We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silvercraigs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silvercraigs
Ranked #11 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Chapel St. Leonards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2008

This is a really nice hotel situated in the perfect position on douglas front. The bedroom was basic but clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in. The owners and staff are really helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. I would definately recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Liked — Felt comfortable there, great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dibbleSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    55
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
37
54
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N.W. England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

Positive: A really good welcome; lovely room at the top with attractive window looking onto the sea view; room and bathroom clean and comfortable; at breakfast insulated pots kept water for tea, etc. hot; a request at end of visit for our thoughts about anything the hosts could improve upon - this was great, so much better than boxes to tick or, "Is everything all right?" which tends to get the response, "Yes," irrespective of whether or not it is!

Only dislike: having to make tea in the cup rather than having a pot but when we mentioned this, the Management were so ready to listen and explained that, rightly, by providing the insulated pot the guests were ensured of a hot drink for the duration of breakfast.. Perhaps a pot could be provided in which to make the tea, together with the insulated pot to keep the water hot.
A bonus would be free range eggs and even free range bacon and sausages, but realise that this is unusual.

A very pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank N_W_EnglandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

Had a marvellous time and would definitly go back again. Hotel was comfortable and clean though looking a bit dated and hence the reason for the refurb. Stuart and Di very friendly, checking every morning that you were enjoying your stay and if they could do anything to improve it. DI even went to great lengths to remember first names which was another nice touch. Not much to see from our room but if you wish to pay a little extra you could get yourself a lovely sea view. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and help yourself. You really were made to feel at home. A hotel that I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Antiquated decor
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

We have just had a wonderful few days at Silvercraigs. We are already giving our friends contact info!
We needed budget accommodation, as we were coming for a wedding and then staying a few days, and didn't care too much what it was like. But Silvercraigs surpassed all our expectations and, indeed, our needs too!
The room was fairly small, as would be expected, but with a very sensible-sized en-suite (larger and better laid out than we have experienced in some much more expensive places). The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bedding good. All was very clean and tidy.
Silvercraigs has a wonderful setting, right on the front, although our room was at the back so we didn't benefit from the lovely views of the bay. However, the lounge has comfortable seating and you can sit around there and look at the sea to your heart's content: after all, it did rain a lot this summer! It's very easy to get "into town", because not only do frequent buses run along the front (and a £26 ticket will give access to ALL forms of transport for 3 whole days - a huge advantage), but, during the summer months at least, you can hop on the horse tram, and do the journey in style. It's worth being a little way out of town just for that!
And you're pretty close, in the other direction, to the railway station, where fabulous ancient tram-like trains run, and can take you far enough to pick up the mountain railway up Snaefell. All on the same ticket!
The proprietors at Silvercraigs are wonderful: such a warm welcome, and incredibly solicitous for your welfare. Did we need anything? an iron and board? (we went for a wedding), hairdryer (I don't know why we were asked that, as there was one provided in the room anyway), and so on. Did we know how to get where we were going? There seemed no end of care they would take of us!
Breakfast was a veritable feast. For myself, I can't face eating much early in the day, but my husband was very well catered for! And for me there were cereals (even with rice milk if wanted, which helped my dairy intolerance), various breads, yogurts (a no-no, sadly!), all the likely drinks, and this massive cooked breakfast. And Diana, the wife in the management partnership, graced our breakfast time with her presence, always bright, cheerful and friendly, both serving and chatting to make sure her guests were at ease and being looked after. Even her young daughter was a joy for her lovely smiles!
What more can I say?
We were only on the Isle of Man for a few short days, in this summer's inclement weather (my husband was even offered a fleece on loan one day because he had nothing warm!!!!), but it was a joy we should love to repeat. It seemed much longer, and the comfort we experienced at the hands of the Silvercraigs establishment and management had a great deal to do with that!
Thankyou, Stuart and Diana.
You really need to go there, folks! Experience the warmth for yourselves.

  • Liked — comfortable bed!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiriamWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed at the Silvercraigs hotel and we have already booked our room for the same time next year as we enjoyed staying at the hotel so much, the staff and management were excellent they were so nice it was like being at home with family thats how we were treated. The rooms are very big and were cleaned every day by the cleaners. I would definetly tell anyone traveling to the Isle of Man to stay at this hotel as it really is that good. Thank you to the management and all the staff involved at the hotel and we will see you all next year. Wayne & Debbie.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank jevons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinkwiley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

Really enjoyed my stay at Silvercraigs, the staff were always polite and helpful and the room was clean and tidy with nice facilites. Its very nicely situated on the sea front. Its within walking distance of the theatre and the variety of bars and resturants.

  • Liked — Staff were always friendly
  • Disliked — Isle of man drains did create a bit of an issue but this was not the fault of the hotel.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkwiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan Lancs
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Our ferry was delayed in Liverpool due to rough seas. We telephoned Stuart and told him that we would only be arriving in the small hours. No problem he said I will leave your room door open. Unfortunately due to a mix up the door was locked and we had to spend the first night in the car. It was quite amusing though to watch the antics of the late night revellers along the prom. Went to the hotel early in the morning and the nice young lady there said she would speak to Stuart. After a sumptuous breakfast Stuart came to see us, and more than made up for the mistake by offering substantial compensation. We stayed for two weeks in this wonderful island to watch all of the MGP action. The room was quite small and dated but spotlessly clean, (with the most comfortable bed) a pity it wasn't a sea view but we only booked late (have to book sooner next year). The breakfasts had a wide choice of fare, and more than sated our appetites. Both Stuart and Diana were helpfull including drying some clothes we had washed, and finding our missing glasses. The staff were pleasant and polite, and I am sure that both Stuart and Diana are working very hard to provide a well run and good value for money hotel. Would I make any suggestions? Some hot water for the shower in the afternoon woud be nice (I do some cycling around the island), and cook the sausages a little longer (just my personal taste).
I hope your venture is succesfull and I would certainly visit again.
PS never did get the welcome drink, can we have two next year?

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No hot water in the afternoon
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colnagodreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvercraigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercraigs

Property: Silvercraigs
Address: 27 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* PRIME LOCATION ON THE BEACH NEAR THE PALACE HOTEL * AMONG DOUGLAS PROMENADE BEST VALUE GUEST HOUSES/ B&Bs * LIFT, FREE WIFI, FREE STREET PARKING * MEMORY FOAM MATTRESSES * 100% GUEST SATISFACTION POLICY FROM ARRIVAL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silvercraigs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvercraigs Hotel Douglas
Silvercraigs Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing