We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks go stuart and staff for a friendly service good food and very clean comfortable accomadation”
Review of Silvercraigs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silvercraigs
Ranked #15 of 34 Douglas B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top marks go stuart and staff for a friendly service good food and very clean comfortable accomadation”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A small family run hotel where stiart the owner on arrival offered us complimentary drinks. We had our 10 year old child staying with us whom he introduced to daughter a cute girl who had loads to say plyed so tunes on the keyboard for us durong our stay. In short we were made feel like part of the family from the moment we got there
Everything about the place felt warm friendly clean and comfortable. We were asked when we booked if we minded being addressed by our first names when we said we were happy with that for the duration of our stay we were addressed that way which i think added to the warmth of the whole experience. Next time i visit the isle of man booking the silvercraigs for accomadation will be my first step

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trehymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    58
    14
    3
    12
See reviews for
41
57
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fethard
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My Husband, son aged 9 and I stayed with Stuart and Diana for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time.The hotel is a little over 5 minutes from the port in Douglas on Queens Promenade, so there is a great view of the sea. Great transport facilities right outside the hotel, buses, horse tram and the electric train to Ramsey is only a short distance from the hotel. There are quite a few restaurants and pubs nearby and the hotel also serves drinks after 9pm in the large comfortable sitting room.Complimentary drinks on arrival.We found everyone really friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 23 on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately the lift had broken down a short time before our arrival but Stuart kindly helped us with our suitcases.The room was very large with ensuite facilities. The beds were the most comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses.Breakfast was a feast with a vast array of choices for everyone.My son is a very fussy eater and he loved the scrambled eggs and apple juice. Thank you to the breakfast team. We were leaving the hotel at 5.30am for an early ferry so Diana arranged a packed breakfast for us to collect the night before departure. We felt very welcome , safe and secure in Silvercraigs and we will definitely stay here again. Stuart and Diana run a great hotel with the help of Sarah(receptionist). We would highly recommend this child friendly Hotel for your holidays on the Isle of Man

Room Tip: you need to book well in advance to get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathytrehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvercraigs, Owner at Silvercraigs, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We enjoyed having this family stay with us. It is very encouraging to have our guests enjoy their stay at Silvercraigs and to plan to come back to stay with us in the future! Our lift is very reliable and it is of great benefit to our guests. Our lift maintenance work is regularly performed at times when our guests are not inconvenienced. On this occasion we did have to take the lift out of service for a number of days to complete some maintenance work. During this time we had notices up on all the floors stating that the lift was out of service for maintenance work but that it could temporarily be put back into service for anyone who could not manage without it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I found this hotel on the Visit Isle of Man website and was not disappointed. Conveniently situated on the promenade within walking distance of the Electric Railway and right opposite a bus and horse tram stop. I was greeted with a welcome drink from Sarah one of the very welcoming and accomodating members of staff. In their correspondence the owners site that the furniture is traditional - I would prefer to say antique, at least it was in my room and very lovely too! The bed, with the memory foam mattress enabled me to have the best nights sleep I have ever had in any hotel. The room was spotlessley clean and there was a great choice at breakfast - and plenty of it! As a lone traveller on this occasion, looking for a peaceful break I was not at all disappointed - all staff and of course the lovely owners while very attentive, were not at all pushy. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed for 4 nights with a seaview room, which had excellent views of the bay. The single room was compact but was comfortable and had all the facilities. The staff were always friendly and helpful, the hotel was quiet and relaxing, the breakfast was very good. A bus stop is right outside, as is the horse tram stop - very useful as it's a fair walk to the centre of Douglas. But it's convenient for the heritage electric railway to Snaefell and Ramsey at Derby Castle, where there's also a handy pub serving evening meals. I'd be perfectly happy to return.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are great for the view, but there is a busy road outside so there is traffic noise wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is the place we will definitely stay again if we have a chance to visit the Isle of Man again in the future. We felt welcomed as soon as we stepped in the Silvercraigs hotel. It was enjoyable to see the awesome seaview, dogs and human jogging on the beach and the horse carriage from the window of our room. The breakfast was delicious, the room was large and very clean with 10 foot high ceiling and beautiful crown molding all around.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is definitely the place to consider to stay at Douglas of the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostytig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Nice hotel, service was excellent and very friendly. We stayed in the superior rooms at the front with an excellent sea view, the rooms at the rear do not look as attractive. Room was comfortable and the beds were excellent.

The decor was not modern, but everything was well made with some interesting bits of furniture.

Two small niggles; the bay window seating in the lounge was uncomfortable and worn (though there were other very comfortable seats) and there was no choice of breads in the morning.

Room Tip: Take the superior front rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangoed
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay. The staff were courteous and helpful. The hot breakfast was excellent, good food and a wide choice. Our room had no view and was a little cramped but was as expected and as explained at booking. It was clean, comfortable, had a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. There was a lift. I would recommend this hotel and will visit again.

Room Tip: Choose between a room with a view or a cheaper option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Caledonia Hotel
Caledonia Hotel
#19 of 34 in Douglas
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvercraigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercraigs

Property: Silvercraigs
Address: 27 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* PRIME LOCATION ON THE BEACH NEAR THE PALACE HOTEL * AMONG DOUGLAS PROMENADE BEST VALUE GUEST HOUSES/ B&Bs * LIFT, FREE WIFI, FREE STREET PARKING * MEMORY FOAM MATTRESSES * 100% GUEST SATISFACTION POLICY FROM ARRIVAL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Silvercraigs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvercraigs Hotel Douglas
Silvercraigs Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing