused issues.
The staff were all very polite and helpful.
Thr location is splendid. I was part of a coach tour and would try to avoid this hotel in future unless I was able to upgrade to a sea view room.
I've mentioned it before but it is worth reiterating, the lift is not fit for purpose given the size of the hotel and Thr spread of rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your review of the Rutland Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed in aspects of your stay with us. We appreciate that some of our rooms do not have a sea view, but we do our best to allocate these rooms to guests who may otherwise not have booked them, should this be possible. We will look in to the fan noise that you refer to, as this may be a maintenance issue. Unfortunately due to the original Victorian design of the property we do not have mobility access at the front of the hotel and refer to this on the hotel website. We do, however, provide non-slip steps and guide rails to the entrance for those who may require this. Thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding the facilities, catering & hotel cleanliness which are most appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the Rutland Hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Rutland is very easy to find and overlooks the sea. Its an older hotel but well looked after. The room that we had was nice and airy (we had possibly the only balcony which helped to cool the room down) and very clean and comfortable. The reception staff were excellent, nothing was too much bother for them and help us to find the information that we needed about the practice Grand Prix (which we missed due to it being cancelled because of a car parked in the wrong place - you know who you are....). We didnt have an evening meal in the hotel but the breakfasts were lovely and once again the breakfast room staff were very helpful. The bar was quiet but very comfortable and had a nice feel about it. The only point I would ask the hotel to change is that the glass shower screen had no marker on it and was difficult to see and twice I caught my elbow on it not realising it was as close as it was.
The horse drawn trams were fascinating and saved a long walk along the promenade and we took great delight in checking the names of the horses!! This was my first trip to the IOM and found the people to be very friendly and laid back. I wished we had been able to stay longer!!! Definately will go back to the IOM and back to the Rutland.

Room Tip: Beautiful sea views
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northumberlandsandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews