We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst "Nightclub" in Britain”
Review of The Outback

The Outback
Ranked #3 of 5 Nightlife in Douglas
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Thought Liverpool had some dodgy clubs this place is terrible.
Place is empty these days and rightly so, the door staff think they are above the law and everyone is sick of it. The dancefloor if you could even call it that is as big as my shed.
Place is built on more wood than the Amazon rainforest, if your under 18 you'll have no problem getting In as its their only customers.
Go to the Courthouse for a decent night out 30 second walk away.

5  Thank Luluuu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I have seen the decrease of people visiting over the years and much of that I believe is do to the doorstaff, there is caring for your customers safety and then there is throwing them out punching and pushing people like they're nothing they are known for it. The place is dark and gloomy and awful smelly I can't believe it serves food in the day I wouldn't dream of taking my children there. I'd recommend the Courthouse around the corner.

4  Thank SerbySpeedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The place as previously mentioned needs a complete overhaul or knocking down and starting again. So bad even the roof has beer splashes all over it. The toilets stink and there are puddles of urine everywhere, and that's only the ladies.

Downstairs was so cramped you can hardly get near the bar, upstairs is less cramped but there is so small a choice of beer, since the bar is the size of a postage stamp.

Ordered food the other day and it took over two hours to arrive, when it did it looked and tasted like someone threw it up, cold inedible, couldn't be bothered complaining as you will get the stick answer "if you don't like it there's a boat in the morning".

It is what it is folks, just a dirty, dingy little pub that pretends to be a nightclub (if you under 12), with sticky floors and grumpy staff, no doubt being paid peanuts.

Get over it, your in Douglas, Isle of Man, what do you expect.

Thank Manx K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Not happy with how this place looks, need updating and could be improved,.... Not sure if I will go again in future ... ...

2  Thank sarahmadrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry you were not happy with our establishment. We understand that you may feel that the Outback needs to be updated, etc. however, we don't feel that way. We are constantly improving the facilities but our décor and design of the building is our biggest charm, but we understand its not for everyone.

We do hope to see you again though.

Regards
The Outback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2015

The only place in Douglas to actually have some kind of atmosphere and a packed dancefloor that doesn't resemble the dungeon at the CH. Heated smoking area is great and it's always busy on a saturday night! Prices are average for the isle of man, cant complain really. Yes its a bit sticky and the decor can seem tacky but you have to learn to appreciate the wonders of the OB and its definitely the best place to head after midnight on a night out.

3  Thank Kristina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your great review. You have undoubtedly taken what we are and embraced us.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Outback also viewed

 

Been to The Outback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing