We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality second to none.”
Review of Silvercraigs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silvercraigs
Ranked #19 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Another great holiday at the Silvercraigs Hotel for the 2013 tt. Stuart and Diana are excellent hosts, the staff always polite, great breakfast each morning, the room was very clean and the beds very comfortable .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffandJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had a small problem when we first arrived but once Stuart knew about this within the hour all had been sorted out and neither myself or my husband had to do a thing, and the rest of our holiday met with no other problems Stuart and Diana and the staff were attentive without being intrusive, the beds comfortable and the breakfast excellent, we are going back to stay there for the Manx.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyshireDewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We just spent a terrific week at Silvercraigs during the 2013 TT Races. Do NOT be distracted by reviews that indicate anything other than top notch service at this hotel. Comments from people with one 'less than positive experience' should not overshadow the tremendous hospitality and accommodation at Silvercraigs. --Read the description of the accommodations, and as other experienced travellers/reviewers have noted, it IS exactly as promoted.--Rooms are clean, breakfast is more than ample (and with all the motorcycle enthusiasts staying there, 'ample' was a requirement!), it is on the quieter part of the Promendade, and the superb hospitality and helpfulness of the staff and owners Stuart and Diana were very much appreciated. They go out of their way, every day, to assist with anything you need, including travel information and reliable restaurant recommendations. They even lent us chairs to watch the races! We were made to feel at home. Highly recommended and we would, without hesitation, book this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you plan to attend the TT, book at least a YEAR in advance. Check to see if there are seaside roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siobhan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We came on 08-06-2013 at the hotel and were very friendly received by Stuart, who tell us that the room we booked had changed, in a great room overlooking the sea. What a nice surprise!!! The friendliness of the staff is great, nothing is too much and for each question, there is a solution. The beds are of a quality that you rarely see in other hotels, here is by owner not looked at the cost but just at the quality and that is excellent, as if I was at home. Also the breakfast was excellent with lots of fresh fruit and various spreads.On Monday 10-06-2013 we headed back to Netherlands, but were still like to stay for a hole week. If I give a rating between 1 and 10 must then get Silvercraigs Hotel Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF AN 11!!. Absulud Super!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snarf53-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked via internet with excellent communications from Stuart. On arrival, met with very friendly greeting, shown to our room with offer of luggage assistance. There is one small "lift" (elevator). Our room was spacious, facing the sea. Very small yet very functional bathroom. Housekeeping services provided daily, with fresh towels or bed linens as requested. Excellent hot breakfasts each morning, with exceptional service by staff in this small guest hotel. Stayed one week, pre TT, as rooms sold out for TT a year ahead. Testament to this great guest hotel at the "quiet" end of the Promenade. Easy access on foot to 'active' area of Promenade anytime ... and during day by horse trolley or bus stop very close by.

Room Tip: Sea facing room for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Once again stopped at the silvercraigs hotel for TT we stop there every year Stewart Diana and staff cannot do enough for you the rooms are very clean and clean towels every day , the beds are very comfortable , we are going back for Manx go and stopping at silvercraigs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suerocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

we arrived at the Silvercraigs about 6-30 pm on 11/05.2013. firstly it was posted as a guesthouse at the front door and not a hotel. when we entered the guesthouse it was freezing cold and smelled damp and musky when we got keys to our rooms they were worse,the window in the bathroom wouldn"t close and the bed was so damp we couldn"t sleep in it and the food was terrible

Room Tip: i wouldn"t evenrecommend this guesthouse to anyone.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 15 in Douglas
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvercraigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercraigs

Address: 27 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £40 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Prime Location On The Beach Near The Palace Hotel * Among Douglas Promenade Best Value Guest Houses * Lift, Free Wifi, Free Street Parking * Memory Foam Mattresses * 100% Guest Satisfaction Policy From Arrival ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silvercraigs Hotel Douglas
Silvercraigs Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing