We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a stay whilst visiting the Manx Classic GP, we were lucky and had a front facing room, with plenty of windows to open so we didn't suffer from the hot rooms some other people complain about.
The staff were very friendly as were all of the local people we met, and helpful.
The breakfast was good and this was enough to keep us going all day, we did have a meal in the restaurant one evening and this was a filling meal, although if you wanted to pay more there were plenty of other restaurants.
We didn't try the bar as we went elsewhere, I would say that it is maybe geared towards older guests, having watched the staff wave off the coach parties on their last day, although with the amount of stairs to be climbed I'm surprised it is popular with them.
But having a relation competing in the newcomers event we were not in a lot, and so were very satisfied with the room we had and the very spacious bathroom.
Would consider staying again when we come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, so you get the decent windows to open, due to the heat in the rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    140
    46
    20
    10
See reviews for
36
153
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from the Isle of Man Classic GP event, where we stayed for three nights at the Rutland. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. However, we paid extra for an "Executive" room with a sea view. There was nothing "executive" about this room , as together with the whole hotel, it had a tired feel. In addition, the lounge / bar downstairs is dreadful, and whilst televisions were in situ, the trips of elderly guests wanted these kept off, so we were forced to leave the hotel and look for something with a little more "life". This hotel is used by elderly people's coach trips and this must be taken into consideration when booking as whilst my wife and I are in our late 50's, we would want something a little more lively. This is hotel is not cheap, and I must say, we expected much more than what we got in booking an "executive" room. In essence a reasonable stay, but we wont be returning !....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit to The Rutland. While we're happy to hear that you found the staff helpful, we are sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay that you felt could be improved. Should you return to the Isle of Man we hope we to welcome you again. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Isle Of Man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Rutland Hotel.
We stayed 1 night for our Anniversary.
When we arrived in our room there was roses, bubbly,a balloon, banner and a lovely card from
the staff and management waiting for us ! What a lovely kind gesture.It made our stay even more special.
The room was fantastic and spotless. Our room was overlooking Douglas Bay at the front.
Food very nice tho not a lot of choice in the carvery evening meal. Breakfast very good and plenty of choice.
Staf we very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMWATTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day coach trip to the Isle of Man. We stayed at the Rutland Hotel, we were very pleasantly surprised. Our hotel room overlooked the sea, was very roomy and spotless. It had obviously been recently decorated and the bathroom was superb, being large and well equipped. The food was very good, especially the breakfasts. The evening meals were 3 courses with a good choice for starter, main and dessert. The hotel is victorian and the lift was very small, but that added to the charm of the hotel. The bar held some entertainment at nights. The staff were pleasant and polite. The organisation was very very good, as the hotel mainly seemed to cater for coach parties. We did not feel like we were being rushed at meal times, as they had a system of each coach party coming into the dining room at staggered times, which worked very well. All in all, a very good hotel, the rooms were brilliant, in fact, probably the best we have stayed in! So well done to the management and the staff, you certainly have done a very good job.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are the best, they are light and airy and overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Rutland as part of a coach holiday. The hotel was welcoming and the staff efficient and friendly. A lot of money has obviously been spent on upgrading the Victorian building. We did enjoy our holiday but if we stayed here again we would certainly select a front room! Even if we had to pay for it. The reason for this is the awful noise that came from the kitchen extractor fans. Most of the rear rooms would be affected by this. The other problem was the unbearable heat in the rooms and also the corridors, the windows could not be opened very far, safety reasons , as we were on the third floor, it was not during the recent heat wave either, there was a portable electric fan in our room, we had to have it on all the time! More noise!
Food was pretty mundane, frozen carrots,peas sweet corn etc, every night , same breakfast every day, it was buffet style so one could choose what you had on your plate but there wasn't much variety day to day. This was a coach holiday and we know you get what you pay for but we have stayed at much comfier hotels for our money, we couldn't sleep for noise and heat.
There were four coach loads of people while we were there , far too many in the dining room which was like being a sardine in a tin, we felt very sorry for the staff, they were so cheerful but it was hard work getting around all the tables.The other things, a 3 person lift with 4 coach fulls of people doesn't go! Very big steps to get into the front door, not for anyone with mobility problems. Not a hotel for private guests.


Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit to The Rutland and your kind words about our staff. We are though sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay that you felt could be improved. We will investigate the issues you have raised and of course ensure we correct any matters as necessary, including the external fan noise your refer to, which we expect to be an immediate repair issue. Should you return to the Isle of Man we hope we to welcome you again. Please do call and let us know so we may book you into a room more to your liking. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel - room was spotless and comfortable (albeit very hot weather so a bit airless despite fan) - had a beautiful meal delivered to my room by two friendly and courteous staff (steak was lovely and tender and very cheap) - breakfast lovely, lots of choice and all good quality - I enjoyed being able to sit in the bay window and read a paper and also to sit outside looking out to the sea - great location, lovely stroll down the prom to main shopping area. All-in-all a most enjoyable stay - many thanks.

Room Tip: Our room backed on to the vent from the kitchen so hot air from this coupled with hot weather was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Ted2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at The Rutland as part of an Isle of Man package holiday. Whilst the hotel was chosen for us, the TripAdvisor reports were encouraging. The Rutland is situated halfway around the Douglas Promenades, equi distant from the town centre and the Manx Electric Railway terminus. The promenades are 2 miles long apparently, so be prepared for a lot of walking or using buses/taxis to get to and from the town centre (not quite the “short walk” the hotel’s web site mentions).

The hotel’s web site also warns that the hotel is “…not suitable for any guests requiring, wheelchair, mobility assistance or street level access”. The eight or so steps at the front of the hotel are mountainous. Whilst there is a (very) small lift, because the hotel is essentially a number of houses joined together, it’s a warren of passages, with steps up and down at every turning.

The only disappointing feature of our otherwise excellent room was that the “view” consisted of adjacent bedroom windows and the cliff behind the hotel. If sea views are important to you, make sure you get one of the rooms at the front. Our large twin room had obviously been recently refurbished. The curtains and matching bed spreads were well chosen. The walls and paintwork were fresh and bright and the furniture new. It was a pleasant surprise to find nine drawers in the room and a large wardrobe. A request for an extra pillow was promptly dealt with. The bathroom was equally excellent. At our request, this had a step in shower instead of a bath. For some reason, the shower was a “corner” unit, when the bathroom could easily have been extended a few feet to incorporate a full size step in shower. All the towels were changed when requested. We were above the kitchen and its air extractor. This goes on at 6:00 AM and goes off at 8:00 PM. It is very noisy. The hotel corridors were stiflingly hot, possibly again as we were above the kitchen.

Food was served in Restaurant 21. This seemed a little cramped for the number of tables and chairs crammed in. There were very few “tables for two” – most were seated on tables for six or more. The waiting staff were very smartly turned out, very pleasant and very helpful. We did feel slightly rushed through our meals, although there was no pressure to vacate the tables. On a three star package, you don’t expect gourmet menus, but Restaurant 21 food (served from a carvery) always looked appealing and freshly prepared. The restaurant did get very hot as the evening meal progressed.

We had a very pleasant stay at The Rutland and would happily return there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayceeLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 22 in Douglas
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: Rutland 19 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing