We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to check into in The Isle of Man” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Where to check into in The Isle of Man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great Hotel, comfortable, good food, friendly staff and very convenient location - even the weather was good. Full marks for value for money. I would not hesitate to stay there again if I needed accommodation in the Isle of Man.

Room Tip: Ask/pay for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    126
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
35
142
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bierun, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were staying in Rutland holtel in early April this year. From the very first minute,we were treated to excellent service.Fantastic friendly and extremely helpfull staff made us feel very welcome. Restaurant crew was very attentive constantly inquiring if things were ok and if we needed something. The place is cosy and fantasticly organised! Massive thank you to the housekeeping team for making our room spotless clean every day! We felt very well looked after. we have to say that we had a good comparison of at least 10 hotels in the Isle of Man in the last few years and Rytland is the one to back to! We'll be back next season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Domina221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you very much for your kind review of the Rutland, in particular your kind words about the cleanliness of the hotel and the service of our staff. We strive to have the highest level of customer service, we're pleased that this was up to your high personal standards. Looking forward to seeing you back next season! Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My son and I where staying at the Rutland hotel for the sleepwell isle of man junior cycling tour
I can only say that the Rutland Hotel is the best hotel we have stayed at for the price
The room ( twin beds ) was a lovely size and my son loved the shower after he had finished his race
The staff are very attentive and extremely helpful
A special mention to Agata Stawna ( operations manager ) who was invaluable and we can only Thank her personally for all her help
We had a great stay and I can't speak any higher of the Rutland if you paid me
Thank You to all the staff at the hotel

Room Tip: 416 for the twin room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your kind words about the Rutland and in particular the staff. We are delighted to hear that you had such an exceptional stay and we will of course pass on your nice note to Agata. We look forward to hosting you on any future visits to the the Isle of Man. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

From the efficient handling of the baggage of a whole coachload of us, to the staff's charming farewell on our departure (they waved us off and, when we u-turned, were still there to wave us off again - boy, were they pleased to see us go... ha, ha!!), the Rutland Hotel gave their all. Comfortable, pleasant rooms. Good food - buffet style - lovely roasts (carved in generous portions), as much veg as you want, salad starters, choice of nice desserts. We were impressed with the quality of the food and, most importantly, it was hot enough (so often not the case, especially when catering for coaches). Well done chef and kitchen/serving staff. In fact, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Good nights' sleep. Entertainment very good - above all by Brendan McLoughlin (sorry if I have misspelt the name), who we enjoyed on two nights, due to one of the entertainers being off sick, and John Lee (good fun - very entertaining). Brendan has a lovely voice and is ace on the guitar, in addition to being warm and friendly, chatting to his audience and creating a great atmosphere. Any niggles...? Well, the bar was often unattended in the evening, but I assume the bar staff had other jobs to cover, so maybe that's the reason . Then there's the lift... maximum 3 people, so, at times, you'd have to wait if you were unable to use the stairs. The Rutland is also a little bit of a walk from the centre. Fine for us, but probably a bit of a problem for some elderly people with walking difficulties. Other than that, we would highly recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EtoileSanderstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you very much for your kind review of the Rutland, in particular your kind words about the service of our staff. We're so pleased that you had a nice holiday experience, and we're so happy that we could be a part of it. We hope to see you again on any future visits to Douglas. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here from Monday to Friday as part of a coach tour. Our room (112) was clean and spacious, but also warm so we needed windows open. The problem was we were immediately above the entrance and smoking area and there was some late night noise plus traffic from the main road outside. It seemed everywhere in the hotel was warm!

Food was basic but a good choice and tasty although I personally found that roasts were overdone, as I like my meat rare, but understand the necessity of catering for the majority.

Staff were friendly & helpful.

Would I stay again? Probably yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you for your review of the Rutland and also say that we very much appreciate your feedback. We take on board the issues that you have raised and will investigate this. We hope for the opportunity to host you again at the Rutland. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked the Rutland at the last minute, and we were pleasantly surpirsed to be upgraded to a larger double room with a sea view. The staff were plesant, but the barman was runing out the door at about 10pm leaving the bar unmaned and no mention of how we could get another drink if we wanted one.
The breakfast was self services and I would recomend tryign to arrive before the large coach parties. The usual full English was availble on the self service bain maries, but the fruit juices tasted watered down and bacon was rather salty for my taste.
All said and done we would stay here agian it was a good base, clean and tidy although I would take a tin of WD40 to oil the fire door on the first floor adjacent to our room. ;-)

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Rutland on a GB Tours holiday for 4 nights from 16th April. This was our second visit to the hotel. A thorough restoration had taken place since last year and the decor was excellent. Our room [104] was an executive suite and was excellent in every way. We looked forward to our meals every day and thought them to be excellent. The staff were very efficient and our room was kept immaculate. The hotel is very conveniently placed along the front.I can thoroughly recommend the Rutland and we look forward to another visit.
Paul & Pat Hope. Shrewsbury.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 104 on the front overlooking the bay. There was no traffic noise. An excellent cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you very much for your kind review of the Rutland, in particular your kind words about the rooms and food. We hope to see you again on any future visits to Douglas. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.8 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: Rutland 19 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing