We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, we will be back.”
Review of The Devonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonian
Ranked #4 of 34 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, we will be back.”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had the studio room for the 3 of us, my husband and 19 year old son, so opted for 3 single beds. The room was very large so each had our own space, wonderfully clean, a en-suite bigger than my bathroom at home. The breakfast choice meant that even for 10 days you could have something different each day, The pancakes with fruit was wow! The breakfasts each day kept us going to the evening.
It is very central to all the forms of transport and so close to the horse trams which I love.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    62
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
99
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A warm and friendly welcome here, and the same each morning! My rooms (two visits), en-suite, were nicely decorated, quality fixtures, and very well-maintained. Breakfast was freshly cooked, with some interesting choices, featuring Manx produce. The location was good. A short sea front walk or tram ride along the front to the town centre, and right opposite the Villa Marina Complex.

Room Tip: Tell them if you have mobility problems: there is no lift and there are 3 floors. If they can put yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdeCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed there with a friend and both of us really enjoyed the stay there. The room was clean and beautiful. Plus, the breakfast they served was magnificent. We had to leave the hotel earlier to catch the ferry on the last day, and that would mean that we can't pop into the lounge at usual breakfast time. But they provided us with cereals and orange juices the night before, to make sure that we had something to eat in the morning before we left. Really amazing service. If I ever go to Isle of Man again, this will no doubt be my very first choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My cousin and I stayed for 4 nights and were pleased with both the quality of the accommodation and of the breakfast provided. It was our first stay and as Kevin and Gillian were away on their own short break, we were well looked after by Mick and a lady who cooked the most perfect poached eggs. Our room was spotlessly clean and had a newly fitted en suite, and although not huge, was perfect for a refreshing shower. Fresh milk was provided on request by Mick so as to have a welcome cup of tea on arrival. The hotel to the tram station is about a 20 minute walk and closer to the train station to catch the steam train to Castletown and Port Erin and Port St. Mary. We bought a 5 day pass on arrival at Ronaldsway airport for £39 each which gave us unlimited travel on the buses, trams, steam train and horse pulled trams along the promenade. If your intention is to see as much of the island as possible this can be an economical option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It was really a great accomodation. It is located strategically and the owner of this hotel was so helpful to help us out in planning our trip. He is very knowledgable. The place is very clean and the breakfast was awesome!

Malaysian traveller :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmundCham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Perfect location, friendly and helpful family, outstanding breakfasts, cosy environment

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121Sue121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Devonian occupies an excellent central position close to the elegant sea front promenade, the Gaiety Theatre and Villa Marina Complex and a short walk to the shopping centre of Douglas.

The welcome we received from Kevin and Gillian was both warm and friendly and our room was spotlessly clean, very pleasantly furnished and most comfortable; the free Wi Fi connection was also much appreciated.

Breakfast included the usual choice of cereals, fruit juice, yoghurt etc, followed by a really comprehensive menu of cooked items plus a couple of 'Specials' including delicious Manx Kippers served in a really pleasant and bright dining room.

Although the hotel was busy, Kevin and Gillian still managed to have time to chat with us and to make well informed suggestions for day-trips and visits around the island (we were first time visitors to the Isle of Man) which we found especially helpful as we were travelling with our airedale terrier dog.

All in all, a lovely unpretentious and friendly hotel, really well run by Gillian and Kevin in a great location - we would certainly not hesitate to stay again on a future visit to Isle of Man.

Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoloNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 17 in Douglas
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonian

Property: The Devonian
Address: 4 Sherwood Terrace, Broadway, Douglas IM2 4EN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonian Hotel Douglas
Devonian Hotel Douglas
The Devonian Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing