We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny weekend in Isle of Man”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last weekend with Newmarket. Lovely hotel, good food, sea view, very clean. Only snag was one tiny lift and we got lost several times using the stairs. Hotel was full, but everything was very well organised. Would recommend to anyone contemplating a holiday in IOM.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just back from a coach trip with Glenton to I.O.M. Really impressed with this hotel. Unfortunately our room did not have a sea view but this did not spoil our stay. The room was clean, spacious and of a high standard. We were very impressed with how organised the arrangements were for meal times. The staff in the dining room were very pleasant, efficient and attentive.The food was delicious and compliments must be given to the Chef. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely welcome.... There were some issues with the booking from our agent which were quickly efficiently dealt with. The rooms have all recently been refurbished to a high standard and are large bright and airy. The view from the front rooms has to rate amongst the best in Douglas, you can see all along the bay and out to sea. The prom is just outside and the main attractions and facilities are easy to reach. The food was always well cooked, well presented, hot and delicious. A good choice at all mealtimes with a self service carvery. As always, it is the staff who really make a good hotel experience. They were excellent in all areas and the Manager was the epitomy of efficiency and friendliness. This is a very well managed hotel and a superb base to have a wonderful holiday in the Isle of Man. I would definitely stay at The Rutland again should I return to the Island

Room Tip: Front rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel, in particular, your kind comments about the high standard of facilities, dining and service provided. Our team work hard to provide the best experience possible for our guests, so we will pass on your kind comments to them. We hope to see you again on your next visit to The Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just come back from a weekend here, we had a room with a sea view really nice room, the breakfast's were good as were the meal's the staff were very friendly & helpful nothing was too much trouble for them, good location for all attraction's we had a great time would book this hotel again if we visited the island, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinker691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are proud of our modern facilities and the level of service that our team provides. We hope to see you again on your next visit to The Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Visited the IOM for first time with friend who had not been for 30 years, had a great time, hotel is in a great location, within a short walk from the electric railway and a horse tram stop over the road, upgraded to large room with sea view, lovely,clean, great bathroom, friendly staff. Breakfast great and good choice, evening meal get in early as we like to eat later and often run out of our first choice. Overall great hotel that we will use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our first visit to the Isle Of Man, we arrived at 10.30pm in pouring rain, but it didnt take long to walk to the hotel from the ferry port. The greeting was warm and friendly and we were soon in our room for a nice cup of tea. We awoke to the sound and view of the sea then down to a help yourself full English Breakfast, very tasty and it set you up for the day. On the second day I had IOM Kippers at an extra £2.00, but it was a solitary Kipper and overcooked and very dry. The bar was quiet with only another person in besides our selves and he was watching big brother, so it was early to bed. The Rutland has been renovated to a high standard and the room was very clean and comfortable. It is in a very central location within easy walking distance to Douglas town centre the Steam and Electric Railways with the Horse drawn Tram stopping outside. A coach party arrived on our third day, but that didn't interupt our stay as we had finished brealfast before the started theirs. Summary if it wasn't for the Kippers I would have rated it Excellent.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cannondale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel and in particular your kind comments regarding the high standard of the room and recent renovation. Our guests' enjoyment is really important to us and as such we have taken on board your feedback regarding your breakfast and hope to see you again on your next visit to Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I normally visit the Isle of Man during TT or Manx Grand Prix, but we needed a relaxing break in August and decided that the Island was the place. We booked the Rutland Hotel and were extremely happy with our choice. It's position on the seafront offers convenience for both the Electric Railway and central Douglas (a stroll along the prom or a trip on the horse tram), without the noise and parking issues of hotels nearer the sea terminal.

Our Executive Double Room with en-suite and sea view was exceptional value (booked through booking.com). Sadly, the price during the race season, is out of our reach! The room was clean and a fan was available - for us it was nice to be able to open the window overnight and hear the sea, preferable to the drone of air conditioning! There was ample choice for breakfast, and the dinner menu was good for the money. True, the hotel caters for coach parties, but the times are displayed when they will be taking breakfast and dinner, so the tip is to avoid these times! We found the staff to be always on hand and efficient.

Points to note about the hotel - the lift IS very small and the stairs are narrow (but it is a Victorian hotel!) There are also a number of steps up to the hotel from pavement level, which require care particularly in rainy weather.

Points to note about the island - buy the Island Explorer tickets, and take your National Trust cards with you, and always remember to say Hello to the Fairies.

Room Tip: Would recommend a sea view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Sylvia,
Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel and in particular your kind comments regarding the standard of service and the facilities. We are proud of our team and the modern, clean facilities that we offer. We take on board your feedback regarding the lift and hope to see you again on your next visit to Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 16 in Douglas
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 16 in Douglas
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 16 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 16 in Douglas
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 16 in Douglas
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: Rutland 19 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £67 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing