We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B”
Review of The Devonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonian
Ranked #2 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed at The Devonian for 7 nights, room was excellent with en-suite.Breakfast choice very good and fast and friendly service, food was brilliant. location great for beach, shops and all transport needs. Gillian & Kevin (proprietors) lovely people, can't wait till next year!

Room Tip: Choose front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

our very short stay at the devonian was excellent in every way, the room, the furnishings,the good qaulity and en-suite bathroom was spotlessly clean. breakfast choice was good with excellent service kevin the owner was helpful in every way,thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in a twin room for one night (3/08/2012).
Very friendly staff,clean room,although bathroom a little on the small side.
Excellent breakfast,great choice,freshly cooked FEB,rfficient service.
A very pleasant place to stay,convenient for prom,beach,shops etc.
Only one minus-no lift,so with a heavy suitcase,stairs to rooms higher up the hotel could be a problem.

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem,check availability of rooms on the lower floors before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryCrabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights we had the studio room which was a large room and nice size of bathroom all very clean and tidy ,great range on the breakfast menu, child friendly,great staff, very close to beach and town center ideal location for anyone travelling to the isle of man

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathalm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This must be one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in - almost could not wait to climb into it ever night. The breakfast was also excellent - so much choice and the owners Kevin and Gillian made you feel most welcome. Highly recommended for value and location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Janthiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just returned from the IOM, we enjoyed our stay at the Devonian, clean rooms and comfy beds, great breakfast and really nice friendly owners. Gillian the owner is chatty and good fun and will listen and try to help with any requests.
The hotel is very central, not far from tram and bus stops and 10 mins walk to the shopping area, I would recommend getting a transport pass for trips around the island £16 day pass £32 for 3 day £39 for 5 day each person, good value includes buses, electric train, steam train, horse drawn trams and mountain railway.
Back to the Hotel just one word of caution there are a lot of steps to the bed rooms with no lift can be a problem for people with walking difficulties,being an arthritis sufferer I found the stairs hardwork.
Bathroom was spotless, but shower cubicle very small
We loved our stay and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st floor not so many steps to climb,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Devonian is by far one of the best hotel that I've ever stayed at. The place, the environment and atmosphere are very refreshing. Me and my friends had a basement studio room with 5 single beds provided. The beds are very comfortable to sleep on after a long day of walking. The bathroom is very clean, bright and spacey. The owners of the hotel are very friendly and approachable. The breakfast is so good until we felt a bit over flattered for being treated so well. The location is very good. The distances between the hotel to the tramp, the train station and the seaside are short enough to walk. If I were to visit Isle of Man again, this hotel is definitely my first choice to consider for staying.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonian

Address: 4 Sherwood Terrace, Broadway, Douglas IM2 4EN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £55 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonian Hotel Douglas
Devonian Hotel Douglas
The Devonian Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing