We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind and warm hospitality”
Review of Silvercraigs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silvercraigs
Ranked #13 of 32 Douglas B&B and Inns
Lappeenranta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kind and warm hospitality”
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Diana and Stuart and the whole staff made us feel so very welcome on the first moment we arrived. The room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was excellent. Diana made sure she talked to all of the guests every morning, and even learnt everyone's names - incredible! We will definitely come back to Silvercraigs when we return to the Isle of Man. There are still so many things to see that we didn't have time for this time (the races being our main target). Thank you again Diana and Stuart and the whole gang! Kristiina and Vesa Karjalainen from Finland

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KirppuLappeenranta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    57
    12
    3
    11
See reviews for
37
56
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

This is our second year staying with Diana and Stuart at Silvercraigs. The hotel is really well situated and Diana and Stuart, along with the rest of the staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for any of them. If there was a problem, it was sorted out straight away. The breakfasts are fantastic and for ourselves and our fellow guests who were attending the TT, they even accommodate the race days with making sure breakfast is served early so that everyone can get out in time to catch the races.

We have already booked for next year and we are looking forward to seeing eveyone at Silvercraigs

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellydLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

we've spent our holiday in Silvercgrais hotel... before to leave I've sent to Silvercraigs a flood of e-mail and I think that the number of telephon call was about one million... when I was there evrything seems to me unreal... what a wonderful isle and what a crazy people I've thought out.... I've felt a sensation to be as at home...
our hotel was fantastic... and before to leave I've said one thing to Diana: you're the sweety person that I've met before. Stuart is so gentle and very helpful. very morning Diana said me "buongiorno"... the bed has got the better mattress in the world.. was the first time that I woke up relaxed.... the brekfast is for every kind of usual. the hotel is always clean and tidy... FANASTIC.....

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel St. Leonards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

This is a really nice hotel situated in the perfect position on douglas front. The bedroom was basic but clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in. The owners and staff are really helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. I would definately recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Liked — Felt comfortable there, great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.W. England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Positive: A really good welcome; lovely room at the top with attractive window looking onto the sea view; room and bathroom clean and comfortable; at breakfast insulated pots kept water for tea, etc. hot; a request at end of visit for our thoughts about anything the hosts could improve upon - this was great, so much better than boxes to tick or, "Is everything all right?" which tends to get the response, "Yes," irrespective of whether or not it is!

Only dislike: having to make tea in the cup rather than having a pot but when we mentioned this, the Management were so ready to listen and explained that, rightly, by providing the insulated pot the guests were ensured of a hot drink for the duration of breakfast.. Perhaps a pot could be provided in which to make the tea, together with the insulated pot to keep the water hot.
A bonus would be free range eggs and even free range bacon and sausages, but realise that this is unusual.

A very pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank N_W_EnglandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Had a marvellous time and would definitly go back again. Hotel was comfortable and clean though looking a bit dated and hence the reason for the refurb. Stuart and Di very friendly, checking every morning that you were enjoying your stay and if they could do anything to improve it. DI even went to great lengths to remember first names which was another nice touch. Not much to see from our room but if you wish to pay a little extra you could get yourself a lovely sea view. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and help yourself. You really were made to feel at home. A hotel that I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Antiquated decor
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We have just had a wonderful few days at Silvercraigs. We are already giving our friends contact info!
We needed budget accommodation, as we were coming for a wedding and then staying a few days, and didn't care too much what it was like. But Silvercraigs surpassed all our expectations and, indeed, our needs too!
The room was fairly small, as would be expected, but with a very sensible-sized en-suite (larger and better laid out than we have experienced in some much more expensive places). The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bedding good. All was very clean and tidy.
Silvercraigs has a wonderful setting, right on the front, although our room was at the back so we didn't benefit from the lovely views of the bay. However, the lounge has comfortable seating and you can sit around there and look at the sea to your heart's content: after all, it did rain a lot this summer! It's very easy to get "into town", because not only do frequent buses run along the front (and a £26 ticket will give access to ALL forms of transport for 3 whole days - a huge advantage), but, during the summer months at least, you can hop on the horse tram, and do the journey in style. It's worth being a little way out of town just for that!
And you're pretty close, in the other direction, to the railway station, where fabulous ancient tram-like trains run, and can take you far enough to pick up the mountain railway up Snaefell. All on the same ticket!
The proprietors at Silvercraigs are wonderful: such a warm welcome, and incredibly solicitous for your welfare. Did we need anything? an iron and board? (we went for a wedding), hairdryer (I don't know why we were asked that, as there was one provided in the room anyway), and so on. Did we know how to get where we were going? There seemed no end of care they would take of us!
Breakfast was a veritable feast. For myself, I can't face eating much early in the day, but my husband was very well catered for! And for me there were cereals (even with rice milk if wanted, which helped my dairy intolerance), various breads, yogurts (a no-no, sadly!), all the likely drinks, and this massive cooked breakfast. And Diana, the wife in the management partnership, graced our breakfast time with her presence, always bright, cheerful and friendly, both serving and chatting to make sure her guests were at ease and being looked after. Even her young daughter was a joy for her lovely smiles!
What more can I say?
We were only on the Isle of Man for a few short days, in this summer's inclement weather (my husband was even offered a fleece on loan one day because he had nothing warm!!!!), but it was a joy we should love to repeat. It seemed much longer, and the comfort we experienced at the hands of the Silvercraigs establishment and management had a great deal to do with that!
Thankyou, Stuart and Diana.
You really need to go there, folks! Experience the warmth for yourselves.

  • Liked — comfortable bed!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiriamWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Caledonia Hotel
Caledonia Hotel
#18 of 32 in Douglas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvercraigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercraigs

Property: Silvercraigs
Address: 27 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* PRIME LOCATION ON THE BEACH NEAR THE PALACE HOTEL * AMONG DOUGLAS PROMENADE BEST VALUE GUEST HOUSES/ B&Bs * LIFT, FREE WIFI, FREE STREET PARKING * MEMORY FOAM MATTRESSES * 100% GUEST SATISFACTION POLICY FROM ARRIVAL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silvercraigs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvercraigs Hotel Douglas
Silvercraigs Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing