We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel - a lot better than others in Douglas”
Review of Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regency Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have been to Douglas a few times.
this hotel was a lot better!

my main issue with Douglas hotels is their aircon (or lack of) and that they were built too many years ago and simply just overheat.

I'm not 100% convinced that this hotel wouldn't overheat in the summer.
but its a lot better than the rest

I didn't eat supper there
but breakfast was great
the bar in the evening was fantastic and their effort on my hendricks was really appreciated.

the shower was good
no idea how the TV worked!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HantsJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have just returned from two nights at the hotel where we celebrated my mother-in-laws 90th birthday with a party in the restaurant. The rooms were well furnished, spotless with high quality linens. The only criticism I have is that there were no towelling robes. The hotel manager Tim and his staff could not do enough to make our stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. There is free hi speed wi fi in all rooms and public areas. We held a private luncheon party for 46 guests in the restaurant run by top chef Stephan Dedman assisted by his manager, James. The quality of the food was cordon bleu with fine wines par excellence. All the restaurant staff were well trained, extremely polite and obliging. The hotel and restaurant is one of the best on the island if not the best.

Room Tip: We had a spacious Superior room with a large bay window and panoramic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel restaurant at the Regency is one of the best on the island, for great food, great wine, ambience, character & fantastic informal service, the restaurant manager / head waiter puts the cherry on top of the cake.
A little gem hidden away at the north end of Douglas promenade. You won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SILVERFOX260260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was there on business trip. The hotel interiors, rooms and loby is awesome. The location and view with very nice hospitality.... The view from front rooms is really amazing. Loved to watch the sea in early morning and night. In the morning you can go for jog. The food and service was always top quality. I love to stay there whenever I will go again.

Room Tip: Get the front view rooms to enjoy sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikas9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 10pm and had booked for a suite in the Regency House. The gentleman on the reception was already helping another guest also going to Regency House so we all walked up together. When we got to the House the other guest was let in and his bags taken in, our room was accessed through another door so we stood and waited then the gentleman from reception said use your key to go in. We had no key given to us and presumed he had it with the other guests key, the receptionist started ranting how we had left the key on the desk and huffed about how he would have to go back for it. Once in the suite it really was nothing to shout about, the pillows were feather but lacked substance and gave no support, orange pine bedroom furniture and a large bathroom which was cheaply tiled and had some sort of kitchen unit round the sink and mirror (quite odd!). We decided to make the best of it as we were only there 3 nights. Breakfast we both ordered the full English one being vegetarian came as 1 tomato, 4 slices of potato, 2 spoons of scrambled egg and a spoonful of mushrooms. It was pitiful the meat version only having 1 slice of bacon and 1 sausage extra. The plus at breakfast was the waiting on girls they did try to help. Evening when we had been to our party outside the hotel we called back to the bar, the chap behind the bar was being loud with other guests and kept referring to my husband as "mate" . It turned out the other guests were a T.V. crew that the bar man was showing off to creating an embarrassing atmosphere we and other guests left for The Queens pub down the road. To sum it up really this hotel should be no more than a 3 star, they desperately need to look at their staff and if you do want to stay in Douglas at a good hotel make it The Sefton this place will leave you feeling let down at £180 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in the presidential suite. Very spacious bedroom & lounge area with very large bathroom. Excellent sea views right in front of the hotel along with a lovely sandy beach.
We were joined by 2 other couples for dinner on the Saturday night which I have to say was excellent, both the food and service were first class - our friends who live on the island say its without doubt the best place to eat.
Breakfast was also very good, full English on day one and the infamous Manx kippers on day two - both delicious!
Would definitely recommend this hotel for location, hospitality, comfort & food.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Morag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I spent three nights at the Regency in July whilst on business.

The hotel is located on the main promenade close to a few local shops and a pub. The beach is just over the road, with great views from the front of the hotel. Douglas town centre is about a 10 minute walk away.

The hotel generally has a very old fashioned décor but this is obviously by design and is very well presented and maintained. Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful with regards to my questions regarding the local shops and restaurants. There is free WIFI throughout the hotel that I found to be good quality reception; there is also a PC in the lobby if required. Additionally there is free access to an iPad provided it is not booked out, which I thought was a nice touch.

My room was rear facing so no view to speak of, other than the air conditioning units. The room itself was very spacious with a large bed, flat screen TV & DVD player, fax machine and desk and chair. There was also a DVD library available at the reception. The bathroom was also spacious and supplied with toiletries daily. To my surprise there was also a small kitchen with sink, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar that is stocked with free soft drinks.

The room also had iron / ironing board and hair dryer.

The hotel bar was pleasant but rather quiet however, there is a local pub a short walk away that has more of an atmosphere. There are more bars and restaurants located in Douglas town centre but these are still quite few in number. There is also a Spar shop a short walk away near the casino.

I did not eat at the hotel so cannot pass comment on the quality of the breakfast or lunch/evening meals.

The only downside I can possibly give this hotel is the lack of air-conditioning, but the window in the bedroom was large and opened fully, so this did somewhat resolve the issue.

Room Tip: There are not a great deal of cash machines in the local area, they are mainly located in local shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Douglas
Regency Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing