We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“silvercraigs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silvercraigs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silvercraigs
Ranked #11 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Dalmellington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“silvercraigs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

we arrived at the Silvercraigs about 6-30 pm on 11/05.2013. firstly it was posted as a guesthouse at the front door and not a hotel. when we entered the guesthouse it was freezing cold and smelled damp and musky when we got keys to our rooms they were worse,the window in the bathroom wouldn"t close and the bed was so damp we couldn"t sleep in it and the food was terrible

Room Tip: i wouldn"t evenrecommend this guesthouse to anyone.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    54
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
36
54
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Phoned hotel and booked a twin room for myself and my father for 2013 Grand Prix, all details including credit card details provided. Told that new reception staff were starting the next week so that I would receive contact from the new staff in a week to two weeks time. Did not hear anything so phoned back and spoke to same member of staff made booking with, advised twin room no longer available, they had a triple but advised to seek accommodation elsewhere as they had made a mistake. Pointed out ferry sailings booked and paid for following "booking" room with Silvercraigs but only response was that as they had not charged anything against my credit card they would accept no responsibility. Been going to the IOM since 1979 and this is the first time I have been let down like this, very poor customer service.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We found Silvercraigs perfect for our needs with easy access to the rest of Douglas via the Horse drawn trams. The electric railway is also only a short walk or tram ride away.
The staff are very helpful & friendly. The self service breakfast is both varied & plentiful.
Our room had everything we needed & was kept clean.
Hopefully we will return to the island & Silvercraigs will be our first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debbie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Everybody who has reviewed Silvercraigs Hotel has said it all, this is the place to stay when you visit the Isle of Man. Do not bother reviewing anywhere else, stay here and in a sea view room if you can. This is the perfect place to stay :-)

Room Tip: Sea view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jill50England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Only a short stay, but a great stay. The hotel is exactly as it "says on the can" some old, but perfectly serviceable, furniture in comfortable rooms. We had one of the smaller rooms at the rear of the hotel and it was more than adequate. The breakfast was superb. Having travelled far and wide over the years, this hotel produces one of the finest breakfasts I have ever had the privilege of eating! For customer service Sarah, the receptionist come bar server come everything, is outstanding. She has a permanent smile, great with the customers and is willing to help with information, knowledge or whatever she can.

Room Tip: Any, particularily as this hotel has a lift, very uncommon in the older and smaller hotels on the is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 12Vincent12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This was our second trip to Silvercraigs, our first one was Aug 2008 and we enjoyed it so much we always promised to come back! We are volunteers for a group of adults with learning disabilities (total group of 38). We were welcomed with soft drinks on arrival. The hotel and rooms were very clean and the food was exceptional. Two members of our party had birthdays during our stay and were presented with birthday cakes and a plate of pink angel delight (but that's a private story!!) The waiting on staff were very attentive and helpful.
Stuart and Diana couldnt do enough for us and our group, right from when we made our booking to during the week we stayed, they listened to our feedback and made changes when they were required, making for a holiday that everyone in the Tuesday Club group will remember for a long time. Im sure we will be back - again!

Room Tip: All very clean, sea view ones have a lovely outlook along the promenade at Douglas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianeMR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed at the Silvercraig Hotel for 8 days during the Manx Grand Prix 2012. On arrival we were greeted with a free drink from the bar and a cheery smile, which is nice. The room was clean and tidy with a reassuring smell of bleach in the bathroom. Their advert said the furniture was old etc, this was not really the case in our room as it was very pleasant. Breakfast was a daily treat with a good choice of menu all very well presented. As we booked late for the ManxGP this year, this was the only hotel we could find that had a vacancy. As it turned out it was like winning the lottery and we were delighted to have stayed there. If we return for the TT next year we shall be staying at the Silvercraig again. They even made us a free of charge packed lunch for the boat as we had to head home before breakfast. Fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
8.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#15 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvercraigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercraigs

Property: Silvercraigs
Address: 27 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* PRIME LOCATION ON THE BEACH NEAR THE PALACE HOTEL * AMONG DOUGLAS PROMENADE BEST VALUE GUEST HOUSES/ B&Bs * LIFT, FREE WIFI, FREE STREET PARKING * MEMORY FOAM MATTRESSES * 100% GUEST SATISFACTION POLICY FROM ARRIVAL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silvercraigs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvercraigs Hotel Douglas
Silvercraigs Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing