We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach tour with GB Tours”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our first experiences of a coach tour, so not sure of what to expect we found our stay at the Rutland a really pleasant experience. Keys were given to us in the coach which saved hanging around. After going straight to our room, which was a sea front view and was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean we freshened up and had our meal. there were 3 choices to pick from with plenty of veg. Also 3 sweets to choose from. Breakfast was also buffet style so we could pick as little or as much as we liked.
I The entertainment was very good but we found that as soon as that stopped the bar staff promptly left (10pm). One did serve our drinks at five past ten and she pointed out that if we wanted any more then the night reception would oblige. This made her late going off duty but she always had a smile for the customers. Thank you.
This break was to celebrate our 37th wedding aniversary as my husband had undergone serious surgery when we should have celebrated it, so the carnations and chocolates were a lovely personal touch as was the card. It is a holiday we won't forget. If we get the chance to come to the Isle of Man again would definately stay at the Rutland, would hope not to get room 205 as when other people are leaving early we were woken at 5 by the fire door outside being constantly banged.

Room Tip: Second floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frannie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear valued guest, we are so delighted to hear about your experience at The Rutland and we are particularly pleased that we could host you for such a special celebration! We appreciate all your feedback and will pass on your kind words to our team. May we thank you again for staying with us and sharing with us your comments. Should you return the Isle of Man, we look forward to the opportunity to host you again. Many thanks and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first visit to the Isle of Man which my wife and I thought was great and may not be our last. The Rutland Hotel provided us with an excellent room and the meals prepared to a very high standard which we both enjoyed and all the staff were polite and helpfull and did everything they could to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at The Rutland Hotel for 4 nights recently on a coach trip and had a very enjoyable stay. We were issued with our room keys on the coach, (so no milling about in reception), and our cases were taken up to our rooms. The room we had been allocated had been recently refurbished and was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom and shower were spotless. The meals were all buffet style and were excellent with a choice of three menus every night and the breakfast was also very filling and was enough to keep you going all day!
We found all the employees from the Manager and reception staff right through to the cleaners to be very friendly and efficient and we had no complaints whatsoever during our break. The hotel is situated on the Central Promenade about a 25 minute stroll on the seafont from the shopping area and we would have no hesitation returning if were to visit the island again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisLLandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear valued guest, we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel and found everything to your high personal standards. In particular, may we thank you for your kind words about our team as we strive to deliver pleasant and memorable service to all our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again should you return to the Isle of Man in the future. Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Superb Hotel. No problems at all. All the staff were helpfull. Nothing was to much trouble for the waiting on staff in the dining area. Our room had a wonderfull view. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom excellent. Just one downer. The Lift!! Only carries 3 People so you might be in a queue. We were on the 4th floor. OOPS !!
We travelled in the middle of march and found that most things were closed. Laxey.The horse drawn trams. Electric Railway. All closed so beware. But we enjoyed ourselves. We had many a brisk enjoyable walk along Douglas Prom and a wonderfull steam train ride to Port Erin.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denjomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your review and in particular your kind words about our staff. We strive to deliver the highest possible standards in customer service and will be sure to pass this feedback on to our team. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a wonderful short break in the IOM. Hotel was great, food was good, plenty of choice especially at breakfast, put on weight, Room was lovely, no view but very clean, mattress and pillows were comfy. Would certainly visit again. Loved the fresh cut flowers and it was nice when the staff waited outside to wave the coach off.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aries1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We travelled on a long weekend coach trip and all of our party found the hotel very clean.
All of the staff were very helpful all of the time nothing to much trouble for them. Lots of the rooms not much to see from windows as our room, we had a view which looked out over other rooms but did not worry us. Room at front looked over the sea.
Twin bed were very comfortable.
Only thing not very good one lift which was very small and if on forth floor and you not very nimble sometimes had long wait.
Both my wife and myself enjoyed our stay we are in {our 80s}

Room Tip: twin room was very good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear valued guest, may we thank you very much for your review of our hotel, in particular your kind words about our staff. We're also very happy that you found the rooms clean and the bed comfortable during your stay. We'd love to welcome you back to The Rutland for any future visits. Many thanks and kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

our first visit to isle of man, fantastic, we had a great time, rooms, food staff all great, the only thing we complained about was that the entertainment on the friday and the monday was not long enough, both night the entertainment was only for 2 hours, none on the saturday, me and my friends 11 in total in my party like to enjoy ourselveswhen we have our holidays,excuse for 2 hourple in hotel wanted to retire to bed early, holidays are for enjoying not sleeping, the managment should take note that the majority of the holiday makers are there for enjoyment, please book your entertainment for longer than 2 hours, the entertainment we had was outstanding but not enough uf it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear valued guest, we're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at The Rutland and enjoyed the quality of catering, service and entertainment. We apologise that the live entertainment finished earlier than you would have particularly liked it to and will pass this feedback on to our team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 16 in Douglas
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 16 in Douglas
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 16 in Douglas
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 16 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 16 in Douglas
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: Rutland 19 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £67 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing