We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a let down”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

we had a very small room overlooking the kitchen. Hotel was very clean however the food lacked imagination. The hotel was overbooked but the guests staying elsewhere eat in the hotel. The dining room was very small and cramped we were shoulder to shoulder. Except for the soup all other food had to be queued for at a school canteen style self service. While the food was tasty it was the cheapest of meals and nowhere did we feel that we were in a three star hotel. The tourist board should look again at this hotels rating. No one in our party rated it any higher than one star.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    141
    48
    20
    10
See reviews for
38
153
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had a large room at the back of the hotel looking down to the kitchen roof with the fans . The room had been updated and was OK, beds comfortable and clean.Corner shower in the en suite very small. We left the en suite window open at night for fresh air as we found the kitchen fans etc early in the morning noisy, we had a 2nd floor room. The big disapointment was the food, how can you make Moussaka without Aubergine? You can't it was like yet another cottage pie!! The Desert menu needs more imagination too, Instant Whip (different flavours) every night,gateau, and Fresh fruit salad, oh for a hot pudding of some kind!! One good thing WI Fi worked perfectly in our room.Hotel full with coach trips.

Room Tip: High up although the lift is only smallish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some of the food served to you during your stay. Although our menu varies and we aim to cater for all different tastes, we are constantly looking to improve our restaurant offering and so welcome your feedback, which we have taken on board. We hope to welcome you back to The Rutland Hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loddiswell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel is very well situated in the middle of the promenade. The room we had was looking in to the well of the hotel.( windows looked into the middle, with other rooms looking into it as well.) The room was very large, with 5ft bed, a sofa bed with a good bath room.(Possible family room) The fans to the hotel are noisy and, the room was very hot, we could not get enough ventilation. The room was clean. I don't know what they could do but, they did not have a lounge to speak of. Only the room for the entertainment, not somewhere togo to relax and read a book or paper and, a settee and two chairs in the reception area. The breakfast was really good, enough to set you up for the day. The evening meal was good , but nothing to get excited about. We went out for the last meal as we wanted to celebrate our anniversary. The staff where very helpful. I would stay here again if we go back to I of M, but in a different room.

Room Tip: The room no: was 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venessa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Room and ensuite spacious, clean and well serviced daily.
Still having technical problems with telephones so not available.
Corridors and room remain oppressively hot and our room was disturbed by the noise from the now famous kitchen extractor fan - this noise radically affected my sleep pattern in this "Sleepwell" hotel and may have produced a more jaundiced view of the hotel than normal. Low rating for the room based on heat and disturbance and not on size and servicing.
The lift remains small - fortunately for us, although we might be considered elderly by some, we were able to manage the stairs and find our way through the labyrinth of corridors to our room.
The Bar - we did venture into the bar on the first evening, but when they could not produce a glass of orange and lemonade for the non-alcoholic member of our party, we decided to give it a miss.
The dining room. I have seen from past reviews that members of staff have not been very attentive. On the occasion of our stay, you could hardly put a utensil down before the plate was whisked away. Tea and coffee, which I usually expect after dessert, were plonked on the table, sometimes before the main course was finished. This engendered a feeling of being rushed and certainly did not encourage guests to linger over a meal. Sorry staff - it can be difficult to get the right balance.
The dining room was not large enough for the numbers being catered for. People were disturbed whilst eating, so that someone else could pass on their way to the self service queue. And queue it certainly was. There was no flexibility in meal times, so when a large party came down for a meal at the same time, it felt a little like a school meal queue in the olden days.
Meals - we were not informed about the full choice for breakfast until the 5th day of our stay.
Peas and carrots were served at every evening meal, with another boiled vegetable as variation. Please ask the chef to be a little more adventurous with the type and method of cooking of his vegetables.
I did fill in a feedback form and handed it to reception staff on the 5th day of my visit.
I don't know if it was coincidence, but I had mentioned the need for investment in better toast making equipment. On the following 2 days, toast was produced by the kitchen staff - so not totally reliant on the toasters.

Perhaps my feedback form will have the same effect with regard to the heat and kitchen extractor fan. Ever hopeful

Let me say I enjoyed my holiday in the Isle of Man, using the various forms of transport to see different parts of the island, and hope to return - probably not to this hotel.

Room Tip: I think noise traffic is preferable to an extractor fan, so would ask for a room with sea view. At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingwhiterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the service that you received in our dining room and bar. We endeavour to make our guests' stays as comfortable as possible, and to respond to feedback through positive actions and improvement, as you suggest. At times our dining room can become quite busy, and we aim to provide an efficient meal service, although without rushing our diners. We apologise that you were unhappy with your experience. In terms of the food served, we aim to provide delicious food everyday and have taken on board your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

my wife and i visited the isle of man &stayed at the rutland for a short break to celebrate our pearl wedding anniversary we booked a sea view room which was very clean and comfortable the staff at all levels were polite and helpful the breakfast was of good quality with plenty of options on our next visit to the island i would not hesitate to book the rutland again a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: sea views very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevec333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Rutland Hotel recently,we upgraded our room to a sea front room which was very pleasant,very clean and very comfortable.The breakfast was ok,would be great to have fresh mushrooms,not tinned,but on the whole very tasty.The location was perfect,The staff were very helpful and i would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: A sea front room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I am sorry to say that we were not pleased with our stay, we were very disapionted with the breakfast, for a number of reasons, the toasted were a nightmare, the cooked breakfast over all was poor, There was no roomsevice and no link to reception, as our phone in the room was not working, (we were told you were haveing tecincal difficaltys for 5 day i think not) we book for a room for three people althought the bed setee was made up, the tea and coffee facilities were only for 2, 4 tea bags 2 coffee and 1 pack of biscuits, and the bathroom was the same for 2 people, although the bedlinen and the room was clean, I did notice that behind the bedside cabenit there was a good amount of fluff and someones nails, not good, Satufday night was very noisey with children runing wild and a couple haveing a fight out side our room, i can see that these things were out of your control as you can not see everywhere but if we could have had contact with reception, something could have been done, I could go on as the overall expereince was disapionting,the Hotel looked tiered, We did report to reception about the lack of phone service, But to say the receptionist cared, I dont think so, The only posative feedback was the rest of the staff were very pleasant and help full, My personal view of the hotel it is run on a very tight budget and it shows.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. The cleanliness and excellence of our facilities are very important to us and we endeavour to ensure that the highest standards are met at all times. We have taken your comments on board for investigation, but do assure you that with regards to the technical difficulties experienced with the internal telephone network we were unfortunately experiencing issues with the main switchboard that have taken time to rectify, but this was in hand during your stay. We apologise again for this inconvenience and hope it did adversely affect your stay too much. May we thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff which we will pass on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 17 in Douglas
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: Rutland 19 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing