We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Devonian
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Admiral House(Douglas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
178
65
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
65
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla marinab bisle of manbreakfast menu isfresh berriesguest housebusy roadlarge bay windowlovely weekendfull englishtop floorminute walknothing is too much troublesea fronttown centredouble roomcentral position
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just returned from the IOM, we enjoyed our stay at the Devonian, clean rooms and comfy beds, great breakfast and really nice friendly owners. Gillian the owner is chatty and good fun and will listen and try to help with any requests.
The hotel is very central, not far from tram and bus stops and 10 mins walk to the shopping area, I would recommend getting a transport pass for trips around the island £16 day pass £32 for 3 day £39 for 5 day each person, good value includes buses, electric train, steam train, horse drawn trams and mountain railway.
Back to the Hotel just one word of caution there are a lot of steps to the bed rooms with no lift can be a problem for people with walking difficulties,being an arthritis sufferer I found the stairs hardwork.
Bathroom was spotless, but shower cubicle very small
We loved our stay and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st floor not so many steps to climb,
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Devonian is by far one of the best hotel that I've ever stayed at. The place, the environment and atmosphere are very refreshing. Me and my friends had a basement studio room with 5 single beds provided. The beds are very comfortable to sleep on after a long day of walking. The bathroom is very clean, bright and spacey. The owners of the hotel are very friendly and approachable. The breakfast is so good until we felt a bit over flattered for being treated so well. The location is very good. The distances between the hotel to the tramp, the train station and the seaside are short enough to walk. If I were to visit Isle of Man again, this hotel is definitely my first choice to consider for staying.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Ive stayed at many b&b`s on the island over the years since the i first attended the TT races in 1977. This is my 3rd successive year staying at this excellent establishment. A real gem in the middle of the Irish Sea.
We cannot fault it, excellent breakfasts with a varied menu offering much more than the ordinary full English or kippers. All cooked fresh to order using local produce. With the best poached eggs i have ever had the pleasure to eat.
The accommodation is excellent, comfy beds with all you require in your room. Cleanliness & decoration of the rooms is spot on. Beautiful dining room, with 5 star service. Excellent position opposite the Villa Marina, ideal for going in either direction on the promenade. Close to all amenities Douglas has to offer, a nice walk to the Grandstand & Nobles park.
The Devonian is also such a friendly place, very relaxing, but not far away from local dining or night life, depending on what you are looking for.
The proprieters Gillian & Kevin are lovely people, nothing is too much trouble & you are guaranteed a warm, friendly welcome & stay.
Take my advice ive had some horror experiences with certain b&b`s on the Island, but you are guaranteed a great experience & stay at the Devonian, with a fantastic breakfast !

Room Tip: Doesnt matter which room you are placed in. All are spotlessly clean & tastefully decorated
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonysanRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had the studio room for the 3 of us, my husband and 19 year old son, so opted for 3 single beds. The room was very large so each had our own space, wonderfully clean, a en-suite bigger than my bathroom at home. The breakfast choice meant that even for 10 days you could have something different each day, The pancakes with fruit was wow! The breakfasts each day kept us going to the evening.
It is very central to all the forms of transport and so close to the horse trams which I love.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A warm and friendly welcome here, and the same each morning! My rooms (two visits), en-suite, were nicely decorated, quality fixtures, and very well-maintained. Breakfast was freshly cooked, with some interesting choices, featuring Manx produce. The location was good. A short sea front walk or tram ride along the front to the town centre, and right opposite the Villa Marina Complex.

Room Tip: Tell them if you have mobility problems: there is no lift and there are 3 floors. If they can put you in a first floor room, they will.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdeCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews